Topic Title: No CrossfireX option in CCC for my 7990
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/07/2013 12:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2013 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elJarmen
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/07/2013

Hello,

I built this PC yetserday and after I booted into windows and installed 13.11 Beta 9.4, there was no option under the "Performance" tab to enable CrossfireX. I tried 13..11 B9.5 which was the same.

I tried WHQL 13.09 and CrossfireX worked, but it gave me insane temps and instability. I obviously want to always stick to the latest Beta drivers.

MOBO: GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU: ASUS 7990 
CPU: i5 4670K

I do appreciate your time trying to assisst me. 

 12/08/2013 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elJarmen
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/07/2013

CrossfireX is nebaled on WHQL 13.10 but it goes into a black screen and rebotes whenever I launch a game. It seems to me my card hates Beta drivers. 

Anybody from AMD able to help??? 

 12/09/2013 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chris316
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

Hi

So just to make sure, you do have 2 x 7990 (4 GPU's)?

I have kind of the same problem with my 2 R9 280X, no option at all to activate crossfire in any of the newer driver versions.

Cheers

 12/09/2013 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elJarmen
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/07/2013

Hi Chris,

No I only have one 7990. I know loads other 7990 users who have that option showing in CCC with similar setups. If I go to "Information>Hardware" I also find the 2nd GPU disabled.

Hope they sort out something for us soon.  

 12/10/2013 04:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Harbi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/10/2013

I'm really disappointed with my first AMD purchase.

I moved to PC gaming 3 years ago & always used Nvidia cards. 2 weeks ago, I decided to buy the 7990. This is my first AMD product I've purchase.

I've downloaded the WHQL 13.9 driver but there is no CrossFire tab to access so I could enable or disable it. Downloaded the latest beta driver (13.11) but to no avail.

 

Is there any work around to get this fixed? or a previous driver to download?



Edited: 12/10/2013 at 04:53 AM by Harbi
 12/10/2013 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chris316
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

Hi

Ok, correct me if I'm wrong but I had a 6990 before and I never activated Crossfire and had the full performance. So I guess you don't need to activate CrossfireX as long as you only have one card.

 12/10/2013 06:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Harbi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/10/2013

Hello Chris, I'm posting here because I want to disable crossfire not enable it.

The drivers gives me 99% usage on the 2nd GPU from the moment I boot up my PC, and it stays like that (even when I'm typing now) untill I shut the PC down. People have the same issue when I searched the net.

I just want to disable crossfire untill AMD fixes this issue, maybe for the next 2 months or so :/

 12/10/2013 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elJarmen
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/07/2013

Harbi, you need to download MSI Afterburner and disable ULPS. 

Chris, it is different with win8.1, you must have the option. The iportant thing is that the 2nd GPU shown as disabled, and in applications it doesn't get any load at all. 

 12/11/2013 02:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Chris316
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/09/2013

Hi guys

For me everything works at the moment since I have switched cards and changed the direction of the cables as described in my thread.

Harbi, this problem is known, one of my friends has the same problem on Win 8.1 and since crossfire is working for me as well, with the latest drivers I get the same results on the ASUS GPU tweak tool. GPU usage like 99% at all the time. However I don't really worry about that since I think it is just a bug in the tool and not really the card that has a load if 99%.

I have had a ***** mining virus a while ago and THEN the 99% in idle where true and you could hear that as well since the themps and the fans got up as well which isn't the case now.

Statistics
88750 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.