Topic Title: Using only 60-70%
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/26/2013 02:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/26/2013 02:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tredbobek
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/15/2012

Hi!

I installed AMD System Monitor, so I can check how hard the GPU works. I played World of Tanks, and I saw that It only used 60-70% of the dedicated GPU (Picture). I don't know how much it should use, but is this alright? I only have 27-35 fps, so I could use a little bit more.

 

Thanks for the answers.

 

-Tred

 09/27/2013 01:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1411
Joined: 07/13/2009

Short answer, that's probably entirely normal for your setup.

Longer answer...

For any 3D application, there are two frame generation rates.  The first is how fast the CPU can calculate the world models and send them to the graphics card.  The second is how fast the graphics card can render the textures.

If the first is lower than the second, the GPU usage will be less than its capacity.  Say, perhaps, that your CPU can prepare 30 frames per second to be rendered.  The GPU can render 45 of those prepared frames per second.  The overal rate will be only 30fps, and the GPU will be idle about a third of the time.

The maximum rate for CPU and GPU frame will vary from game to game, and within each game by the detail settings and screen resolution (for the most part, as resolution goes up, the CPU load stays the same, while the GPU load rises substantially).  The threading of the game matters a lot, too, in these days of ubiquitous multi-core processors.  If the game doesn't use multiple threads, CPU usage will even be below total potential.

 

 09/27/2013 12:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12515
Joined: 04/17/2008

Might want to list your system specs as detailed in the sticky so we know which answer applies to you.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/27/2013 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tredbobek
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/15/2012

I have a HP Pavilion dv6-112sg

Here's what it has: Link

Short version: It has a 1.8 GHz AMD Quad-Core A8-3510MX APU with Radeon HD 6755G2 Dual Graphics (1 GB DDR5 dedicated)

 09/27/2013 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12515
Joined: 04/17/2008

1.8ghz isn't particularly fast, so Thanny's explanation of a CPU bottleneck can apply.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/29/2013 05:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tredbobek
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 12/15/2012

It seems so. Although it can use a turbo (or what) that can boost it up to 2.5 GHz, but yeah, I understand now.

 

Thank you

Statistics
85576 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.