Topic Title: which motherboard is better for crossfire? ------'SOLVED'------
Topic Summary: help me out please
Created On: 11/20/2013 03:42 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/30/2013 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

www.legionhardware.com/articles_pages/gigabyte_radeon_hd_7870_oc,9.html



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/01/2013 12:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

The 7870 Ghz Edition is rated for a TDP of 185w. Round it up to 200w for easy math, multiply by two, add 150w for the rest of the system, and you end up with 550w, well within the Corsair TX750's capabilities.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/01/2013 03:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

the link you provided is in contrast with two of the websites i provided.

to make everything clear, i contacted gigabyte support, just waiting for their response.

anyway, i would never make a conclusion based on one review or test, there are tens of websites claiming my psu is sufficient.

search the google yourself.

thanx anyway.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/01/2013 06:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 329
Joined: 11/27/2012

I would agree that the PSU is sufficient...  I am one of the first guys to jump on an undersized PSU when people post their specs...  it may not be the best PSU for your needs, but it is more than adequate. 

 

Now, there could be issues with voltage drops and poor power due to age and/or failure...  have you monitored voltages system wide (v-core, vddc's, 12V , etc etc) during these crashes?  Does your board have a supplimental PCI-e power for the board? (Mine has a SATA power connector to be used when installing two or more GPU's).

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 12/01/2013 08:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

thanx for the reply.

first i have to mention that my psu is "crossfire certified" according to amd website.

second, i RMAd my motherboard and am waiting for the refund to purchase a new one. so i dont have it anymore.

third, the board was tested by the website and possibly they found the same fault, otherwise no one would refund a 3 months old motherboard.

fourth, i didnt understand the last part, what was what? (sorry!)

sixth, i never watched the voltage, as crashes happened while i was gaming, and there was no fixed time frame for crashes.

seventh, to understand better the "non-sufficient" psu please search this forum for the first post i created - dating back to August. there i ran the same crossfire setup with an xfx 550 watt, no crashes at all though the performance was aweful.

 

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/01/2013 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Accept the advice/facts that suits you...get your new motherboard and move forward.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/01/2013 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

its like asking a doctor about your sour throat, and him giving u advice about ur possible bad ankle...and keep trying to find a connection between the two!

anyway!

what brand and model of psu do you suggest?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/01/2013 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Corsair AX1200 or Corsair AX1200i



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/02/2013 03:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

many thanx.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/06/2013 06:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

ucouldbrong,

i searched for ax1200 and its way too expensive for me.

i found corsair RM1000 which is closer to my budget, is it good enough?

would RM850 be good too?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/06/2013 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

You don't need a new power supply, period, full stop, that's the end of it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/06/2013 11:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

You may not absolutely NEED to replace it, but it won't hurt to have the power available WHEN you NEED it!

................................................Tip of the day:

Next time you find yourself in a cold enviroment and feel cold because maybe you should have worn more protective clothing...remember what  Grandpas everywhere have said for millenia..."If you are cold...you are stupid."



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/07/2013 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

Well its an absolute waste of money to buy a new power supply unless he plans on buying more powerful cards down the road. 

And by more powerful I mean a Higher TDP such as a 250W Card. Not new generation. 

Or for some reason isn't happy with a bronze rated power supply. And even then its still a waste As he already has a good quality PSU from a reputable manufacturer. 

But then again if he plans on going with 250W TDP Rated cards a 900W+ PSU Would make more sense. But That would require even more money wasted Unless he just wants to get a big PSU for now. Then later on down the road pick up 2 enthusiast level cards.  

But even the OP suggesting an 850W unit turns the whole argument into being a waste of money. 

OP stop wasting money unless you plan on buying new higher rated TDP cards there is absolutely 0 reason to upgrade your PSU for now. 

And thats all I'm going to say and leave it at that.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 12/07/2013 at 12:07 AM by Vantharas
 12/07/2013 02:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Well allright then...you win...get the bigger power supply and leave it at that!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/07/2013 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

many thanx for the replies guys.

i upgraded my pc from:

ga 990fxa-ud3  ---> asus ROG crosshair v formula z

wd 5400 rpm hdd  ---> kingston ssd

windows 7 64bit  ---> windows 8.1 64bit

an unknown made case with psu placement in the top  ---> zalman z11 plus with psu placement on the bottom..

and still it CRASHES!  (

crossfire crashes.. 

oh boy

any way, i used gigabyte guru overclock software to downclock my gpus from factory-set 1100mhz to 950mhz..

not only the system is more stable (i.e much fewer crashes) but fps is all better in battlefield 3!!

i mean alot better!

previously it was 60~140 and now its 90~170!

could someone please explain it to me?

is it psu related?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/07/2013 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

What it sounds like is something you should have tried before spending money, and that's asking Gigabyte if there is an updated VBIOS to correct a known voltage/clock mismatch, or if the card itself is defective.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/07/2013 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

Happy to hear you got it working to your satisfaction.  Smart move on the SSD!

 

....................................................Tip of the Day:

Maybe you could drink that glass of water in a better way.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/07/2013 11:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

My dear black_zion,

even before posting here i asked gigabyte support for an updated vbios, unfortunately there is none.

defective graphic cards?
might be.
how can i know? 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/07/2013 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

UcouldBrong,

 

oh man stop that philosophical thing.

i asked a simple question regarding ur advice: [changing the psu].

is Corsair RM1000 ok or not ok?

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/08/2013 02:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

thanx



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

Statistics
85403 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.