Topic Title: 2 x 7970 HD GPU's and FX 8350 CPU Performance Lacking?
Topic Summary: This set up should fly, but doesn't!
Created On: 10/22/2013 11:21 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/22/2013 11:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The_Student
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/22/2013

In anticipation of the BF4 launch in just 7 days, I upgraded my CPU, Memory and added a second 7970HD Direct CU II.

But the performance gain does not seem to be worth the expense....  I run Eyefinity on 3 x 24" IPS Monitors and with 2 of these cards I was expecting over 65 fps on ultra settings.

AMD advertise that installing a new FX Piledriver CPU with the 7000 Series GPU will result in upto a 27% increase in gaming performance, where am I supposed to see this?

I've been an AMD user since my K6 550 CPU and I've been through most of the series from then on.... But this new set up has not delivered, or is lacking somewhere.

I run the following:

FX 8350 Stock 4GHz
16GB G.Skill 1866Mhz DDR3 @ 10-12-10-31
2 x 7970 HD
Corsair Force 3 SSD
Asus Formula V
Corsair HX1050W PSU


Is there anything I can do to optimise these two GPU's and the CPU? to return better FPS anything, anyone can think of?



-------------------------

The_Student




Life is the greatest lesson.

 10/22/2013 11:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

Lots of information in the FAQ...Frequently Asked Questions. Have you looked there?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/22/2013 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

what games do you play?

and search this forum for "how to disable ULPS" which was kindly provided by Stumped.

btw, i dont think you would have that much performance boost, running games on 3x24" monitors on ultra needs alot more than that.

as of bf4, just like bf3, there wont be any  affordable gpus that can really run the game with an outstanding performance for at least a year, AMD recently announced the 290x series, but itd going to be expensive.

all the best



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 10/23/2013 11:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
The_Student
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/22/2013

Thanks Stumped... I did check out the FAQ's, and I did disable ULPS as suggested in there and by deathcrush87.

I have noticed one thing, the secondary card's fans do not spin, until a 3D application is open, is that normal?

Games I play, BF3 / Saints Row IV / F1 2012 / Hitman  Absolution / Just Cause 2 / Sim Raceway / Dirt 3 / Dirt Showdown / Warframe / TF2 etc

I was expecting the set up to give me around 80+ FPS on ultra settings with 2 cards, but I'm getting between 40 - 60fps. Hence the reason for my post.



-------------------------

The_Student




Life is the greatest lesson.

 10/23/2013 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

using 3 monitors for bf3 and having 40-60 fps is all normal.

check this benchmark, its in swedish but the numbers are clear to understand.

http://www.sweclockers.com/recension/16541-nvidia-geforce-gtx-titan/17#pagehead

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 08/02/2014 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HCB301
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/02/2014

Question: i wanna buy a second xfx7970. for a Asrock Fatality Performance Mainboard! Do i need a bridge like by Nvidia Cards, oer no bridge needed. Do the system see, that 2 cards abord?

 

Sorry 4 my bad english, i am from germany!

 

Greetings!

 08/04/2014 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robkarp
Nerfed

Posts: 62
Joined: 04/26/2010

You will need a Crossfire Bridge to connect the two cards.



-------------------------
Rampage IV Formula; 3930K @ 4.4GHz; 16Gb Corsair Vengeance RAM @ 1866; Sapphire HD 7970 x2; Corsair AX1200 PSU
 08/15/2014 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

@HCB301

I know it was late answer but maybe you can look this ( Your question answer = Yes you must buy or need one Bridge);

 

Crossfire Need Bridged and Non Bridged List



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

Statistics
84697 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.