Topic Title: Crossfire option for 290's not available in 13.12
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/20/2013 05:26 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/20/2013 05:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OP20
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/20/2013

So using 13.11 beta8 I had access to crossfire just fine. It showed up in CCC. Upgrading to 13.12 to resolve the 2nd card being set to x1 instead of x8 bug is now leaving me with a new problem. I cant enable crossfire.

I saw someone saying they had to install drivers and then plug in 2nd card to get crossfire to show up but I cant do that easily because of watercooling.

This is driving me nuts!~ This is making me regret my switch to AMD.

Please, any help would be very nice



Edited: 12/20/2013 at 12:56 PM by OP20
 12/23/2013 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
seRiousLy
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/22/2013

Here is the same, i was using 13.9 and i didn't had that problem. Few days ago i saw the newest 13.12 drivers, after installation of the drivers Enable/Disable button for Crossfire disappeared.

 12/30/2013 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rap2chin
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/30/2013

1)  uninstall amd software.

2) shut down computer, and take both cards out. then do a quick boot and shutdown.

3) install one card, boot the computer install drivers after its done shut down the computer again.

4) install the second card and xfire bridge and start the computer.

after u install the second card you might have to reinstall drivers again.

this worked for the 13.12 drivers.

5) enjoy xfire

 12/30/2013 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

Originally posted by: rap2chin 1)  uninstall amd software.

 

2) shut down computer, and take both cards out. then do a quick boot and shutdown.

 

3) install one card, boot the computer install drivers after its done shut down the computer again.

 

4) install the second card and xfire bridge and start the computer.

 

after u install the second card you might have to reinstall drivers again.

 

this worked for the 13.12 drivers.

 

5) enjoy xfire

 

Ignore step 4 as there are no crossfire bridges on the R290/ R290X series. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 01/01/2014 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OP20
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/20/2013

I have a watercooling setup. Its very difficult to just pull one card out. There is not another solution?

 01/13/2014 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ArnoNymous
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/13/2014

Solution (Windows 7 x64 tested):

- Download the latest 13.12 normally

- Download DDU http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

- If you want to, make a backup / restore point of your system

- Start your computer in "Safe Mode"

- Run DDU and use the first option (clean & restart)

DDU will uninstall all AMD drivers (screen, chipset, ...?), delete some registry keys and folders related to AMD software/drivers. So you should download your chipset drivers (if they are from AMD), too. 

- Your computer will restart

- Install chipset drivers (only if AMD chipset)

- Install 13.12 package

- Wait 5 minutes

- Restart!

 

Now, you should see the options for crossfire again. :-)

 

Fixed my problems with lost crossfire options (3x 6900 series ). Now system runs with crossfire on 2 cards, but the 3rd card is disabled in CCC (i f*** hate AMD). But if you use only 2 cards, the fix should help you. If you have problems with other drivers, you can use "Slim Drivers" to scan for other drivers, too. It's a good and free tool (the only good free tool). 

Cheers from germany!

 

//Edit:

Ok, after 2 restarts... NO ***** crossfire options there... -.-

Sorry, but i am pissed... For YEARS there is NO 100% working driver.

AMD should NOT sell new cards every few weeks. No, they should release drivers that work! 



Edited: 01/13/2014 at 07:22 PM by ArnoNymous
Statistics
84128 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.