Topic Title: Why does AMD keep lying to us?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/05/2014 02:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/05/2014 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Release notes for 14.3:

Thief:  Crossfire Profile update and performance improvements for single GPU configurations.

 

Why does AMD continue to post misleading Crossfire updates for games? Why do they keep releasing bandaid drivers? With COD Ghost they stated that the crossfire issue was fixed and all they did was disable the 2nd card. Now with Thief they did the same thing! What is going on?

Crossfire disabled:  Min FPS 30    Max FPS 57  Average FPS 43

Crossfire enabled: Min FPS 26   Max FPS 55  Average FPS 41

GPU Utilization card 1 : 48% Average

GPU Utilization card 2 : 6% Average

 

 

The game acually runs worse with crossfire enabled!

This is my last Crossfire system. AMD support is horrible! Is anyone else getting the same results with the new driver? I do hope someone from AMD reads this.

FX8350 @ 4.7

2 x HD7950's

8gb ram

 

AMD please give us an answer!



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w



Edited: 03/05/2014 at 03:16 PM by ashton4life
 03/05/2014 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daniema054
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/03/2014

Originally posted by: ashton4life Release notes for 14.3:

 

Thief:  Crossfire Profile update and performance improvements for single GPU configurations.

 

 

 

Why does AMD continue to post misleading Crossfire updates for games? Why do they keep releasing bandaid drivers? With COD Ghost they stated that the crossfire issue was fixed and all they did was disable the 2nd card. Now with Thief they did the same thing! What is going on?

 

Crossfire disabled:  Min FPS 30    Max FPS 57  Average FPS 43

 

Crossfire enabled: Min FPS 26   Max FPS 55  Average FPS 41

 

GPU Utilization card 1 : 48% Average

 

 

GPU Utilization card 2 : 6% Average

 

 

 

 

 

The game acually runs worse with crossfire enabled!

 

This is my last Crossfire system. AMD support is horrible! Is anyone else getting the same results with the new driver? I do hope someone from AMD reads this.

 

FX8350 @ 4.7

 

2 x HD7950's

 

8gb ram

 

 

 

AMD please give us an answer!

 

i have the exact problem as you have. i got hd 6870 cf , and get lower fps than single card in BF4 and COD gohsts. to have the same problem in other games? 

 03/05/2014 05:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

daniema054, BF4 doesnt give me that problem. I do get significant FPS increase with crossfire.

 

For me its been with COD Ghost and Thief.

 

I gaurentee you that AMD will just pass the blame on to the game maker like they always do. I ask this, why does AMD put the game on their website then? Why do they use the games to market their products? If they are going to do that then they need to make sure their hardworks properly with the games they are promoting! Dont you think? WAKE UP AMD!!!



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/06/2014 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Even though it is extremely difficult...be patient. 

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/06/2014 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Even though it is extremely difficult...be patient.

i think he's right...

Cod Ghosts: if you want Crossfire to work a bit (never perfect) you have to use another profile (iw5sp_Singleplayer.exe) from COD Modern Warfare

AC4 Black Flag again here, you have to overwrite the default profile and choose a "AFR compatible" otherwise it's worse than single GPU, but even with that is clear that is not optimized...so sometimes you will have abnormal frame drops.

Thief here no solution ATM, CF is definitely worse than single GPU for min and avg fps... it doesn't work at all. Don't know if patch or Mantle will solve this issue.

it means that they didn't work well on these DX profiles...and this weird situation must change soon, otherwise they force users to buy a single GPU only...

ashton4life, you're completely right... all of you try to complain otherwise we will not get anything

 

 

 



Edited: 03/06/2014 at 07:56 AM by 7stars
 03/06/2014 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 926
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: ashton4life daniema054, BF4 doesnt give me that problem. I do get significant FPS increase with crossfire.

 

 

 

For me its been with COD Ghost and Thief.

 

 

 

I gaurentee you that AMD will just pass the blame on to the game maker like they always do. I ask this, why does AMD put the game on their website then? Why do they use the games to market their products? If they are going to do that then they need to make sure their hardworks properly with the games they are promoting! Dont you think? WAKE UP AMD!!!

 

They'll be done when there done!And god forbid it could ever be a game developers issue,I mean there games are always perfect!

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 03/06/2014 10:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: Earnhardt  

 

They'll be done when there done!And god forbid it could ever be a game developers issue,I mean there games are always perfect!

lol they're already done into catalyst that's the problem...

done but done wrong... lol

 03/06/2014 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Even though it is extremely difficult...be patient. 

 

 

 

 

I am the most patient person in the world. I have no problem waiting for a game to be released, but it needs to be released working properly. What makes me upset is the fact that we have to wait twice or longer depending on if the next game update or driver solves the problem that should have been addressed before the game was released. Patience is not the issue its the blatent marketing and release of a game that does not support the hardware that makes me upset. This seems to be a trend now. I understand there will be bugs and fixes that need to be addressed on the future updates but hardware compatability should be addressed before release. I know they can do it because they always warn us about compatability issues on the Release Notes for every driver.

Lately we are seeing this more and more. Beta drivers are what they call it. You even see it on game updates in their notes.

Dont tell us what is not fixed yet, JUST FIX IT then release it! I am patient but hate to be played like a puppet!

 

My 2 cents!

 

 The best thing to do is wait 2-3 months after the game is released and then buy it. There are two benifits. One is the game hopefully is fully functional with our hardware , and two the game will be on sale by then.



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/06/2014 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 366
Joined: 10/14/2011

I'm still playing the older titles that were finally fixed.

When I'm finished them the ones released now will be working as advertised.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 133/Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Pro


GA-P67A-UD7-B3 /i7- 2600k , CM V6GT
8 gig G-Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 /Asus GTX680 DC2T2GD5
Corsair AX 760i /Logitech Z-5500
Win 7 x64 Ultimate(SP1), Antec DF-85 case.

 03/06/2014 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

Which is what the smart people do. Why some (or many, actually) people have not learned in the past couple of decades that new software, and hardware which takes software to run correctly such as graphics cards, will be buggy at release is beyond me. It's one think if you actually know that it will be buggy and not perform as good as it can, but it's the people that do run out and buy it then complain and whine and moan about it not being perfect...Those people just need to go buy an Apple.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/06/2014 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Which is what the smart people do. Why some (or many, actually) people have not learned in the past couple of decades that new software, and hardware which takes software to run correctly such as graphics cards, will be buggy at release is beyond me. It's one think if you actually know that it will be buggy and not perform as good as it can, but it's the people that do run out and buy it then complain and whine and moan about it not being perfect...Those people just need to go buy an Apple.

an Apple to play games? i don't think so

anyway, now come to the point:

the real issue is not a game status at day one or understanding a bug... the problem is if you say that something works and it doesn't work..and above all if then you won't work on it again... easy to understand?

why i have to tolerate a situation where many games which have a crossfire profile don't work in a decent way or don't work at all?

sponsor or not sponsor, i'm not interested into this... i'm a gamer, i have to buy whatever game title i want...

if D3D is a big problem about multigpu profiles, hope that Mantle or something like that could solve this ... but it's too early to know 'cause even Mantle ATM has issues with multigpu...

so, is it something that can be solved once for all or henceforth can we abandon the multigpu setup? what's your opinion about this?

p.s.: I really smile when someone writes such a guide on the internet and states something like: "Issues with Crossfire/SLI? try to disable it..." hahahahahah pardon, I would say to him: "You're great, you did a big discovery, like the Americas by Cristoforo Colombo in 1492!" hahahahahaha you know what i mean...



Edited: 03/06/2014 at 06:33 PM by 7stars
 03/06/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

Well you could do the smart thing and just get a single card which has the power to do whatever you want with it and not even bother with Crossfire.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/06/2014 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Well you could do the smart thing and just get a single card which has the power to do whatever you want with it and not even bother with Crossfire.

sure, smart thing but maybe not enough...

Why? Since always been AMD owner ( old ATI! ) now expect (and pretend) them to do the work as they advertise... will wait for the Mantle&Dx12 evolution and then i will choose depending on whether they will fix once for all or won't...

at that point single or multi GPU won't matter...but if they don't fix, i will buy Nvidia for the first time in my life, I promise

 03/06/2014 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've used Radeon since the 9600XT days, and have only had 2 problems: "shiny water" bug on NWN 1, which is the fault of Bioware, and the entire 11.x series of drivers did not work correctly for me with my 5970, but 10.10e worked perfectly until 12.1.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 03/06/2014 at 08:15 PM by black_zion
 03/06/2014 08:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
7stars
Peon

Posts: 35
Joined: 04/18/2013

ok, but ashton4life wrote a post about crossfire, essentially... 

I've just listed some games, then some worked and many never...

e.g. the last Thief ("AMD Gaming evolved") IMO is a powerful mistake... you can't say that there's a working CF profile and then the performance is worse than single GPU...'cause it means teasing your customers. If you didn't have the time to get it right...better if you say that it's not available yet...if there's an issue with Eidos devs, talk to them and solve... then release it...easy

Furthermore, if you release it this way... i can even think that you won't work on it again and leave it as is, 'cause this also happened with other games before...Cod Ghosts and AC4 are just two examples.

Really hope they change point of view...and will be more honest with their customers. A CF profile which doesn't work is just pointless.

 

 03/06/2014 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: 7stars ok, but ashton4life wrote a post about crossfire, essentially... 

 

I've just listed some games, then some worked and many never...

 

e.g. the last Thief ("AMD Gaming evolved") IMO is a powerful mistake... you can't say that there's a working CF profile and then the performance is worse than single GPU...'cause it means teasing your customers. If you didn't have the time to get it right...better if you say that it's not available yet...if there's an issue with Eidos devs, talk to them and solve... then release it...easy

 

Furthermore, if you release it this way... i can even think that you won't work on it again and leave it as is, 'cause this also happened with other games before...Cod Ghosts and AC4 are just two examples.

 

Really hope they change point of view...and will be more honest with their customers. A CF profile which doesn't work is just pointless.

 

 

 

Your are 100% correct! Its exactly what I am talking about. I really believe that the majority of the crossfire problems come from the new games being ported from consoles. It seems like they dont want to invest the time and money to prepare them for crossfire at release for PC. I just dont understand why they dont fix it right away like they used to do.

Please dont tell me that this has always been this way because it hasn't, not with new high demand promoted games like COD and BF. BF4 had Crossfire support from day 1 and so did COD Black ops as well. If this keeps happening I'm going to just sell both my AMD cards and buy one high end Nvidia.

 

 

 



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/06/2014 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just because a game is new and well hyped does not mean it is a well coded game. BF4, for example, was so sloppy EA and DICE had to pull programmers off other tasks just to fix it.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/06/2014 11:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion Just because a game is new and well hyped does not mean it is a well coded game. BF4, for example, was so sloppy EA and DICE had to pull programmers off other tasks just to fix it.

 

I know games get patched for game related issues but I am talking about hardware support. I was simply explaining that when a poplular game release is ported to PC from console it seems to lack Crossfire support. This seems to be a trend by the developers now days. I believe since the console release date is more important then the PC release they never really have it fully ported to support all PC hardware optimally. I also notice that they are optimizing the latest hardware before the older. We all know why they do that right? Again this is just what I have noticed and it is my view of it.

 

BTW Battlefield 4 had Crossfire optimized by the second day after the PC release. Even with all the updates and fixes Crossfire always worked except for one update that caused problems and that was fixed within 2 weeks.

 

So why doesnt COD Ghost support Crossfire yet after over 4 months? Why did Thief get released with out it? Who knows what other games are in the same position.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w



Edited: 03/07/2014 at 12:09 AM by ashton4life
 03/07/2014 09:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12918
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because CoD Ghosts is a console port and requires a WEAK, as far as desktops go, graphics card, recommending a GTX 760. You should not need Crossfire to achieve 60FPS.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/07/2014 12:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

No one is "...100% correct".

No one is "patient" if they are impatient.

How many Operating Systems are there?

Different CPUs?

Motherboards?

BIOS?

RAM types, speeds, timings?

GPUs; older and newer?

Drivers?

Monitors; resolutions and refresh rates

Games and game settings, SP and MP servers

etc.,etc.

Expecting a game, hardware or a driver to work flawlessly for everyone is delusional.  Ask your local computer repair guy.

 

 

 



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
87668 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.