Topic Title: 2x 7970 Crossfire insta-crash?
Topic Summary: Odd symptoms.
Created On: 02/22/2013 10:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2013 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Olitheon
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/22/2013

Make this short n sweet.

AMD FX-8120 @ 4.0GHz cooled by Corsair H100

Asus M5A97 Evo - Bios 120812GB DDR3 (Corsair Vengeance or some sh...)

FRESH Win8 install

2x Sapphire AMD 7970

Loads of fans - not an overheat problem anyways.

I had a Sapphire 7970 OC (950MHz/1000MHz) - has the switchToday I purchased a Sapphire 7970 (925 MHz/??? MHz) - switch did nothing, but who cares?I installed the 2nd card (putting the newer one in my primary slot - it has 2x 8 pin connectors and the other has 1x 8 and 1x6).

I attached the Crossfire bridge cable, installed windows. Windows ran fine with it's own drivers.Went to install AMD drivers (Many versions tried) and the screen went blue with white lines across, and the computer resets. I need to restore the OS because when it reloads the video driver is all kinds of messed up.

I reboot to old win 7 install, where I previously had the same 7970 and a 7870 installed as well  (same driver, shouldn't be a real problem).  Windows 7 crashes.

I unplug the Crossfire cable, Windows 7 boots fine. I reinstall new drivers fine.    Boot back into Win 8 - fine. installed AMD drivers fine.

I tried the bridge connector again - CRASH on both OSes... Anyone know of anything? I searched but no one seems to have this exact problem. Any help is greatly appreciated!Thanks



-------------------------
 02/23/2013 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1394
Joined: 07/13/2009

New to me, but the obvious suggestion is to try a different bridge connector.

 

 02/23/2013 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Olitheon
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/22/2013

Tried multiple crossfire bridge connectors. Also tried 2 at the same time.Should also note that i have a Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 1000W PSU... I also disabled ULPS and played with bios settings n all that jazz.

Oh, and i am playing 3 clients of EVE Online on 1 video card and Far Cry 3 on the other card - 1 monitor on each card - all working flawlessly without the bridge.



-------------------------


Edited: 02/23/2013 at 01:02 PM by Olitheon
Statistics
85287 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.