Topic Title: HD6990 Crossfire big problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/07/2013 05:30 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/07/2013 05:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

Hi bros, i have a huge problem. I own two hd 6990, one from XFX and other is Asus, when i'm trying to instal drivers, the system suddenly stops, i was waiting for 10mins, but there's still no progress, please help.

info: i5 2300, 4gb ram, 500gb hdd, corsair ax1200w psu

 06/07/2013 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

Do you have .Net Framework 4.5 installed and (if its not a brand new machine) - have you performed a clean driver install (use Driver Sweeper / Driver Fusion in safe mode)?



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/07/2013 05:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

no, i dont have neither of these, please give me more info

 06/07/2013 06:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=30653 - which is required by latest Catalyst versions.

http://treexy.com/products/driver-fusion - run it in safe mode and remove all AMD drivers, then boot normally and install preferred drivers.

As these 6990's are from different manufacturers, be SURE to sync their clocks, they must both run on same clock/memory frequencies or you may run into strange issues, crashes, severe instability etc. - can be easily done with http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/07/2013 08:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

all that makes so much sense, thank you for help, i will try all that and tell you the results, thank you again

 06/23/2013 03:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

THANK YOU GUYS, it works good now, but i see that i5 2300, 4gb ram and p8p67 cant handle 6990 cf well, gliching a bit

 06/24/2013 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

Sounds like a cpu bottleneck, use Msi afterburner to monitor your cpu usage in game, if its hitting 90-100% thats the issue, only option is to overclock the cpu to reduce the bottleneck.

Try forcing more options in catalyst to push the cards harder to reduce it, i.e supersampling, edge detect, AA etc..

I have 2 x 7870 in crossfire and a 3570k and was bottlenecked (BF3 multiplayer) I overclocked from 3.4 to 4.3 ghz and now its smooth sailing at a constant 60fps, before it was dropping to 45 fps in 64 multiplayer when things got too hectic.



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m

 06/25/2013 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

yes, its always on 100%, i will try to OC it further

 06/25/2013 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

Is your i5 2300 a K series? if not I think it is locked and will not OC.



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m

 06/25/2013 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
psykosonik
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/07/2013

its not K

 06/25/2013 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

I think you can raise the turbo multiplier to x36 on that chip depending on your mobo (you need a P67 or Z68 board), make sure you are not on the stock cooler and monitor your temps.

Be aware of the risks before doing any OC.

Have a read of this -

http://www.overclock.net/t/1050295/overclock-intel-core-i5-2300-by-upping-cpu-ratio



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m



Edited: 06/25/2013 at 03:11 PM by M0n0LiF
Statistics
81018 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.