Topic Title: How do you install a second card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/05/2013 01:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/05/2013 01:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Despite days of reading a searching I still have not found an answer that tell me what I want to know.I have one 7970 ghz edition installed and running OK. I've decided to install a second identical card but I've been unable to find whether I need to uninstall my existing drivers or if I can simply plug new one in and it will just work and I'll be able to enable Crossfire in the Catalyst Control Center. 
 08/05/2013 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robkarp
Nerfed

Posts: 62
Joined: 04/26/2010

Just install the second card and connect them with a crossfire bridge.  It should be recognized and configured automatically.  If for some reason it isn't you can always reinstall your current driver without needing to remove it first.



-------------------------
Rampage IV Formula; 3930K @ 4.4GHz; 16Gb Corsair Vengeance RAM @ 1866; Sapphire HD 7970 x2; Corsair AX1200 PSU
 08/05/2013 07:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Thanks. Just what I wanted to know.
 08/06/2013 01:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Be sure to plug in your "EZ PLUG" or equivalent, if supported (see users manual) on your mobo to a four pin from the PSU to provide the needed extra power!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/06/2013 09:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

Assuming your power supply, motherboard, and CPU are all up to the task. What are they?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/06/2013 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Corsair 850 watts. Asus Sabertooth Z77. Intel i7 3770k @ 4.4GHz Not sure what the EZ PLUG is. No mention in the mobo manual. Just says to plug both cards into the PSU. The Corsair came with a bunch of extra cables for several more grahics cards.
 08/06/2013 01:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Yeah...looked at your users manual...no additional power connecter from mobo provided.  In many motherboards the PCI-e connector limits the power available directly to the card. 

Section 2-23 does recommend a 1000w or more PSU for dual high end graphic cards, you should be well within limits with 850 except *possibly* when overclocking cpu, gpus, watercooling, memory, numerous hdds, fans, etc.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/06/2013 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Thanks. case is a Silverstone Fortress FT2 so 3 180mm fans in the base. Corsair H80i CPU cooling. 16Gb memory. 1 solid state HD. 1 conventional HD. Mild overclock. The PSU is a Corsair HX850W Gold. Will that be OK?
 08/06/2013 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Computer1 Well there should be a photo! http://sdrv.ms/197Y3J6

 08/06/2013 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Look at these gpu power requirements and estimate your  power usage...

forums.atomicmpc.com.au/index.php?showtopic=264

...appears REFERENCE 7970s will use approximately ~395 to ~520 or more watts under loading in Crossfire.  One 7970 can use ~340 watts overclocked.

 

Really like that neat cableing!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/06/2013 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

You're going to be fine. System power draw will be around 750w.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/06/2013 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Yeah...obviously.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/06/2013 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12472
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yea, obviously, because I know how much power a system with a 125w processor and an overclocked HD 7970 Ghz edition can draw under 3D load, so it's easy to add 300w and get a power draw figure.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/06/2013 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Well....it is NOT ABOUT YOU.  It is about a reader considering a SECOND graphic card in Crossfire. 

Please focus on the subject that the forum poster has inquired about!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/07/2013 02:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 539
Joined: 01/15/2011

I'm with Black_Zion here...

Look at my system specs in my below sig.

With 100% load on the CPU and 100% load on my graphics card, my system pulls a total of 371W from the wall. Since the power supply is not 100% efficient, the system is actually using apporximately 300W - 310W.

Picture to prove it: http://imageshack.us/a/img833/6612/img0108pn.jpg

Keep in mind, this is with my CPU overclocked to 4.1GHz with all core pegged at 100%, and my 7970 overclocked to 1150MHz / 1480 MHz (I believe during that time) with +20% power and at 1.175V.

No way adding a second card is going to go over the 850W range. I'd say it be in the range of 500W-600W (650W ish if overclocked).

Or this, I had THREE Radoen HD 5850's running on my system a few years back...using the same Corsair TX850 power supply.

 

That graph looks like overall system power draw. If you check all the review sites (Anandtech, Legitreviews, Hardware Canucks, etc) there is NO 100% accurate method to measure JUST the power draw from graphics cards.

I repeat, there is NO 100% accurate method to measure JUST the power draw from graphics cards.

The card is connected to your motherboard's PCI-E slot...which supplies power as well (a max of 75W)...then you add in the additional PCI-E 6-pin / 8-pin connections. They can provide a max of 75W and 150W respecitvely, but the card may not need the full amount.

 

I also know a few guys from Steam's Users' Forums --> Hardware & Operating System section...

Borg_7_of_9 is using two Sapphire HD 7970's, with a i7-2600K overclocked to 4.8GHz, with a couple HDD's and SSD's. His entire system is water-cooled, so hes got a bunch of fans and radiators. Hes using a Corsair AX850W power supply. (Pictures included). http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showpost.php?p=19879116&postcount=3

HL2-4-Life has got a i7-3960X, three HD 7970's, a few 2133MHz RAM modules, a few hard drives...and he's running a SeaSonic X-1250W. (Go down the list...you'll find his sytem there) http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showpost.php?p=19879271&postcount=8

 



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64



Edited: 08/07/2013 at 02:34 AM by -rascal-
 08/08/2013 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

READ the posts...genius.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 08/08/2013 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RoyMacDonald
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/01/2013

Thanks for the detailed info guys. It's reasuring to know. I haven't felt any need to overclock the 7970 (yet) It's just the processor that has a modest overclock.

Statistics
85450 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.