Topic Title: 2x sapphire hd7850 missing crossfire, second card is "Disabled adapter"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2014 07:37 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2014 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

After one of CCC updating (I don't remember what version from, one of 13.11 betas) stopped working crossfire. Now I use latest beta CCC 14.1 and can't enable crossfire because crossfire option as you can see below is missing and second adapter is "disabled". Second adapter is actually working because I can use it on calculations like render, mining etc. So looks like this is software problem. Obvious question: how to "enable" my second adapter and how to enable crossfire?

 

 

Graphics Card
Sapphire hd7850 2Gb and Sapphire hd7850 1Gb

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
14.1 beta

Operating System
Win 8.1 64 bit, also tested on Win 7 64 bit

Issue Details
Missing crossfire option, "disabled" adapter

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Gigabyte GA-P67A-D3-B3 rev. 2.0

Power Supply

Corsair 850W

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

AOC d2367Ph, HDMI

CPU Details
i5-2400

Motherboard BIOS Version
UA6(UEFI BIOS)

System Memory Type & Amount
2x4Gb Corsair

Additional Hardware
SSD boot drive, WiFi PCI-e card



Edited: 02/02/2014 at 09:38 AM by robad
 02/02/2014 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NeeliXShIva
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/02/2014

Just bumping since im sitting in the same boat but with 7970s.

 02/03/2014 02:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suiken_2mieu
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/25/2010

 

I'm experiencing the same issue. I've installed the drivers several times and have gotten the same or similar results. Not sure what the issue is.

 

Initially: Installed 14.1 Over 13.11, Rebooted = No Xfire

Secondary: Uninstalled 14.1 with built in Unistaller, Rebooted, Installed 14.1, Restarted = No Xfire

Tertiary: Uninstalled 14.1 with "Display Driver Uninstaller", Rebooted, Installed 14.1 but got a blue screen during installation, rebooted, installed 14.1, rebooted = No Xfire

 

Graphics Card MSI 7970 Lightning 3GB and MSI 7970 Power Edition 3GB (Same Physical Card, Different BIOS)

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History 13.11 to 14.1 beta

Operating System Windows 7 x64 bit

Issue Details Missing crossfire option, "disabled" adapter

Motherboard or System Make & Model ASUS P8Z68-V LE

Power Supply Corsair TX750

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used 3 x Dell Ultrasharp 3007WFP-HC (connected with 3 x MiniDP to Dual-Link DVI Adapters) 1 x Dell 2709w (connected via MiniDP to DP Cable)

CPU Details i5-2500K

Motherboard BIOS Version  4101

System Memory Type & Amount (4x4GB) 16GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 MHz

Additional Hardware 3 x HDD's, Line 6 GX, Dell mouse and keyboard (Dell SK-8135 and Dell M-UVDEL1), Logitech Trackman, Optical Surround Sound from Motherboard, Blue Yeti USB Mic, Random Wireless Keyboard, PS3 Controller, Wired Xbox Controller, Generic Bluetooth Adapter



Edited: 02/27/2014 at 06:04 AM by Suiken_2mieu
 02/04/2014 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

I'm experiencing this also with my 2 Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 GHz. I can't get the CrossfireX option in either 14.1 or 13.12. I've tried installing it various ways on the same Windows 7, and then I tried the following to no effect:

 

-Reinstalling Win and installing 14.1 with both card in

-Reinstalling Win and installing 14.1 with one card in and then adding the other

-Reinstalling Win and installing 13.12 with both card in

-Reinstalling Win and installing 13.12 with one card in and then adding the other

-Reinstalling Win and installing 13.9 with both card in (CrossfireX option available) and upgrading to both 13.12 and 14.1

 

I ended up just running 13.9 and not I'm just hoping for a fix.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/05/2014 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

I sent an email to the amd support... week ago. No reply still. I will let you know when supporter contact me.

 02/06/2014 05:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rhettski
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/06/2014

Originally posted by: robad I sent an email to the amd support... week ago. No reply still. I will let you know when supporter contact me.

 

Crossfie HD6990's here with same problem. Catylist 13.9 the only one with crossfire controls, the rest above that have no crossfire???

Hope you get a response from your email but dont hold ya breath mate.Paid good money for my cards not log ago thinking I'd be ok for some years but it appears not.

Unhappy user from Downunder

 

 02/06/2014 11:01 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 825
Joined: 09/11/2008

first off:

Installing The AMD Catalyst Software Driver

Current driver MUST be uninstalled before updating to AMD Catalyst™ 14.1 Beta driver.

second:

Dont expect an answer directly from AMD,if you reported the issues,thats all you can do.

I also run crossfire,and it works fine on 13.12's and 14.1's.Not sure Why your's doesnt.

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/06/2014 01:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

I wrote to support - not to bug report. And I did this before with other question - supporter replied. So I guess need to wait more time for reply.

 02/07/2014 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suiken_2mieu
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/25/2010

Originally posted by: Earnhardt first off:

 

Installing The AMD Catalyst Software Driver

 

Current driver MUST be uninstalled before updating to AMD Catalyst™ 14.1 Beta driver.

 

second:

 

Dont expect an answer directly from AMD,if you reported the issues,thats all you can do.

 

I also run crossfire,and it works fine on 13.12's and 14.1's.Not sure Why your's doesnt.

 

 

 

I've done this, even followed AMD's instructions and still have this issue.

 02/08/2014 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
babaroga
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/15/2013

Sorry for my bad English.

 

The same problem here.
Last successful crossfire with Catalyst 13.11 (beta 8) ...
everything after produce "disabled second adapter".

 

Originally posted by: Earnhardt first off:

 

Installing The AMD Catalyst Software Driver

Current driver MUST be uninstalled before updating to AMD Catalyst™ 14.1 Beta driver.

Did you read the first post in this topic

 02/08/2014 05:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

 02/08/2014 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SubTract
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/08/2014

the 14.1 AVECC handles crossfire in a bit of a different way.

Crossfire by default in windows is disabled. When you launch a game that has a crossfire profile, Crossfire is switched on.

The Crossfire option seems to have been removed from AVECC.

If you want to have manual control over crossfire you do it through application profiles, Add the game, then select the game scroll down to the bottom the crossfire options and frame pacing options are only there now.

The only problem that seems to be there now, If there isn't a profile available for a certain title there are no crossfire options there at all. e.g. I've been playing Elders Scrolls online and I cannot enable crossfire at all. however with every other game I've tried the options have been there and it has worked... Good luck

ps. If you have something like MSI afterburner you can turn the OSD on that can show you which cards are doing what, Temperature, Frame rate... Etc..

Crossfire does actually appear to work with anything that has a crossfire profile.

 02/08/2014 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

What is AVECC? I tried to add games profiles (for example NFS Rivals, COD Ghosts - these games supports the crossfire) and when scroll down there is no crossfire options which I seen before in previous versions of drivers (13.11)

 02/08/2014 06:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SubTract
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/08/2014

Sorry they renamed it back to Catalyst control center didn't they.

It was called AMD vision engine control center for a while there.... And I only just got in the habbit of calling it AVECC...

If they're not there for you I'm not sure Because the options are there for me...

I took a screenshot but I can't upload to the forum so i CBF. But now you say it some of the games have the dropdown box but its empty i might try some of those games later.

 02/08/2014 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

Not sure about name, but looks like it is Catalyst Control Center. Ok, I will try again to play with game profiles but should mention that supporter said "this is known bug" about missing crossfire option when I talked with him before (2 or more months ago). So looks like AMD knows about this bug, but so much time left and still no fix. I didn't play games over 2 months because I like smooth gaming which I can't get without crossfire. When my videocards becomes too outdated I will buy one powerfull card instead of two. Didn't expect that there are such big problems with crossfire. Looks like crossfire is not priority for game developers and for drivers developers.

 02/09/2014 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rhettski
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/06/2014

Originally posted by: robad Not sure about name, but looks like it is Catalyst Control Center. Ok, I will try again to play with game profiles but should mention that supporter said "this is known bug" about missing crossfire option when I talked with him before (2 or more months ago). So looks like AMD knows about this bug, but so much time left and still no fix. I didn't play games over 2 months because I like smooth gaming which I can't get without crossfire. When my videocards becomes too outdated I will buy one powerfull card instead of two. Didn't expect that there are such big problems with crossfire. Looks like crossfire is not priority for game developers and for drivers developers.

 

Stickn with 13.9 till they work this ***** out. Only smooth respnse from my cards on this driver.

 02/09/2014 04:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

 

 

Stickn with 13.9 till they work this ***** out. Only smooth respnse from my cards on this driver.

 

 

Where can I download old drivers? I can't do that on amd.com

 02/09/2014 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
babaroga
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/15/2013

You can download any version from here:

http://www.guru3d.com/files_categories/videocards_ati_catalyst_vista_win_7.html

 

Try 13.11 beta-8 ... latest crossfire working - for me:

Driver Packaging Version: 13.25.18-131029a-164333E-ATI

(http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/amd_catalyst_13_11_beta7_%2813_250_18_october_25%29.html).

(address is correct, regardless of what is mentioned Ver.7)

Sorry for my bad English.

 02/10/2014 07:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rhettski
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/06/2014

Originally posted by: robad  

 

 

 

Stickn with 13.9 till they work this ***** out. Only smooth respnse from my cards on this driver.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Where can I download old drivers? I can't do that on amd.com

 

Were you able to get hold of the older drivers?

 02/11/2014 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

Ok guys, supporter replied. I will keep you up to date. Also supporter mentioned that AMD didn't know about this problem. Did you everybody try to send info directly to AMD using support form? Advice you to do that!

Statistics
84150 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 10 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.