Topic Title: Recommend liquid cooling setup for 2 x R9 290s
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2014 07:21 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2014 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flash67
Peon

Hi guys, new to the forum and it seems like there's a lot of friendly help on here and I thought I would give it a try. I'm building a new rig and want to water cool just my 2 x R9 290s.. I'm new to water cooling and I was hoping someone could help recommend what exactly I need...

I understand I need waterblocks (2), pump, tubing, resevoir, fittings and rads.. I'm not quite sure which size rads I need and how the fittings work as well.

I was hoping someone with experience can basically layout exactly what I need in a full custom loop setup all the way to what type of case I should use as well..

Specs will be

AMD FX8350 x8 4.0ghz
16GB Gskill ddr3-2400
2 x ASUS R9290-4GD5
ASUS CrossHair V  Forumula-Z MOBO
1200 watt cooler master silent pro 80 gold
Samsung PRO 128GB SSD

I dont need to cool the CPU (air is fine)... just the GPUs...

Any help is appreciated and I look forward to seeing what ideas everyone has... THank you!

01/14/2014 02:38 AM

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Swiftech H220 would be my first choice. One or two 240mm rads or a 240 and a 120 would work, too.  You can use the stock fans or switch to the Cougar PWMs for less noise and more airflow.  Push/pull will give you more capability.  You can get a dual cooling bridge or attach the hoses to each card.  Be absolutely sure your cards are reference versions compatible with the waterblocks purchased!