Topic Title: CrossFire freez
Topic Summary: My 5870's crossfire make the PC totaly freez in some games
Created On: 09/06/2013 08:49 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/06/2013 08:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M3uh
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2013

Hello,

I recently buought a second Ati Radeon hd5870 to set up a crossfire, but now, my PC totaly freez in some games like Arma 2, League of legend, Battlefield 3. When the freez appear, the only solution is to hard reset the system ...

I use ATI CCC 13.4 with all default settings.

my pc setup :

AMD Phenom II 965 Black ed. 3.40GHz

16Gbytes RAM CORAIR Vengeance

Two Sapphire RADEON HD5870 1GBytes

ASRock 970 Pro3 R2.0 mainboard

 

Please I really need help !!

 

M3uh

 09/06/2013 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ulyriel
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 07/31/2013

Try using the 13.8 driver. The 13.4 has issues with the 970 chipset and hd5800 series cards. Check the sticky at top of forum.



-------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2.0, AMD 8350fx @ 4.8Ghz w/ Corsair H80i, Dual Sapphire 7870 ghz edition OC, 24GB G. Skill 12800CL 9-9-9-24 @1600Mhz, 120GB Kingston SSDNow!, 1TB SG MomentusXT SSHD, Corsair TX850M, Matshita Blu-Ray Burner, Logitech G930 7.1 Headset, Razer Deathstalker Keyboard, Razer Mamba Wireless Mouse, Tri-Asus vg23a 3D Monitors

 09/07/2013 03:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zaitan
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 08/31/2013

vain hope of firewood AMD here's my 7790 970 chipset constant blue screens. I don't understand why they can't write a normal driver. they would hire then Nvidia that they wrote the races themselves cannot. that chipset that the graphic cards for more than a year and firewood not normal which is goo



-------------------------

AMD FX-8320, 2X4gb hynix DDR3 PC10700, ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0,


 


Win8 pro 64bit.


 


prodigy X-fi nrg, 2x7790 gigabyte & msi

 09/07/2013 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M3uh
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2013

I'm actually running the last 13.10 driver and the freezes continues ... I already tested with the 13.8 beta 1 and 2 and the both freez too ...

to Zaitan : my english is very bad so I didn't understand your post

 09/07/2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/27/2012

what is your power supply.

have you tried to erase the driver before installing a new driver.

amd has AMD Catalyst Un-install Utility, which you can use to erase you old driver before installing new driver. or there is a program called driver sweeper



-------------------------

AMD FX8350/CORSAIR H50
ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX/GEN3
G.SKILL TRIDENT X 9-11-11-31 (2 X 8GB)
2-XFX 5870/5850
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
OCZ vertex4 128gb windows 7 64

 09/07/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M3uh
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/06/2013

Hi kleetus, my power supply is a Corsair GS800, with 800W supply.

Every time I installed a new graphic driver, I did a total erase of the instaled one, using registery cleaner, file delete and program uninstalling, I mean all manually.

 09/11/2013 01:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Zaitan
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 08/31/2013

I meant that if they for the year of the 7 series not able to write a normal driver under multigpu, then you should not hope that they will write. here you either coders are not competent, or in chips hardware problem or whether motherboards themselves, whether gpu, and that is why so many complaints on crossfaer.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8320, 2X4gb hynix DDR3 PC10700, ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0,


 


Win8 pro 64bit.


 


prodigy X-fi nrg, 2x7790 gigabyte & msi

 09/11/2013 03:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 392
Joined: 10/14/2011

The second pci-e slot on your board is only a 4x slot.

You would be better off returning the 5870,sell the other one and purchase a single more powerful card. Maybe a 7970 or similar.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965@ 3.7ghz/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 133/Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Pro


Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7-B3 F7 bios /i7- 2600k@ 4.5ghz /8 gig G-Skill Ripjaws X  
Asus GTX680 DC2T2GD5 /Corsair AX 760i PSU /Logitech Z-5500 Sound /Win 7 x64 Ultimate(SP1), Antec DF-85 case.

Statistics
89044 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.