Topic Title: Urgent help with crossfire 7950
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/05/2013 09:59 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/05/2013 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kyle939
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/18/2011

Hello,

I have never had this problem until I crossfired my cards.

I have identical 7950's... I know they both work because I tested them for hours before use.  I am an AMD fan so I have pretty much an entire AMD system.

Anyway, If I am playing a game and then ALT+TAB out go to Youtube, or any site that contains a video pretty much, I get a black screen and then no signal.

I have to press my reset button for it to come back on.

It has only ever happened since I have been crossfiring and I do not know why.  I have left the cards are default clocks and not touched them, I have overclocked and still the same problem.

I brought 1 a few weeks ago, used the hell out of it and worked fine.  Brought the second like 3 days ago and tested it for 3 days.  I followed all the instructions on how to crossfire it, I done it all right because I know it works.

I have the latest drivers and no 3rd party programs.  The only second program I have is AMD Overdrive. I cannot disable hardware acceleration as it is greyed out so rules that out. 

I am very annoyed and upset as I do not know why this is happening.  I ALT+TAB out a game do something, and a basic crash.

 

my system for the second post detail post. 

Info

My PC specs: 

Case: Zalman Z11 Plus 
CPU: Amd FX8350 4.1Ghz (Vishera 16Mb cache) 
RAM: 16Gb DDR3 1866Mhz G.Skill Ripjaw X 
GPU: 2x 7950 3Gb crossfireX
PSU: XFX 850W XXX Gaming Modular Pro 
Peripherals: Razer Deathstalker Keyboard, Gigabyte M8000X, Logitech G930 Headset, Xbox 360 controller, 24" LED Monitor 

The error never happened in a single card. I did bran new install of drivers, it only seems to happen if I alt out a game and load something else on a site or whatever

Any help?



Edited: 09/05/2013 at 02:23 PM by kyle939
 09/05/2013 01:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ulyriel
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 07/31/2013

Have you done a complete reinstall of the drivers since you attached the bridge, or are you using the drivers that were already in place? If it was already in place i'd say remove current drivers and do a clean reinstall.



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2.0, AMD 8350fx @ 4.8Ghz w/ Corsair H80i, Dual Sapphire 7870 ghz edition OC, 24GB G. Skill 12800CL 9-9-9-24 @1600Mhz, 120GB Kingston SSDNow!, 1TB SG MomentusXT SSHD, Corsair TX850M, Matshita Blu-Ray Burner, Logitech G930 7.1 Headset, Razer Deathstalker Keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Mouse, Tri-Asus vg23a 3D Monitors

 09/05/2013 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 326
Joined: 10/14/2011

Is your psu strong enough for 2 cards?

 

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=160903&enterthread=y



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 09/05/2013 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kyle939
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/18/2011

Yes my psu is enough. 

 

I have a high end XFX 850. That's not the problem. 

 

When the crash happens, the screen goes off to no signal but the PC is still on so its not psu. 

 

Maas for the drivers, yes I have installed bean new drivers when I first did crossfire. 

 

I was reading online, it's something to do with the UVD clocks. When playing a video it goes to default or something. 

 

Which I am at default. I went into a video, settings and turned off hardware acceleration and it hasn't happened as much. I could not disable it via display it would not let me. Had to load YouTube and play a video to do it. 

 

I am now using the 13.8 beta drivers which still has it. 

 

I am extremely annoyed that I chose AMD because I support them and spent well over £600 building this machine for AMD only and having this problem. 

 09/05/2013 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12513
Joined: 04/17/2008

Have you followed the directions in the FAQ to disable ULPS?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/05/2013 04:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kyle939
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/18/2011

I have not disabled that and I am not sure if I want too. 

If I am playing a game and alt+tab out open a browser do something. Both cards are still running so it wouldn't matter. 

 

Its the clocks dropping it seems. I cannot see how disabling that would fix this. 

 09/05/2013 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ulyriel
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 07/31/2013

By disabling the ulps (ultra low power state) it lessons the chance of those clocks getting stuck at that dropped speed. In other words, by having the ulps off your clocks will most likely be more capable of adjusting back to the speed needed for the games you are playing.

Good call B_Z.



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2.0, AMD 8350fx @ 4.8Ghz w/ Corsair H80i, Dual Sapphire 7870 ghz edition OC, 24GB G. Skill 12800CL 9-9-9-24 @1600Mhz, 120GB Kingston SSDNow!, 1TB SG MomentusXT SSHD, Corsair TX850M, Matshita Blu-Ray Burner, Logitech G930 7.1 Headset, Razer Deathstalker Keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Mouse, Tri-Asus vg23a 3D Monitors

Statistics
85573 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.