Topic Title: Crossfire Performance Dropped Significantly
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/28/2013 09:59 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/28/2013 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ajburr
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/03/2012

So I worked all day yesterday to get the whole Crossfire thing to work (2x Radeon HD 7790, using 3 monitors), and I tried it out on BF4, and I was very pleased.  I could put certain settings at Ultra, some at High, and some at Medium.  Today, however, I tried playing the same game, and even with all the settings on Low, I'm getting serious lag in the graphics.  My internet connection is more than fine, so it's not that.

I don't know what changed.  Any ideas?

 

EDIT:  Here's my specs...

Graphics Cards

Saphire Radeon HD 7790 2GB

ASUS Radeon HD 7790 1 GB



AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
It was suggested to me by someone at AMD that I roll back my driver to 13.4, which I did, but found that it made games unplayable.  I'm currently on 13.9.

Operating System
Windows 8.1 64-bit  


Issue Details
It's simply video lag.  When I used to play games on only my Saphire video card, I could get 60 fps on Meduim settings.  With both cards, even on Low I get lag.


Motherboard or System Make & Model
MSI 970A-G43

Power Supply

ePower power supply


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

(4) ACER Monitors.  Two connected with DVI, one in HDMI, and one in DisplayPort


Applications and Games

Mainly Battlefield 4.  That was the game to made it obvious to me that something wasn't working right.

CPU Details
AMD FX- Eight Core processor (no over-clocking)

Motherboard BIOS Version
1.0.123

System Memory Type & Amount
16 GB

Additional Hardware
64 GB SSD

 

Well, I hope that covers it.  Let me know if I missed something.



Edited: 12/30/2013 at 03:41 PM by ajburr
 12/28/2013 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Cookie Monster

Posts: 492
Joined: 09/11/2008

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=160419&enterthread=y



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 12/30/2013 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ajburr
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/03/2012

Sorry Earnhardt, but thanks for the link.  I tried to be as descriptive as possible in my edit.

 12/30/2013 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
deathcrush87
Grinding Levels

Posts: 170
Joined: 08/17/2013

have you disabled the ULPS?



-------------------------

AMD FX8350//Corsair vengeance DDR3 CL9 8GB@1600//Asus ROG Crosshair V Formula z//Asus R9 290X oc DCII//Corsair CX750//Razer Lycosa//Corsair M30//Zalman Z11 plus case//Kingston 120gb SSD//Yamaha Audiogram6//Windows 8.1 64bit//

 12/30/2013 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ajburr
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/03/2012

Yep, just now.  It seems like it made a marginal difference though.  At the very least I don't have to turn the graphics settings at their lowest.  Medium isn't so bad I guess.  But I honestly expected much more.

I'm still suspicious as to why the cards seemed to perform so well the first day, and suck so bad the next.

 12/31/2013 01:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Cookie Monster

Posts: 492
Joined: 09/11/2008

So exactly what power supply do you have?

And BF4 is the worst game to be basing it on considering all the patching there doing to it.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 12/31/2013 12:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Farming Materials

Posts: 554
Joined: 01/05/2013

With one card at 1Gb and one card at 2Gb, you have 1Gb = no benefit.



-------------------------

Non-noob components.

Statistics
81005 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.