Topic Title: Crossfired R9 280X beeping
Topic Summary: what am i doing wrong?
Created On: 01/10/2014 11:28 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2014 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the crazy canadian
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 12/02/2013

I just today crossfired 2 r9 280x's from XFX and went to boot up warframe to play a match or 2... within 5 minutes i got a beeping from my computer... i shut down my game realy fast and saw that my upper card was having 45% usage and 50 degrees celcius and my seccond GPU was sitting at 99% usage and 65 degrees on my GPU temp program... so i let them cool down and tried again... same thing happened... i went to file a support ticket to XFX about this and just loading the browser while having my teamspeak 2nd monitor on and skype open brought my GPU usage on my 2nd graphics card up to 99% and the temperature to 60 celcius... am i doing something wrong? or is this a defective card?... it only arrived today... the reason i bought it was XFX offers a lifetime warranty

I'm going to remove the 2nd card for now untill i get a reply from XFX support but i've posted here incase anyone else has helpfull tips on something i can try. the version of card i have is the TDBD ( black edition slightly factory overclocked on newegg.ca.) my case is teh CM storm trooper, motherboard is the ASUS crosshair V formula Z, 32 gigs ram
 and AMD  FX-9370 vishera cpu.

 01/10/2014 11:38 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is your power supply?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/10/2014 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the crazy canadian
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 12/02/2013

corsair 1200 watt gold edition

 01/11/2014 12:06 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

The temps are fine, as is the PSU. What is the beep pattern?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the crazy canadian
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 12/02/2013

starts off rapid beeping then goes into a steady beeeeeeeep

 01/11/2014 11:10 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12254
Joined: 04/17/2008

See what ASUS says, as it is the motherboard making the beeps.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/26/2014 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
the crazy canadian
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 12/02/2013

LOOOOL well i feel stupid.... my friend and i have spent close to a month trying to figure out what the problem was... finaly my friend took it to his house where he performed a bunch of tests... at his house he could not get it to beep even once... so he took it back to my place and plugged my computer in with the 2 XFX r9280's in Xfire... well soon as he boots up a game... beeep... so he goes looking for where the beeping is and its not coming from the case... he looked under the desk... MY FREAKING UPS IS BEEPING... my backup battery power bar thing for if the power goes out so i still have 5 mins to shut down my pc... turns out its only 450 watts... I didnt know this... it was a gift from my father years ago... my power supply was trying to draw 800 ish watts from a 450 watt UPS... derp a derp a derp derp derp ... NEWHO.... I've ordered a surge protector that has ample power and pluggs... heres to me being realy stupid eh?

Statistics
84329 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.