Topic Title: 2x sapphire hd7850 missing crossfire, second card is "Disabled adapter"
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2014 07:37 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/12/2014 07:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tt
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/19/2014

Had similar issues with my 7950+7970 crossfire.

Could not get it to enabled with any driver newer than 13.9.

Unistalled according to instructions using DDU.

Finally I did manage after updating my motherboard BIOS.

Now using 14.1 beta.



-------------------------

ASUS P8Z77-V LE, Intel core i5-3570K 3.4GHz, Antec Kühler H20 620, 4x G.Skill Ripjaws Gaming 4Gb DDR3 2133 MHz, Sapphire HD 7950 OC 900MHz 3Gb, XFX HD 7970 Double D 925MHz 3Gb, Fractal Design Arc, Cooler Master Real Power M1000
Windows 7 x64 

 02/14/2014 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

Guys please send email to amd about your problem usinghttp://emailcustomercare.amd.com/ 

 

Supporter replied that AMD started to work on fix and probably next beta will have the fix

 02/14/2014 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

Originally posted by: robad

Guys please send email to amd about your problem usinghttp://emailcustomercare.amd.com/ 

 

I've tried this a couple of times and haven't received any answer yet.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/14/2014 07:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

Well I waited about 2 weeks for reply and they replied. Anyways now I guess they informed about the problem and working on fix

 02/14/2014 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
catright
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2014

i'm also experiencing this issue.

i tried driver versions 12.8 12.10 12.11 13.5 13.9 13.12 and i downgrade my windows version from 8 to 7.

my mainboard supports crossfireX but i tried to use xfire bridge also.

but nothings change. secondary card has disabled and i don't see xfire option forever.

i've send 'email customer care' today. and subscribed this topic. anybody dealt with the problem, please notify here.

 02/14/2014 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

Originally posted by: catright

i'm also experiencing this issue.

 

i tried driver versions 12.8 12.10 12.11 13.5 13.9 13.12 and i downgrade my windows version from 8 to 7.

 

my mainboard supports crossfireX but i tried to use xfire bridge also.

 

but nothings change. secondary card has disabled and i don't see xfire option forever.

 

i've send 'email customer care' today. and subscribed this topic. anybody dealt with the problem, please notify here.

 

 

This sounds like something different (from my problem anyway).

Have you tried

-uninstalling the drivers completely (using 3rd party driver removal software)

-then inserting only one of the cards in the computer

-then install 13.11 or earlier

-when this is working then install the last card and see if CrossfireX works.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/14/2014 11:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
catright
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2014

Originally posted by: LeeMania   

-uninstalling the drivers completely (using 3rd party driver removal software)

-then inserting only one of the cards in the computer

-then install 13.11 or earlier

-when this is working then install the last card and see if CrossfireX works.

-uninstalling the drivers completely (using 3rd party driver removal software)

: of course. i used amd official uninstaller and 'driver sweeper'(i think you mean this)

 

-then inserting only one of the cards in the computer

: yes i did

 

-then install 13.11 or earlier

: ok. i try it again today. when finished, i'll report.

 

-when this is working then install the last card and see if CrossfireX works.

: but before, i didn't see any option related to xfire. anyway i'll try once more.

 02/15/2014 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
catright
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/14/2014

ok. i reinstalled 13.11 version of ccc.

just same as before.

secondary card is disabled and there's no xfire option.

i perfectly followed LeeMania's instruction. but nothing's changed.

is there anything i can do?

 02/15/2014 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Sunnie
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/15/2014

Hello, I am new to this forum and really don't know where to post my Crossfire question.

On my new build, I am running two HD7750 in crossfire mode. What I am curious about and why the cooling fan on the second card stops when I have them in crossfire mode, but starts back up when I disable crossfire mode. Is this normal? GPUZ is reporting they are in crossfire when I have it enabled. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

 02/16/2014 05:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

Originally posted by: Sunnie

Hello, I am new to this forum and really don't know where to post my Crossfire question.

 

On my new build, I am running two HD7750 in crossfire mode. What I am curious about and why the cooling fan on the second card stops when I have them in crossfire mode, but starts back up when I disable crossfire mode. Is this normal? GPUZ is reporting they are in crossfire when I have it enabled. Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thank you.

 

First off this has nothing to do with what we are reporting in this thread, but to answer the question it is properbly the AMD ZeroCore (I think it's called) option. This turns off the second GPU when its not needed to save power and (as far as I know) can only be turned on in the registry.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/19/2014 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

I just received a reply from AMD where they try push the blame over to the manufactorer of my cards and suggests that I should try to do a clean install (I had already told them I did that), and if that didn't work I should stay with 13.9. It seems like they don't care about the problem and just reply in some standard form. I'm beginning to contemplate a change to Nvidia instead since AMD has no intention of actually doing any support (I've experienced in a few other situations).



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/25/2014 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

I just installed the latest beta release (release today) and I've got CrossfireX back. It's the 14.2 version



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 02/27/2014 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suiken_2mieu
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/25/2010

Originally posted by: LeeMania I just installed the latest beta release (release today) and I've got CrossfireX back. It's the 14.2 version

 

EDIT: Curious, is anyone using 2 bridges like I am? Also I have tried putting on a monitor on the second card. It will enable the monitor, but no option for xfire exist.

 

EDIT 2: Just updated to my latest bios and reinstalled. Still no xfire. I really want frame pacing for my eyefinity setup :P

I just installed 14.2 and no such option exist for me.



Edited: 02/27/2014 at 05:55 AM by Suiken_2mieu
 02/28/2014 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
noamkasten
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/28/2014

HI all i had the same problem with radeon HD 7990 ,I just update all the MotherBoard things and ran CCC as administator and the crossfireX option came back to the Control center,good luck.

 02/28/2014 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robad
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 02/02/2014

Guys what about 14.2 beta? Did update help to resolve missing crossfire option problem?

 02/28/2014 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LeeMania
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/04/2014

Worked for me. I uninstalled catalyst using the uninstall option in the installer and then installed 14.2. And I now have CF and Mantle working without a problem.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD FX-8120 @ 4GHz
MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooling: Corsair H100i w/ 2 AC F12
RAM: Corsair Vengeance CL9 1600 MHz (8GB)
GPU: 2xSapphire Vapor-X 7970 GHz in CF
SSD/HDD: Samsung EVO 240 (250GB), Seagate Baracuda (1TB)
PSU: XFX PRO 750W XXX
Tower: Enermax iVektor

 03/13/2014 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suiken_2mieu
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/25/2010

Hey guys, I went through the whole support system and they say this is a fairly common problem. They said if you're having this issue fill out this survey: http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D25AD12B1A

It's for data collection to see if they can pin point the issue.

 03/13/2014 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Rhettski
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/06/2014

Originally posted by: robad Guys what about 14.2 beta? Did update help to resolve missing crossfire option problem?

 

No.

 03/19/2014 03:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suiken_2mieu
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 09/25/2010

14.3 V1.0 is out, did anyone try this yet?

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/latest-catalyst-windows-beta.aspx

 03/23/2014 02:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gluesticky
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/17/2014

I have a 5970 and tried the 14.3 V1.0 driver. Second GPU is showing as Disabled adapter, GPU Z also shows crossfire disabled.

Statistics
85380 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.