Topic Title: Secondary Graphics Card at 99% GPU and 100% Memory Usage
Topic Summary: Secondary graphics card is under no load, however after 5 minutes everything maxes out for no reason.
Created On: 10/04/2013 02:44 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/04/2013 02:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MEAT84LL
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/04/2013

Hi there,

I'm not the most tech savvy person around, so I joined this forum because I need help.

My current setup is as follows;

ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3

Intel Core i5 2500K @ 3.30Ghz (Standard clocking)

2 x ASUS HD7970 3GB DDR5 DC2 (Standard clocking @ 925Mhz)

8GB (2 x 4GB) G.Skill DDR3 2133Mhz RAM

CoolerMaster 1000W M2 Silent Pro PSU

CoolerMaster HAF 922 case with 200mm fans front and top.  120mm fans rear and bottom.

CoolerMaster V6 CPU cooler.

 

I recently installed the new 13.9 Catalyst drivers as well as the new 13.5 CAP.

Battlefield 3 froze during gameply twice on me today and each time my PC just froze.  CTRL, ALT, DEL does nothing as well as ALT, F4 or ALT, TAB.  I had to reset my PC each time this happened.  My PC has been running fine for about a year up until now.

Now at the moment, another problem has come up.  I noticed on  ASUS GPU Tweak that my secondary card is running at 99% GPU load and full GPU and memory clock speeds but I'm just on my desktop and the card is under absolutely no load.  This seems to have happened shortly after I had to reset my PC twice.  I have restarted my PC afterwards to make sure it booted up properly and even shut it down to allow the cards to cool down completely to see if that could help.  I've noticed that after 5 - 7 minutes of just sitting on my desktop not doing anything, the secondary card just starts right up and jumps to 99% GPU usage and 100% memory usage.  Also it runs at full memory and GPU clock speeds.

Here are all the stats on my cards and my system that I can find;

OS Name    Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate
Version    6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
Other OS Description     Not Available
OS Manufacturer    Microsoft Corporation
System Name    MEATBALL-PC
System Manufacturer    System manufacturer
System Model    System Product Name
System Type    x64-based PC
Processor    Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz, 3301 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date    American Megatrends Inc. 3603, 09-Nov-12
SMBIOS Version    2.6
Windows Directory    C:\Windows
System Directory    C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device    \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale    United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer    Version = "6.1.7601.17514"
User Name    Meatball-PC\Meatball
Time Zone    Namibia Daylight Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM)    8.00 GB
Total Physical Memory    7.90 GB
Available Physical Memory    5.36 GB
Total Virtual Memory    15.8 GB
Available Virtual Memory    12.6 GB
Page File Space    7.90 GB
Page File    C:\pagefile.sys

   
Name    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
PNP Device ID    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6798&SUBSYS_04421043&REV_00\4&38AC18AC&0&0009
Adapter Type    AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6798), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
Adapter Description    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Adapter RAM    (1,073,741,824) bytes
Installed Drivers    aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver Version    13.152.0.0
INF File    oem71.inf (ati2mtag_R575 section)
Color Planes    Not Available
Color Table Entries    Not Available
Resolution    Not Available
Bits/Pixel    Not Available
Memory Address    0xD0000000-0xDFFFFFFF
Memory Address    0xF7AC0000-0xF7AFFFFF
I/O Port    0x0000DF00-0x0000DFFF
IRQ Channel    IRQ 4294967273
Driver    c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6340, 604.00 KB (618,496 bytes), 30-Aug-13 11:32 PM)
   
Name    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
PNP Device ID    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6798&SUBSYS_04421043&REV_00\4&80E7924&0&0008
Adapter Type    AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6798), Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. compatible
Adapter Description    AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
Adapter RAM    (1,073,741,824) bytes
Installed Drivers    aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver Version    13.152.0.0
INF File    oem71.inf (ati2mtag_R575 section)
Color Planes    Not Available
Color Table Entries    Not Available
Resolution    Not Available
Bits/Pixel    Not Available
Memory Address    0xE0000000-0xEFFFFFFF
Memory Address    0xF7B00000-0xF7BFFFFF
I/O Port    0x0000E000-0x0000EFFF
IRQ Channel    IRQ 4294967292
I/O Port    0x000003B0-0x000003BB
I/O Port    0x000003C0-0x000003DF
Memory Address    0xA0000-0xBFFFF
Driver    c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6340, 604.00 KB (618,496 bytes), 30-Aug-13 11:32 PM)

I'm currently downloading the latest 13.10 drivers in hopes it will resolve this issue.  I will report back any findings.  I'm hoping it's not a hardware issue.  These cards are very hard to come by where I live...

Thank you for your time.

 10/05/2013 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vein
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/04/2013

Do not use ASUS GPU Tweak its make bugs for voltage power control of cards. And to stop gpu load you need to swich of crossfire and swich on. And use "EVGA Precision X" for coling control and monitor gpus.
 10/06/2013 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MEAT84LL
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/04/2013

Thanks Vein

I've installed the 13.10V2 BETA drivers and they helped a lot with my BF4 performance now.  I get 50FPS averaging with everything on Ultra in 1080, on ONE card! =D...

However, now when I try and turn my CrossFire back on, I get a black screen and my PC just hangs... You think I should reinstall 13.9 instead?...

Thanks for the tip on GPU Tweak, I'll try the EVGA Precision X or just use Overdrive in Catalyst Control Centre itself.

 10/07/2013 02:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vein
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/04/2013

I use 13.9 play BF4 on ultra vs 1080p and on crosffire i have 2 hd6970 and get from 50 to 60+ i set no msaa in bf4 bat in ccc i set 24eq and everything on high.
 10/07/2013 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vein
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 10/04/2013

If you can split youare 4 cors to 8 lodgical it will healp.
Statistics
84264 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.