Topic Title: Install drivers and screen is black after reboot
Topic Summary: screen is black or freezes on splash screen
Created On: 08/04/2013 10:42 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/04/2013 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jex02
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/10/2013

so, i'm trying to update drivers from a fresh windows 7 x64bit install. everything is fine until i update ati drivers.when i reboot i get windows splash screen, then blackness. i can go into safemode,uninstall drivers, reboot and windows works fine again. i've tried some old driver versions(such as 12.10 from the sticky and the newly released beta 13.8) i've found on the web,with same results. any help would be appreciated.

Comp Stats:

OS: Windows 7 x64

Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1090T

MoBo: MSI 890FXA-GD70

Bios: unsure

RAM:8GB of DDR3 RAM (OCZ3RPR1600C8LV2G)

Graphics: Xfire Radeon HD 5870 (tho i've tried the driver update with just one card plugged as well)

Monitor: i've tried one comp monitor and two TV's

feel free to request any other info. i also have a cpu-z report.

thanks in advance guys,

kyle

 08/06/2013 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
efortin6
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/02/2013

I'm experiencing the same issue with a very similar setup as yours. 

Just out of curiosity, are your using HDMI to connect to your display? 

No matter what driver I use, if I'm connecting to my TV with HDMI, as soon at the AMD driver loads (right after the windows splash screen) the signal on the HDMI cable dies. 

I've made a very detailed post of the issue here: 

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=167245&enterthread=y

I haven't been able to get any feedback. 

 

 08/07/2013 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jex02
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/10/2013

thanks for a reply, this seems to be a VERY known issue. i'm just trying to keep it relevant so ati knows we still have the problem.as for your question, i have tried HDMI and DVI-HDMI cable.

 08/10/2013 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jex02
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/10/2013

can't lie, i'm alittle frustrated at lack of support i'm receiving. i still have this build sitting useless. even a " just wait til that new driver is ready, soon" from amd would be comforting to some extent.

 08/12/2013 01:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
efortin6
Peon

Posts: 16
Joined: 08/02/2013

I feel your pain. 

I'm starting to see a lot more posts about HDMI not working. 

Hopefully AMD will realize this isn't due to a bad port or cable and fix their drivers. 

 01/04/2014 04:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jex02
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/10/2013

it's been awhile, but i've been trying EVERY beta/stable driver they release with same issues occuring after i install drivers... has there been some cure-all fix yet?

kyle

Statistics
85510 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.