Topic Title: System will only boot with one 6950, not two, after windows/catalyst reinstall
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/21/2014 12:00 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/21/2014 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixp
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

I recently upgraded my hard drive, reinstalling windows at the same time.  Previously, I had a pair of 6950s in crossfire that worked great.

- Installed Win7 x64 onto new HD - everything fine (two cards installed)

- Installed Catalyst - Windows refuses to load

- Removed second 6950 and crossfire bridge - system works fine again (with Catalyst this time)

- Attempted to reinstall second 6950 - windows refuses to load again

I know both cards are good since they were working this afternoon before I reinstalled everything.  Help?

 02/22/2014 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=160419&enterthread=y

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/22/2014 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixp
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

Graphics Card
- 2x XFX Radeon HD 6950 2GB (model: HD695ACNFC)

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Version 13.12, fresh install

Operating System
- Windows 7 Ultimate x64, fresh install

Issue Details
- see above

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3

Power Supply
- Silverstone 750W modular power supply (model: ST75F-P)

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Dell U3011 30" monitor (2560x1600), connected via DVI (dual-link)

Applications and Games

- n/a

CPU Details
- Intel Core i2700k

Motherboard BIOS Version
- 0301

System Memory Type & Amount
- 16GB (4x4GB), G.Skill Sniper DDR3-1600

Additional Hardware
- 1x Crucial M500 480GB SSD (new system drive)

- 1x Seagate Barracuda 3TB HDD (storage drive)

- Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional Sound Card (PCIe x1)

- D-Link DWA-552 WiFi adapter (PCI)


Additional Details
- Fresh install, MS Security Essentials ran clean

- Both cards worked in Crossfire setup prior to OS reinstall so most likely not a hardware fault

 02/22/2014 09:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

One thing i would try:

1-remove all AMD drivers,CCC,etc..through add/remove in control panel

2-shut down

3-install only 1 6950,restart

4-install the drivers again,shut down

5-install 2nd card,bridge and power,restart

see if its working now.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/22/2014 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixp
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

Already tried this, didn't work unfortunately.

 02/22/2014 11:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

Have you tried each card seperatly just to verify they are both working ok now?

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 02/24/2014 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
felixp
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/20/2014

Tried this, confirm both cards work fine individually.

 02/25/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

Not sure what else to tell you,I have had pretty much 0 issues over the years running crossfire.

Before my 7950's i did have 6950's and never had this issue.If I find anything I'll let ya know.

good luck.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

Statistics
84981 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.