Topic Title: Why does AMD keep lying to us?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/05/2014 02:33 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/07/2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

Just because we want to use crossfire/SLI,doesn't mean All games will need it or are even coded for it.

If someone wants to buy 2 low end cards for crossfire,thats up to them,but its pointless.You should always use 1 high end card instead of 2 low end cards,It's just common sense.I always buy 2 high end cards for crosssfire.If I can use them I will,if not,I disable one and carry on.

There are posts on here from people that complain crossfire doesnt work on there games.but when you check the games "recommended system requirements" for that game,One of there GPU's are more than enough for it,so why even worry.

Even with COD ghosts"recommended system requirements".With a single 7950/GTX760 you should be able to play on the highest settings.So crossfire is really not needed.No different than BF4,I can still play on Ultra with a single 7950.

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 03/07/2014 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong No one is "...100% correct".

 

No one is "patient" if they are impatient.

 

How many Operating Systems are there?

 

Different CPUs?

 

Motherboards?

 

BIOS?

 

RAM types, speeds, timings?

 

GPUs; older and newer?

 

Drivers?

 

Monitors; resolutions and refresh rates

 

Games and game settings, SP and MP servers

 

etc.,etc.

 

Expecting a game, hardware or a driver to work flawlessly for everyone is delusional.  Ask your local computer repair guy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You are correct on what you are saying, but the issue of Crossfire support is not based on all af the components you listed rather it is focuses on the graphic card, OS and software. Crossfire either works or it doesnt. It can still have software problems but the 2nd card needs to show untilization. This is what I am focusing my point on. Why market a game and hardware and then prematurely release it unoptimized and or fully functional, this is what AMD has been doing.

 

BTW why are you looking for excuses to cover AMD's lack of product quality? You talk as if we should expect a bad quality product and wait and hope it gets fixed at what ever time it takes for AMD/Developers to get it fixed. All this AFTER we paid our hard earned cash!



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/07/2014 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: Earnhardt Just because we want to use crossfire/SLI,doesn't mean All games will need it or are even coded for it.

 

If someone wants to buy 2 low end cards for crossfire,thats up to them,but its pointless.You should always use 1 high end card instead of 2 low end cards,It's just common sense.I always buy 2 high end cards for crosssfire.If I can use them I will,if not,I disable one and carry on.

 

There are posts on here from people that complain crossfire doesnt work on there games.but when you check the games "recommended system requirements" for that game,One of there GPU's are more than enough for it,so why even worry.

 

Even with COD ghosts"recommended system requirements".With a single 7950/GTX760 you should be able to play on the highest settings.So crossfire is really not needed.No different than BF4,I can still play on Ultra with a single 7950.

 

 

 

I know all that! Your reply is like saying why put a V8 engine in a 4 cylinder car. Sure it still runs and gets you from A to B. Come on man. I build a high end system to get better FPS not to just make it work. Have you ever heard of a 120hz monitor? It means I can run my game at 120FPS solid. If you are happy with one card at 60FPS then more power to you. I demand that my hardware and software work together as best as possible. I dont like to disable one card...period. If AMD promotes software then their hardware should be fully supported and that includes Crossfire. Dont give them excuses for lacking quality. I understand not all games will support it.

 

You have Crossfire, I would think you would feel the same!



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/07/2014 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just because you have a so called 120hz monitor doesn't mean it is actually 120hz. Many 120hz and higher displays are simple 60hz displays which use frame interpolation or doubling trickery to give the perception of extra smoothness.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/07/2014 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 879
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: black_zion Just because you have a so called 120hz monitor doesn't mean it is actually 120hz. Many 120hz and higher displays are simple 60hz displays which use frame interpolation or doubling trickery to give the perception of extra smoothness.

Give up it bud,He has no concept of it.He has his mind made up and thats all he see's.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 03/07/2014 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion Just because you have a so called 120hz monitor doesn't mean it is actually 120hz. Many 120hz and higher displays are simple 60hz displays which use frame interpolation or doubling trickery to give the perception of extra smoothness.

 

you have no idea what you are talking about! Maybe you should do some research before commenting. Check out this website, it will hopefully help you understand why a higher hz monitor is better for a high FPS game/video output.

 



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/07/2014 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: Earnhardt
Originally posted by: black_zion Just because you have a so called 120hz monitor doesn't mean it is actually 120hz. Many 120hz and higher displays are simple 60hz displays which use frame interpolation or doubling trickery to give the perception of extra smoothness.

 

Give up it bud,He has no concept of it.He has his mind made up and thats all he see's.

 

Who has no concept of what? what are you trying to say? If your happy disabling your crossfire then good for you. I prefer to play at a higher Frame Rate and you dont care, that is the difference. If you ever get a 120hz monitor you will understand. Stick with your 60hz then and be happy as you are. Good!



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

 03/07/2014 11:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

assclown4life, Not "covering" for anyone.  Told you had experienced initial problems with Crossfire and then they sorted themselves out.  Don't really care why... results are spectacular!  If you play with drivers, expect a little dissappointment and be prepared to do a little tinkering with your system.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/07/2014 11:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Oh...oops..."ashton4life".



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/07/2014 11:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong assclown4life, Not "covering" for anyone.  Told you had experienced initial problems with Crossfire and then they sorted themselves out.  Don't really care why... results are spectacular!  If you play with drivers, expect a little dissappointment and be prepared to do a little tinkering with your system.

 

Go back under your rock Troll! Your comments mean nothing and help nothing! Making fun of my screen name is pretty lame dude! What are you 14 years old?

Tinker with what settings? In Thief the 2nd card is not functional at all dude! 

But as everyone is used to, we have to wait and see what happens. Hopefully it wont be like COD Ghost, it still doesnt support Crossfire.

Please dont yap the same stuff about "get 1 powerful card" or "I wouldnt use Crossfire" and "Be patient"

Comment something useful or dont comment at all. Thx

 

 



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w



Edited: 03/08/2014 at 12:09 AM by ashton4life
 03/08/2014 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Let me know when you figure out how to do computer stuff.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 03/08/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashton4life
Buffed

Posts: 87
Joined: 08/18/2010

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong Let me know when you figure out how to do computer stuff.

 

What a reply! Is that what you call it? Computer stuff? o0! Come on troll be serious! Pssssssss!! lol

Enjoy your life, that is when you get it.



-------------------------

Corsair 600T Modded Case


AMD FX-8350 @ 4.9 ghz
Corsair H100I


Asus Crosshair IV Formula


2 x Sapphire HD7950 (Stock speeds)
2 x 4Gb = 8Gb Corsair Vengeance
2 x 120Gb G.Skills SSD Raid 0
1 x WD 1tb
Enermax Revolution +85 1050w

Statistics
84905 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.