Topic Title: Problems with Radeon HD 5770 Crossfire Performance
Topic Summary: Cards perform WORSE in crossfire than alone!
Created On: 05/11/2013 07:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/11/2013 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pistopito
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/11/2013

Hi,
I am having some issues with my PC and would really appreciate any insight!
First off, my setup:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555, 3rd core unlocked; CPU-Z says it runs at 3.2Ghz under full load.
Memory: 16Gb DDR3
Video: Two Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 cards in Crossfire; the 2nd card was added maybe a 18 months or so after getting the first one; this goes to my receiver and my TV running at 1920x1080
Mobo: ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 with 2 2.0 PCI-e slots (16x, 4x)
HD: My main one, where my Steam files are, is a WD Caviar Black 1TB 7200rpm
OS: Windows 7
Catalyst Control Center (CCC): v13.4; hardware info shows both the primary and linked adapter (primary running at PCI-e 2.0 at 16x, the linked card running at 4x)

I just updated from CCC 12.4 (or 12.8?) and I have had Crossfire enabled every since installing the second card. With CCC 12.4, and every previous version of CCC I've had, about 60% of the time when I booted up from shutdown, I'd have to go back into CCC and re-enable Crossfire; for some reason it would be disabled on restart more often than not. I've only had 13.4 for a day now and I have not yet shut down my PC.
My main issue is basically I have never really noticed any difference from running in Crossfire vs running one card when gaming (Crysis 2, BF3, Portal 2, others). I think I am fooling myself into seeing a difference, but sometimes I would start up my system, start gaming (and it seemed normal), then remember that I didn't check if Crossfire had been disabled so I would recheck and see it was disabled and so I would renable it, and then go back to gaming and not really notice a difference. Does that make sense? And sometimes it would even seem worse.
So I bought Hitman Absolution on Steam (not pirated) and noticed that it had benchmarking which I've never done. These are my in-game settings:

Resolution: 1920x1080
Fullscreen checked
Refresh Rate 60
VSync checked
MSAA 2x
Exclusive Fullscreen checked
Aspect Auto
Quality: Custom
Shadow Medium
Texture Quality Normal
Texture Filter Anisotropic 2x
Reflections Medium
FXAA checked
Global Illumination unchecked
Tessellation unchecked
Level f Detail Medium
Depth of Field Medium
SSAO Normal
Bloom Normal

With my previous version of CCC my FPS averaged around 24.8, but I didn't write the exact numbers down. I went to the AMD website and saw a new CCC version and the new CAP with Hitman Absolution. I uninstalled all previous CAPs, and ran the 13.4 installer to remove my previous version of CCC. Then I rebooted, made sure display drivers were all uninstalled, and installed 13.4. I ran benchmarks with Crossfire on and off, then installed the new CAP and ran benchmarks with Crossfire on and off (each three times, "A", "B", and "C"). Here's my avg FPS:

Crossfire Enabled, no CAP
A. 26.3fps
B. 28.13fps
C. 27.8fps
Crossfire Disabled, no CAP
1. 29.9fps
2. 30.5fps
3. 30.5fps
Crossfire Disabled, CAP installed
1. 30.3fps
2. 30.3fps
3. 30.3fps
Crossfire Enabled, CAP installed
1. 16.4fps
2. 16.3fps
3. 10.4fps!

So it almost looks like my best settings were with Crossfire disabled and no CAP. So....Why? I mean, if I enable Crossfire and I do what AMD suggests and use the latest CCC version with the lates CAP, I get 10-16fps! I am not too technically inclined, so I was thinking I either have a faulty 2nd card (although CCC says it's linked) or my 4x PCI-e slot is slowing everything down, or I really don't know.
If you have any ideas/suggestions please let me know!

Thanks!

 07/03/2013 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drayzen
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/30/2008

Hi pistopito,
I've got the same issue with Hitman Absolution.

Running 2x 7950's I get the following FPS:
CF On: 38
CF Off: 43

I've tested with different driver versions (13.4/CAP13.5-1 & 13.6b2) but nothing works.
I've confirmed CF is working ok as I get On:65fps Off:38fps benchmarking BioShock Infinite.
I just went to the Catalyst Crew feedback but it looks like the survey is now closed for 13.6 so I couldn't tell AMD anything about it.  
I'm hoping that this means a new driver isn't too far off, fingers crossed...



Edited: 07/03/2013 at 08:03 AM by drayzen
 07/03/2013 08:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7297
Joined: 11/13/2009

The issue report forms are now located on every driver download page...



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/03/2013 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drayzen
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/30/2008

Hi stumped,
Thanks for your help, I've put in a submission.

I'd initially searched Google for 'AMD Catalyst Crew' as that's waht I could remember and wound up here:
http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5a1e27d20b2f3eac

Maybe that page should be deactivated now?

cheers, drayzen

 07/07/2013 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Voodoo_S3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/28/2013

Same here, worse performance with crossfire enabled (2x HD7770) than not, a total waste of time not to mention money.

 10/06/2013 02:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drayzen
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/30/2008

Well I've just tried drivers 13.9 & 13.10b2 and it's still slower with CrossfireX.
Not sure this will ever get fixed.

I was thinking about getting an new card when the R9's come out but after this I might me going for a GTX 780, dissapointed...

It would be nice if there was actually someone on here from AMD trying to help users fix their problems seeing as there's no way to email them for support.
I put in submissions via Catalyst Crew feedback forms but I don't hear anything from AMD and the problem doesn't get fixed, so what other choice do I have than to spend my money elsewhere...

 10/06/2013 11:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7297
Joined: 11/13/2009

Spend some time in the forum FAQ section. Frequently Asked Questions. ULPS is a good place to start.

http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=444&flcache=5939391&entercat=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/06/2013 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
drayzen
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 10/30/2008

Hey stumped, thanks for the tip, unfortunately the ULPS off didn't fix it.
Maybe I'll put my 6950's back in and see if they work with it...  

Guess I'll just wait for the next driver version and see if it get's fixed...

Statistics
86629 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.