Topic Title: black ops 2 low fps
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/31/2013 07:06 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/31/2013 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hello everybody,

i finally bought a new pc with the specs below:

amd 8350 8 core cpu

gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 motherboard

corsair cl9 8gb ddr3 1600 mhz

2x gigabyte oc hd7870 2gb graphics crossfired

corsair cx750 watt

windows 7 64 bit

now while i get 70-150 fps in battlefield 3 with low settings at 1440x900, unfortunately i only get 40 to 50 fps in black ops 2 regardless of the graphics quality. im using amd 3d application profile 13.5 cap1.

could you please help me to fix this?

many thanx.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 10:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

You need to up your resolution as its making your cpu struggle, the higher the resolution the more the gpus have to work, at a lower resolution it puts more load on the cpu and bottlenecks.

you should be playing BF3 on ultra easily with that setup.

I have crossfired 7870's and play BF3 and Black ops 2 @ ultra settings at 1080p and have a solid 60fps with vsync on and 60-120+fps with vsync off

Play at 1080p or above or buy a new monitor with a higher resolution, that resolution is too low for 2 cards, it would run better with 1.

Try setting everything on both games to ultra settings and enable adaptive multisampling or supersampling in Catalyst control centre to put more load on the video cards (if you are unable to raise your resolution)and turn off vsync in both games.

in BF3 lower mesh quality if your cpu is struggling

use task manager to monitor cpu usage if its hitting 100% thats the issue



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m



Edited: 08/31/2013 at 11:01 AM by M0n0LiF
 08/31/2013 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hi mate,

i tried what you said for black ops 2, maxed out everything, and while i get a solid 60 fps (fps limited to 60), the game is not smooth, feels a little wierd specially the mouse movement - i dont know if its called micro stutter or what. the same with bf3 and theres the same situation. thats why i try to play bf3 on low settings, its super smooth with 70-150 fps but it doesnt work with black ops 2.

the monitor im using is an old lcd by hanns.g (model hw173a) which i got from a friend for £10!! its not that old though, but it works fine. i had to get a dvi to vga port converter in order to use it with my new pc and it has a stock resolution of 1440x900.

i dont know how to increase the resolution, as it seems theres no more options.

im really not in a position to buy a new monitor for some time, and with all due respect i dont think my current monitor is that a serious problem... or is it? 

oh i dont know anything anymore...



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

Like I said the lower your resolution the more load it puts on your cpu, multi graphic card configurations are meant for multi monitor and high resolutions.

you shouldnt have to play these games at low settings with your specs, the low resolution is most likely causing you problems with a bottleneck.

Your monitor is fine,but low resolution.I suggest upgrading when you can, you will see a world of difference in smoothness and quality.

If you have a HDTV set up your pc to that through HDMI.

Did you try with vsync on and off, it will be smoother with it on if you are not using the new beta drivers.

Catalyst 13.8 beta 2 has framepacing which gets rid of the microstutter, the difference is huge and its now really smooth.

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst13-8WINBetaDriver.aspx

Be sure to remove old drivers first.

 



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m



Edited: 08/31/2013 at 12:16 PM by M0n0LiF
 08/31/2013 02:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

i tried vsync in black ops 2 and the gameplay was smoother, still there were micro stutters. i have catalyst beta 13.8 as well, but i dont know where to find framepacing option in catalyst... also, do you know how i can increase the resolution on my monitor?

i will upgrade to a new one in the near future, any suggestions for that?

many many thanx!



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

btw this is my monitor

http://www.amazon.co.uk/HannsG-HW173A-Widescreen-Monitor-1440x900/dp/B000RIXNCC



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

You might want to try disabling ULPS...there is a post about that in the FAQ section.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/31/2013 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

mate your ULPS solution worked like a charm!!

still i have micro stuttering, but it has gone down alot!!!!!

i think i can vanish that with M0n0LiF advice about having a better monitor with better reolution.

but yeah, thanx alot!



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

If I understand your original post correctly, it looks like you're running Catalyst 13.5?  Update to 13.8b2 as it has frame pacing which works wonders for micro stuttering.  



-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks

 08/31/2013 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

im using catalyst 13.8 with 3d application profile 13.5 CAP1



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/31/2013 09:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ulyriel
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 07/31/2013

This worked for me.

Go into Catalyst and make a profile for the game. Making sure to Override the System preconfigured BO2 setup. scroll down to Frame Pacing/Crossfire options. Leave Frame Pacing on and in the crossfire drop box select Optimize 1x1. This setting made all my games run much smoother.



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2.0, AMD 8350fx @ 4.8Ghz w/ Corsair H80i, Dual Sapphire 7870 ghz edition OC, 24GB G. Skill 12800CL 9-9-9-24 @1600Mhz, 120GB Kingston SSDNow!, 1TB SG MomentusXT SSHD, Corsair TX850M, Matshita Blu-Ray Burner, Logitech G930 7.1 Headset, Razer Deathstalker Keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Mouse, Tri-Asus vg23a 3D Monitors

 08/31/2013 11:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

Vanish my advice?was trying to help you mate.

if you want to take it like im flaming on your monitor, please yourself.

My point is valid..you do not need 2 7870's at that low resolution.. turn off crossfire, fire up black ops 2 at max settings on a single card and you will see.

a single 7870 is overkill at that res.

 



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m



Edited: 09/01/2013 at 12:02 AM by M0n0LiF
 09/01/2013 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

my good mate i think you misunderstood my comment.

i said there are still micro stutters that i might be able to fix with your advice.

i didnt mean any disrespect and i think your advice is very useful and correct.

i also asked if you could suggest a monitor to me please..



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/01/2013 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M0n0LiF
Peon

Posts: 26
Joined: 05/30/2013

Hello mate, yes I did misunderstand your post entirely, my apologies, sorry for coming across as a grumpy Tw@t

I am glad it is working better for you now, nothing worse than the dreaded stutter to ruin a mans gaming.

As for a monitor, I would go for something@1080p and up, 23"+ with a good response time(2ms) and high refresh rate(60hz or 120hz)though if moneyz is an issue 120Hz will be mad expensive compared with 60Hz( I paid $125 for a Benq gl2450, 1080p 24"@60Hz)which If you are a Brit(I'm guessing you are) will be around 180-Ish quid.

As I said before, the monitor is holding back the cards a tad, you should be butter smooth on ultra in most, if not all games(DX9 excluded DX9 frame pacing next beta).

All the best.

 

 



-------------------------

2 x Asus Directcu2 7870,16gb Corsair vengeance,Gigabyte Z77X D3H,Intel 3570k @ 4.3 ghz,Corsair TX850m



Edited: 09/01/2013 at 04:43 PM by M0n0LiF
 09/08/2013 03:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

cheers mate, many many thanx



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

Statistics
85439 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.