Topic Title: Dual 7900's not working.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/25/2013 10:02 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/25/2013 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

So teh story is that i have a new pc and dual 7900's

Although it doesnt seem like the cards are working properly, im getting constant freezes and blue screens. Can take 5minutes - 3 hours to happen, sometimes i get 20 freezes a night. Generally these freezes happen whilst playing a game. These games range from csgo - ff14 sometimes even binding of issac and indie games liek that.

 

Any help or fixes would be helpful and the drivers update page seems to be not working.

 

 

 09/25/2013 10:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Mind posting what your "other" computer components are, OS and which drivers you are using?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 09/25/2013 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

OPERATING SYSTEM:
Windows 2.6.2.9200
CPU TYPE:
AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
CPU SPEED:
4.36 GHz
SYSTEM MEMORY:
34.26 GB
VIDEO CARD MODEL:
AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
VIDEO CARD MEMORY:
4.29 GB
VIDEO CARD DRIVER:
aticfx32.dll
DESKTOP RESOLUTION:
1920x1200
HARD DISK SIZE:
2 TB
HARD DISK FREE SPACE:
1.87 TB (94%)

Item Value
OS Name Microsoft Windows 8 Pro
Version 6.2.9200 Build 9200
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name KLOWNIEPC
System Manufacturer To be filled by O.E.M.
System Model To be filled by O.E.M.
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU SKU
Processor AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor, 4000 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date American Megatrends Inc. 9903, 3/03/2013
SMBIOS Version 2.7
Embedded Controller Version 255.255
BIOS Mode Legacy
BaseBoard Manufacturer ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC.
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Desktop
Secure Boot State Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.2.9200.16384"
Time Zone E. Australia Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 32.0 GB
Total Physical Memory 31.9 GB
Available Physical Memory 29.1 GB
Total Virtual Memory 39.4 GB
Available Virtual Memory 36.2 GB
Page File Space 7.50 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions Yes
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware Yes
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes
 09/25/2013 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

Thats about everything i can find.

 09/26/2013 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Have you tried running the 8350 at its stock speed...4.0GHz?

...........................................................................................

7950's OR 7970's *OR* 7990's at stock speed or OC'd?  What drivers are you using?  What GPU model, gpu BIOS version?

What is the ASUS motherboard model?  Which BIOS version are you running?

Is there an extra power plug on your mobo that provides extra power to the cards in Crossfire?

Why no info on your power supply?

Memory speed, model, timing, etc.?

Factory mobo settings or configured by you?

Case model?  Cooling method?  Fans and airflow configuration?  What temps are you encountering CPU, MB, GPU 1, GPU 2 ?  Liquid cooled or air?

...........................................................................................

Try running your system with just 16Gb memory...



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 09/26/2013 at 01:25 AM by UcouldBrong
 09/26/2013 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12903
Joined: 04/17/2008

Read the STICKY for the information we need.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/28/2013 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Appears your system has solved its problems on its own.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 09/29/2013 12:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

No not solved just been extremely busy sorry, is there something i can type in somewhere too find you the info you require ?

Asus mother board  is M5A99x Evo R2.0

Completely Factory settings.

Air cooled and around 50, now its hotter here but previously it was running under 30 

 09/29/2013 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12903
Joined: 04/17/2008

**STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/29/2013 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

Graphics Card

Dual Radeon HD 7900 Series (W2452)

I dont believe they are being over clocked as the pc hasnt run correctly from the day i bought it.

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Current Version 13.10

Operating System
Windows 8 pro x64

Issue Details
Playing any newer game and sometimes old ones the pc will freeze up and do nothing or blue screen and die. Can happen anywhere from once a week - 30 times a day.

Everything in the gaming application settings is set to standard.

The only thing that fixed the problem for a short period is resetting to factory settings through the catalyst centre and then it will do it again.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0

Power Supply

Powersupply is a Raidmax RX-850AE

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

HDMI cord on one card and single monitor, LG 24 inch screen running 1920 - 1200


Applications and Games

All game have been upto date and current versions, games that have had the issue include ff14, hitman absolution, csgo.

CPU Details
AMD FX 8350 Eight core processor, 4000mhz, 4 cores, 8 logical processors.

Not being over clocked as far as i know due to factory standard settings.

Motherboard BIOS Version
American Megatrends Inc. 9903, 3/03/2013

Legacy mode.

System Memory Type & Amount
APG Legacy Ram. 32gb

Additional Hardware
cards and Pci-e and 1 6 inch fan on the top 4 inch top back and 3 inch on the side of the case.

Anything i need please let me know.

 09/30/2013 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Any reason you won't indicate the Brand and model of your "7900" series card?

Any issues when using one card?    Appears your board only has ONE x16 slot and dual x8 slots and one x16 and x4 slots...check your user manual for correct placement.

Bridge installed?  Connectors properly seated in cards and psu? Video card seated in the mother board securely? ANY additional power plug on the mb that supplies additional power in Crossfire mode?

Memory at default settings?  Have you used only 16Gb as an experiment?

Not sure what AGP Legacy RAM is.

You don't need to enable Legacy Mode in BIOS...you are not booting from an onboard Windows 7 OS but rather a W8, right?

Are both cards showing up in CCC? Temps of each under load?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 09/30/2013 at 12:46 AM by UcouldBrong
 09/30/2013 01:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

I believe the card is an MSI ?

I dont know most of the stuff your asking or where to find it, i have been doing my best. Sorry if you cant deal with that as i have stated, i havent change anything on the pc at all everythign is how i got it.

 

Yes both cards are showing up but im only able to use one of them.

 09/30/2013 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hi mate,

go to this link and download gpu-z, run it and check if it indicates that your crossfire was on..

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/sysinfo/gpu-z/

may i ask if you got your pc brand new or second handed from someone else?

thank you.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/30/2013 07:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

Pc is brand new, i have been thinking maybe there is a faulty part or setup incorrectly.

Can you not attach a file to this thread ?

http://tinypic.com/r/vredxu/5



Edited: 09/30/2013 at 08:02 AM by KlOwNie
 09/30/2013 09:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

allright mate,

after a bit research i found out that you have 2x amd hd 7950s 3gb crossfired.

although your motherboard should support 16x bandwidth for your pcie slots, for some unknown reason you only have 8x slot speed.

did your pc come with os already installed or did you install yourself?

in any case, did you update your catalyst to version 13.10 yourself?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/30/2013 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12903
Joined: 04/17/2008

Run Memtest86+ to rule out any RAM errors, and make sure both cards are not drawing off of the same 12v rail.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/30/2013 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

Thank you and yes it came with OS installed and i downloaded the 13.10 driver.

 

How do i run that mem test Zion ?

 09/30/2013 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

ok try this:

go to c:\windows\system32\drivers and locate atikmdag.sys and atikmpag.sys and rename them to atikmdag.sys.old and atikmpag.sys.old respectively.

then go to c:\amd\support\13-10_win8_64_dd_ccc\packages and search for "atikmdag.sy_" and "atikmpag.sy_" (without the "), copy both of them to your desktop.

then click on windows start on the task bar, in the search programs or files type "cmd.exe" without the " and press enter.

then type: "chdir desktop" without the " and press enter.

then type the exact same thing:

expand.exe atikmdag.sy_ atikmdag.sys

press enter

then again;

expand.exe atikmpag.sy_ atikmpag.sys

and press enter.

you should have two new files on your desktop by now: atikmdag.sys and atikmpag.sys

copy both of them to c:\windows\system32\drivers

restart the computer and run your games.

tell me if this fixed your issues.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 09/30/2013 06:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KlOwNie
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 09/25/2013

Ok i followed the process step by step, i have the beta version on 13.10

 

Also the commands wouldnt work once i found the 2 files and copied them too my desktop.

 09/30/2013 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Have you tried the other suggestions??



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
87559 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.