Topic Title: New to Crossfire and Dual Graphics
Topic Summary: Radeon HD 7950 Video Card
Created On: 08/16/2013 05:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2013 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DragonusMaxima
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/16/2013

I was thinking about purchasing another Radeon card, identical to the one I have now. I want to work them onto 1 monitor so they "share the load" and improve graphics. Can I do this, and if i can, how? Im very new to using more than one GPU to please be detailed. Thank you.

 08/16/2013 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

First you need to tell us the rest of your system specs so we can tell you if it's even possible with your setup. Motherboard make/model, PSU make/model, CPU, and OS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/16/2013 09:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DragonusMaxima
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/16/2013

Mother: GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

PSU: I will purcahse a rosewill 1300W with the new card

CPU: AMD FX-6300 Vishera 3.5GHz (4.1GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 95W Six-Core Desktop Processor

 08/17/2013 01:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

Buying a Newegg store brand PSU is not a good idea, and 1300w is -way- overkill. Get a nice SeaSonic or Enermax made 850w unit, preferably 80 Plus Gold or Platinum for optimal efficiency, and you'll be fine. Shouldn't be a problem, just make sure your case has adequate airflow.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/17/2013 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DragonusMaxima
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/16/2013

Okay, but how would i set up the crossfire for both video cards?

 08/17/2013 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

Put the new card into a PCIe x16 slot and attach the bridge.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85378 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.