Topic Title: R9 290 crossfire BSOD
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/25/2013 07:18 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/25/2013 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alphaomega
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/25/2013

Hi,

I recently bought 2 R9 290 card and been using them in crossfire. Games starts fine and will run for 5-15 min then i will get bsod. It happens on every game I tried so far (crysis 3, BF4, anno 2070 etc) and happens only when i'm playing game and not on desktop. I am using the latest 13.12 official driver and tried both enable/disable ulps without and luck. I use afterburner to overclock each to 1000Mhz and nothing else but even if I leave them to default it still bsod. I'm mixing a saphire and a HIS reference card and wondering would that be the cause of the issue? Each individual card works fine if i disable crossfire and connect my monitors to that card. No crash even after very long gaming sessions. I water cool each card and they don't get very hot at all. I tried searching internet but can't find anything useful. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for your help.

PC spec:

CPU: i7-3930k level up to 4.25ghz

RAM: 16G

system: win 7 x64

driver: 13.12 official

triple monitor eyefinity setup (5760 by 1200)

 

Mike

 12/25/2013 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like insufficient power or overheating. What is your PSU's make and model?

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/25/2013 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alphaomega
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/25/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Sounds like insufficient power or overheating. What is your PSU's make and model?

I have silverstone ST1200 1200W power supply and an arctic accelero hubrid liquid/air combo cooler installed on each card. The GPU never got over 70C. The games will run smoothly for 5 min or so with gpu 100% before bsod.

 01/06/2014 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Raizer
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/26/2008

I have two R9 290x & a 3930k installed on an Asrock X79 Extreme9.  The system is connected to 3x 30" monitors - two Dell 3011s and one Dell 3007.  The system is powered by an 1100W Silverstone PSU.

When I enable crossfire, I get the same BSODs that you mention.  It will also sometimes just freeze completely without a BSOD, requiring a hard reset.  I am running the latest drivers that were released on Dec. 18th.

I do not believe it is a power or heat issue, because I do not need to be playing a game for the system to freeze.  It can happen just idling at the desktop with nothing running. The system is completely stable with crossfire disabled.  

I have read that there may be a compatibility problem with the R9 cards and crossfire on X58 & X79 boards.  

Apparently there was also a similar issue with some of the 7000 series cards that it took about a year to get fixed.

 01/07/2014 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justinflux1
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

I had this same problem with r9 290x in crossfire watercooled, 4960x, asus rampage formula x79 Mb.  Great temps no overclock and frequent lockups while gaming.  I tried another 1kw power supply, changed pcie slots etc.  I was finally able to narrow it down to one card that was unable to complete 3dmark firestrike combined test.  I tried running both cards separately several times each....one had no issues and the other would lockup every time.  Ill be rma'ing the bad card tomorrow and getting a replacement.  

 01/09/2014 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justinflux1
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

update:  I replaced the 2nd card.  All is working perfectly now!

 01/09/2014 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Great.  They are willing to RMA the 2nd card after you "water cooled" it??



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 01/10/2014 03:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

There are a few manufacturers that allow changing stock cooler without voiding warranty (XFX I think?).



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/10/2014 04:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
justinflux1
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/07/2014

You can install the stock cooler back on or do what I did and buy Powercolor LCS (ek waterblock preinstalled).  

Statistics
88860 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.