Topic Title: 7970 crossfire problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/14/2013 09:48 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/14/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

Hi

I have recently brought a second gigabyte 7970 oc edition card to run crossfire, and dont think im getting the most out of them both.

My rig:

Gigabyte 990fxa ud3

AMD 8350 cpu

X2 gigabyte 7970 oc edition

16gb 1600hz ram vengence

windows 7 64bit

120gb ssd

27" monitor 2560x1440

I play BF4 and almost reckon it run better on a single card...

I have tried overclocking the cpu, which im having alot of trouble with.

Everytime i try overclock the cpu i get a real odd lag with any video, and gaming..

I can see it as soon as im looking at the multi player browser,withthe pings, some of them will read over 250 which i normally never get with my internet.

And if i put the cpu back to default it becomes fine again, but the game seems to run really avergae lately and im kinda stuck on what to do.

(im overclocking in easytune 6 )

Im very new to this this is my first rig i have actually built from scratch.

One of my main concerns i guess is, before the second card my game would load really quickly id almost be first in game most times, but since the 2nd card loading times have trippled by the time i get in the first objectives are being taken..

Is this caused from cpu struggling to keep up with the 2nd card?

Any hints would be much appreciated.

 12/14/2013 10:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

search this forum for "how to disable the ULPS" in the FAQ section.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/14/2013 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

...also place "Origin" and "Origin Games" on your SSD.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/14/2013 07:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

This really seemed to make a big difference! thank you.

Each card is only working at around 50% which im pretty sure is higher than they were working previsouly.

Is this normal or should they be cranking closer to 100%?

I do have origin and battlefeild on my 120 ssd, only since second card loading has dragged..

 12/15/2013 02:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

search the google for "disabling the core parking".

also, overclocking your cpu should help. just make sure "xmp profile" is enabled in your motherboard's bios.

what power supply are you using?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/15/2013 11:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

FAQ section..disable core parking tool



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/16/2013 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

Hey

I have a Antec 850w Power supply.

Thanks for the help ill give it a go.

 12/18/2013 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

I havent overclocked my cpu yet , but now im finding ingame im getting a real annoying flicker in the grass/ ground of maps..

Sometimes when im first joing a map its like its struggling to load the grass etc?

                                  EDIT......

I have disabled the core parking. Im at a loss with the overclocking the cpu, im very new to this.

(i have also enabled the XMP profile)

I have been using Easytune 6 with my gigabyte MB, at first i was just turning up the BCLK option from 200.00Mhz to 207.00Mhz, and its stable.

If i go one higher to 211.53 it cause the pc to crash.

Now this is what i have tried (after advice from a friend)

Turned the ratio up to 22. and the CPB ratio to 23 and the CPU Vcore up one notch.

And this cause's my game to absolutly unplayable.. I know straight away because when im looking at the BF4 multi player browser there will be a few pings in the 300's where the rest are normal.

So enter game and its horrible.. Go to youtube play 4 random clips and all pretty much un watchable, real delayed lag.

So set CPU back to default And everything goes back to normal??

This is pretty much the best way i can explain this..

A few weeks ago i downloaded the 13.11 beta drivers which put a program on my pc which auto overclocked my cpu to about 4.7mhz this is where i first experianced this problem....

Stuck!

 

 



Edited: 12/18/2013 at 06:48 AM by 8SiX3
 12/18/2013 08:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

hi,

 

sorry to hear about your problems mate.

with xmp enabled and core parking disabled, without overclocking can you use gpu-z and tell me what is the gpu load when you are gaming?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/19/2013 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 801
Joined: 01/05/2013

When you overclock there are many settings that can be variables in the stability of your OC.  One is the cpu voltage.   Bump it up incrementally and it will help stabilize the OC.  Be sure to stay at or under 1.5v for safety !! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

Be sure your memory timings are at default settings.

Don't change any other voltage settings.

Leave the gpu clocks where they are at default for now.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 12/19/2013 03:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

Hi

The cards are not getting much over 50%

Hardly working really aye?

                        EDIT..

Im wondering if this is my problem...

http://answers.ea.com/t5/Battlefield-4/Flashing-screen-of-colors-for-BF4/m-p/2025285/highlight/false#M7316

 



Edited: 12/19/2013 at 04:37 AM by 8SiX3
 12/22/2013 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
8SiX3
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/14/2013

Back again...........

Lately while playing BF4 im noticing that that two cards are dropping to about 20-25% usage in game,causing my frames to drop to about 20-35..

With both cards running about 75-80 degrees..

Im at a loss with these cards im stumped, there both fairly new and have never been overclocked.

I have the upls disabled, and i have pushed the blck option to 2.07mhz as high as i can go without the pc crashing.

I read that the Gigabyte 990FXA UD3+ MB's cant be unlocked to oc in bios, or im just to inexpericaned to know/try

The frames in game are really inconsistant aye ranging from 100 ish now recently down to the 20's...

 

Anyone wanna buy 2 7970's??????

Would i be better off just selliung and buying a R2290?

Frustrated as...

 12/22/2013 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

My next card will be a 7970. Honestly, there have been very few complaints/posts corncerning this card or, for that matter the R series....except in crossfire. The R series had the misfortune of being released at the same time as Windows 8.1 , BF4 , and Obamacare. All of which were disasters and have kept (I would imagine) the designers at AMD going in several different ways at once..and haven't the focus on the new series cards. Maybe just sell one. With a single 7970 you can play any game with no issues....unless you like to count fps.

PS. Have you done any overclocking on the card?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/22/2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

i make a small advice to you.

with that heat and the fact that your cards are only having %50 load, try and borrow a psu with 1,000 wattage (maybe more but no less than that).

you can buy one and if didnt help you can send it back within 7 days as "unwanted item" under the distance selling regulations..

wait a second.. is it only for the UK?.. i dont know........

anyway, try a different game like bf3 and see if your cards are still loaded %50 or less..

but defo try a more powerful psu.

 



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/22/2013 11:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

@stumped,

youre a pro, take a look at my last post and give me some ideas please.



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

Statistics
85337 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.