Topic Title: A8-6600K with HD 7750 - No Dual Graphics Option
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/05/2013 04:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/05/2013 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

Hey guys. I built my current PC 5 months ago using parts listed specifically for crossfiring, and others with the exact same build are having no problem with enabling dual graphics.

As the title says, I'm using an (Asus) A8-6600K Motherboard and a discrete Radeon HD 7750 (GDDR5 [I heard some people had problems with the GDDR5 version]). I'm not sure if any other specs are relevant, but I will edit this post if you need more information.

I have installed Catalyst versions 13.9 and 13.11 on Windows 7 Ultimate 32 and 64 bit, also reinstalled both Catalysts while switching the primary GPU (both in the BIOS and to the monitor).

I updated my Asus BIOS to 6305 (came with 5305) which was supposed to completely support the A8. Under NB Settings I had changed multiple monitors to on, the primary GPU to the card, forced integrated graphics, and 1 GB memory (dxdiag says 2264, since it adds both GPUs' RAM, would it be okay to change it to 2 GB?), but when reinstalling the Catalysts I had also tried disabling the integrated graphics or making it my primary GPU, but there was no difference except performance loss with the latter.

I am sorry if this has been answered before, I think I have searched wrong since neither A8[-]6600K nor [Radeon HD] 7750 came up with any relevant results.

 11/05/2013 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

You are not suppose to be able to crossfire those two. Its not listed as a supported feature. The cards that are supported are listed on the side of the box your 6800k came in.  

People who are getting those cards to crossfire are just lucky , and from what I can see its nothing more then pure luck of the draw they are getting it to work. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/06/2013 04:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

Are there any specific factors that affect this "luck"...? If it just depends on the way the card and/or mobo was manufactured, frankly I feel ripped off. If its a matter of reinstalling everything until it finally works, I would gladly do it.

 11/06/2013 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

I don't know why you are feeling ripped off. It clearly states on the side of the box what you can crossfire it with. 

Ripped off because your not a lucky one? Or Ripped off because you expected it to work?



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 11/06/2013 07:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

Sorry you took my choice of verbs so personally, Dick. I said ripped off because I felt like luck isn't something a company should be operating off of. A better choice of words would be, yes I expected it to work seeing as the majority of people I know have gotten it to work, thus it doesn't seem too difficult to me to make it compatible in the first place.

All I wanted to know was if there was some way to get it to work. No wonder this place is so popular, you're catching flies with honey.

 11/06/2013 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3509
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: Leon of Blades Sorry you took my choice of verbs so personally, Dick. I said ripped off because I felt like luck isn't something a company should be operating off of. A better choice of words would be, yes I expected it to work seeing as the majority of people I know have gotten it to work, thus it doesn't seem too difficult to me to make it compatible in the first place.

 

All I wanted to know was if there was some way to get it to work. No wonder this place is so popular, you're catching flies with honey.

 

AMD clearly states what the card works with. They were even nice enough to put it on the side of the box. AMD does not advertise a 7750 in *ANY* shape form or fashion as being compatable with a 6800K. 

This is a case of you failing to read the side of a box, and failing to bother to do any research on your part to see if its officially supported by AMD. 

If you want something to work that isn't officially supported why don't you go off to the places where they apperently got it to work , and ask there, Instead of attacking people on the forum.

 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 11/06/2013 at 08:49 PM by Vantharas
 11/06/2013 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

I made a simple question, stating that others had the exact same setup and had it working, all I wanted to know if there was some possible way to get it to work. I did not attack you, I didn't insult you, I wasn't complaining about AMD, absolutely nothing except asking for help.

I was already aware that it wasn't officially supported, but since so many people had it working flawlessly, I wanted to know what difference made that possible.

Stop being rude.

 11/06/2013 11:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12647
Joined: 04/17/2008

He wasn't being rude, he was trying to get you to understand that that combination of APU and discrete GPU are not officially supported as a Dual Graphics pair, and like anything unofficial, it is not guaranteed to work. Might I suggest a simple internet search along the lines of "A8-6600K and HD 7750 Dual Graphics" and following the results to forums with people who have actually done that?

However I will say that even if you do get it to work, you will likely be disappointed with the performance. Dual Graphics has issues, and like any multiple GPU setup, depends on the game's ability to take advantage of multiple GPUs efficiently. You really should have went with a 7770, 7790, or R7 260X.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/06/2013 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

 

As I said, I already knew that they weren't officially supported, and googling it was exactly what I did; didn't you? There's lots of people that have got it to work - not so many who haven't. I'm not asking for official support, I want to know what allowed them to do so, with the exact specs that I have.

 11/07/2013 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12647
Joined: 04/17/2008

I was sure I told you what you should do...

Might I suggest a simple internet search along the lines of "A8-6600K and HD 7750 Dual Graphics" and following the results to forums with people who have actually done that?


Yep, I did, yet you are still here, asking people who don't have that setup what you should do...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/07/2013 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

I DID. WHICH I JUST SAID. 5 of those people didn't know anything more, the last one said, and I quote, "it does work with the gddr5 version because thats what i had, go on amd's forums dude and see if someone there can help you". I had done absolutely everything they had.

 11/08/2013 12:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Well there are people who have managed to get it to work. Do an advanced search for these words "dual 7750". There is a guy who likes to brag about it. 

I will tell you like everybody else has that there to many issues with dual graphics/crossfire. You would be better off returning the 7750 and getting something else like black_zion suggested. 

Everyone here are just fellow user/gamers that have experienced with issues in the past. They pass this wisdom on to people, but really don't need to talk down to.

I hope you can make your system to work out the way you want it to.

Good luck



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 11/08/2013 12:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Leon of Blades
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 11/05/2013

Thanks. I really wasn't trying to talk down to anyone. I had been suggested this rig by a very good friend of mine who knows much more about this than I do, and having seen it in practice so much I simply expected it to be more commonplace even if not officially supported (I'm sure everyone has seen that happen at some point).

You guys did make me realize that even if I get it to work it might not be what I expect it to be. I'll take your advice and sell the 7750 (unfortunately I'm in a different country now) and look up the one you recommended.

Thanks for the advice.

Statistics
86367 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.