Topic Title: ati randeon and firepro work together
Topic Summary: ati randeon and firepro can work together in the same machine, it is possible?
Created On: 12/06/2013 12:43 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/06/2013 12:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carlosanez
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2013

Dear friends, I am a designer of piping systems and use autocad 3d, I'm a fan of video games and I like to see much media as movies and videos, that's my question, could be used in the same pc, video card randeon and one firepro to enjoy everything that I like?

 12/06/2013 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

You'd be better off building a second dedicated gaming rig and using a KVM switch.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/06/2013 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carlosanez
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2013

thanks for the comment, but that would buy another pc, yet the question remains if both cards (firepro and randeon) could work together in the same pc without conflict, perhaps using CrossFireX technology

 12/06/2013 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

While Fire and Radeon cards essentially share the same components, they each use different driver sets (Radeon being optimized for DirectX and games, Fire being optimized for OpenGL and professional programs), and could have conflicts. However there are a few articles around the web on gaming with a Fire series card. You can also create a separate partition and install a copy of Windows, install both cards in your tower, and just disable the Fire card in one and Radeon in the other.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/06/2013 02:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
carlosanez
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2013

Thank you very much for how fast you answered me, definitely the answer is that they can not be used together unless a partition is done on the pc, a recommendation that AMD will work in the future based on a single video card can work with Open GL and direct X interchangeably, since both software work with very similar hardware.

Statistics
84848 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.