Topic Title: !!!!!!HELP!!!!!! 7770 CROSSFIRE NO FPS GAIN
Topic Summary: help With Crossfire
Created On: 04/03/2013 05:20 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/03/2013 05:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dirky69
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/03/2013

system specs:

win 7 ultimate 64-bit

Memory ddr3 8 gig 1600

cpu: core i3 2120 3.3 ghz

Gpu: crossfirex Sapphire (7770 flex edition with 7770 vapor x edition)

Display: 1920x1080

motherboard: asrock Fatal1ty z77 Professional(bois 1.60 flashed it) crossfire is on x8 x8

catylist driver 13.1 (application profile 12.11 cap2)

 

Ok lets start. i did every to the book with the crossfire setup . Yes i enabled crossfire in CCC downloaded latest driver installed latest Apllication profiles (and yes the crossfire bridge is connected). I formated my hard drive fresh installed win 7.

i tried the following games in crossfire

Crysis 3(low settings 1920 x 1080): 19 frames crossfire : 30-45 single card

Far cry 3 (full settings 1920x1080): crossfire and single card same peformance : 19 - 50 fsp

just cause 2 (Full settings 1920x1080): crossfire and single card the same: 16 to 50 fps (conrete jungle bench avarage at 24fps)

metro 2033: Crashes a first logo screen

risen (full setting 1920x1080): crossifre and single card same at 60 fps witch is fine dont really care

Borderlands 2 (full setting 1920 x 1080): only game thats works single card i get 30 to 50 fps crossfire i get 50 to 140 fps

 

so yeah these are all crossfire enable game that just dont want to work any help wil be gratefull



Edited: 04/03/2013 at 06:17 AM by dirky69
 05/20/2013 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chickencz
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/20/2013

Why would u for gods sake make CF from two 7770? What u expected, such slow cards + tearing and lags from CF. No wonder that FPS didnt even increase. You should buy 1 stronger card. I really dont have anything else to say...cos i would expect that cards like these will perform like u stated in CF.

 

P.

 05/20/2013 02:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1461
Joined: 07/13/2009

Ignore the nonsense about tearing and lag from CF.  Neither makes any sense. 

The first thing you need to do is figure out a way to consistently measure your frame rate.  You're giving gigantic ranges, which makes it obvious that you're just watching a frame rate counter in the game.

The simplest option for any game is to load a save, look at a particular object, and note the frame rate.  Then do the same with the other configuration (CF disabled or enabled, depending on how you start). 

Some games have built-in benchmarks.  There's a benchmarking tool available for Metro 2033, which you can use once you figure out what's wrong with your installation (it works fine with CF here).

Synthetics (3DMark in particular) would be a good place to start, to verify that CF is actually working.

Keep in mind that the best you can do is twice the performance of a single 7770. 

 

 07/16/2013 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Voodoo_S3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/28/2013

dirky69 sounds like you have exactly the same issues as my self with crossfire 7770's sapphire vapor x's. I have kinda similar specs (Phenom II x4 3.4Ghz (4Ghz, Nb@2400 when OC'ed), 8Gb ddr3@1600, 2x 7770's on a 990X chipset) I'm not really sure about Intel cpu's, but you might want to overclock it a bit and see if that makes any difference to your games fps, when I oc on my cpu it helps with crossfire fps but I'm still better off running single gpu.

AMD should really mention that to run crossfire you will need nearly twice the cpu power compared to running a single gpu.

 07/17/2013 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

you dont need twice the cpu for crossfire,I wish people actually knew what they were talking about before they posted.I've been running crossfire for years and it works awesome,considering I play mainly battlefield games,I get close to 100% scaling with dual 6950 dirt 3's ATM.Cpu is at roughly 90% and both Gpu's at close to 100% with a 1100T phenom II.Even with 1 card running cpu is at around 90%.to date I have run crossfire 3870's,4850's,4870's,5850's,5870's and now the 6950's.and have yet to have any issues with crossfire.

-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/18/2013 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Voodoo_S3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/28/2013

Earnhardt you say that you get crossfire to work "awesome", yet fail to explain how you get crossfire to work "awesome". I wish people who actually thought they knew what they were talking about would actually help, instead of just making some useless comments like "I've been running crossfire for years and it works awesome". And Earnhardt by your logic of getting 90% cpu utilization with 2 cards, but also getting 90% cpu utilization with 1 card, would suggest that your cpu is bottlenecking 2x6950's, otherwise why would your cpu be at 90% with one card?

All you have to do is search google to see there are many people who have crossfire problems.

 07/18/2013 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12673
Joined: 04/17/2008

And all you have to do is search and you will see that just as many have issues with SLI.

But it's not that simple as twice the graphics card means you need twice the CPU. People that run Crossfire usually do it to be able to play at higher resolutions and higher detail levels which hammer the cards harder, which means that you could end up with an effective decrease in CPU usage (see also: GPU limited resolutions vs CPU limited resolutions). Now, I don't know why you would run two 7770s in Crossfire instead of a single 7870, but a big part of it has to do with the game itself. The Battlefield series has a history of extremely well coding, an example of what talented developers can do, and they play nice with AMD and nVidia by giving them what they need, so there is very good increase by going to two cards. Now if you play console ports like F1 2012 or games programmed like garbage, then you won't see such an increase and can even see negative scaling, which is why they are hardblocked in the CAPs.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/18/2013 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Not sure if this is the cause of your issue(s) but typically if you are going to run CrossFire or SLi, it is best to have matching graphics cards.  Even though your cards are both made by Sapphire, the models don't match.....typically the GPU and memory speeds/voltages/etc do not match......this can cause you more issues that can be a real pain to correct (i.e. flashing the graphic card bios one of the cards to match that of the other.....not recommended for novice computer folk).  You didn't mention it in your initial post but do the cards have the same amount of RAM?  This can also cause issues in CrossFire/SLi.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 07/18/2013 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12673
Joined: 04/17/2008

That is a good point. Once upon a time if you placed two mis-matched graphics cards together (say, a HD 4850 and a HD 4870), the HD 4870 would effectively become a HD 4850. AMD fixed this a while back so both cards run at full speed (without telling us), as well as making it so if you matched a 2GB card with a 1GB card you wouldn't lose a gigabyte of VRAM. But as Canis said, there can still be issues by using non identical cards.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/18/2013 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

I do nothing more than install the cards and drivers,thats it,no secret potions or spells,I just install it.And I always try and run 2 higher end cards,never low or middle end ones.That in itself may be the problem.as for the 90% on 1 card,just wanted to see if anyone actually reads the whole post.but with both cards unlocked and clocked to 6970 speeds,BF3 ultra 1920x1200 my gpus are always 90-95%(roughly) and the cpu is anywhere between 80-95% depending on the map etc.and always on a 64 player server.I even tried eyefinity at 5760x1200 and it worked fine,just to hard on my old tired neck lol.I do read that lots of others have issues with sli and crossfire,but so far in all the years I've been running it,i have had no issues,its been great.if a game doesnt support it I just disable 1 card.I even threw 2 7850's in my backup just to check them out and again,it works fine.on a phenom II 975 quad core.Every time I build a system,I always wonder where the issues people are having lies.

-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/18/2013 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

and 1 more thing,I always buy both cards at the same time,I got really lucky with the 6950 dirt 3's,they are sequential in serial #'s

-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/19/2013 12:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: EarnhardtEvery time I build a system,I always wonder where the issues people are having lies.

Heh... I think part of that is just the complexity of the machine.  Problems are bound to happen at some point, but part of it is also the persons reaction to the problem.  A few threads with people going bonkers can make it seem like a problem is more widespread than it really is.

Crossfire and SLI probably work out fine for most people, but since it's difficult to build a multiGPU system without spending a considerable amount that probably doesn't help with the "OMFG SKY FALLING" thing when problems do happen.  I've always thought it overcomplicated for the amount of benefit you'll get compared to a single fast card, but that's just me.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 07/19/2013 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12673
Joined: 04/17/2008

I agree with Mime. I've had my share of experiences with Crossfire, but always dual GPU cards of the 4850x2 and 5970, and between the extra power consumption (my HD 5970 required me to upgrade my UPS to 800w), heat, and ungodly annoying noise, not to mention microstuttering and wild variation in gains, I'm never going back. Thank God AMD (and nVidia too, as competition breeds innovation) has progressed so rapidly on the graphics front in the last 4 years that Crossfire really isn't necessary anymore unless you are running multiple monitors, not with the monolithic 7970 Ghz edition, and the same goes with the GTX 770 from nVidia.

Sometimes I think that AMD and nVidia need to just phase out Crossfire and SLI on all but their top series cards (series being designated by the second number in the card's name). With the power of each series being almost twice that of the next series down especially once non linear scaling and overhead are figured in, it really makes more sense if you just eBay the card and step up to the next series, and you avoid any chance of headaches.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/19/2013 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

I just find my motherboard looks lonely with only 1 gpu,2 makes it look so much nicer..lolfor now though I will stick with crossfire until I get the headache.as for microstutter,even with friends that have been over and seen how mine plays,I have not noticed any.from what I have seen on places like youtube showing what it is,I just dont see it on my rig.If I'm that 1 in a million who never has issues,I'll take it.

-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/20/2013 02:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1309
Joined: 01/31/2010

to experience games with a low end card, I installed my hd 5450 on the workstation

its better than i thought it would be

my gtx 260s are old so they are more stable than newer cards for drivers

thye hd 5450 is 21 months newer roughly. its also managed to survive firmark with a passive cooler

 



-------------------------

Statistics
86466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.