Topic Title: Benefits of 2 Cards
Topic Summary: ATI Radeon 5770 1 gb
Created On: 04/11/2013 02:32 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/11/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bibboedit
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/11/2013

Hello, 

Probably a basic question, but the Mac Tower that I am using is installed with TWO 5770's with 1 gb. What is the benefits of 2 cards on this edit/graphic station if we are just using one card for our monitors. 

What is the best configure for thes two cards. One monitor for each. Also is there a configuration that will utilize them best. ie what slots. Currently they are in Slot 1 and 2. 

Problem is that I need a another slot and these guys take up three slot for two cards. 

What do I lose if I pull a card. 

thank you. 

jack 

 04/15/2013 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BatCat
Peon

Posts: 29
Joined: 04/15/2013

Check carefully. Is there a smallish ribbon connecting the two cards? About 1 inch wide?  It be across the top of the cards near back of the case.

Crossfire cable.

Two cards joined for better performance. Monitor in second card would not work.



-------------------------

Phenom ][ 965, Gigabyte 790fx ud5, Saphire AMD 7970 Ghz, 4gig OCZ 1066, Eyefinity 3x ASUS vw266 (1920x1200x3), OCZ Vertex boot, assorted others.  Asus Xonar DSX > 5.1 ~700w Sony  :)

 04/15/2013 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

As you stated that the machine is from Apple, then those guys "supposed" to be more wises than we are.. So, the way they installed it must work at the best..

To be short: a 2-cards config (CrossFireX) sums all the GPUs power to get the job done as fast as it could be.. Like having a server motherboard with 2 CPUs.. The sum of the forces..

The monitors should be connected in the first card (from top) because it's like mandatory.. To no enter in details, that's how it works...

If you pull one card out, takes your GPU computer capacities down by half (1 instead of 2), so that's something that you should consider regarding your use of the machine..

A possible solution: to get a brand new single-GPU more powered solution in order to get that "necesary" slot free.. Like the new 7950 Mac Edition...

 

Best regards...



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / CF-X 7970 + 7950 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

Statistics
87437 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.