Topic Title: SOLVED: Radeon 5870 Trifire overheat (NOT THE MIDDLE CARD)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/11/2014 12:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/11/2014 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkfall13
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/27/2012

So I've been adding cards to my rig started with 1 Radon 5870 with a Zalman VF3000 cooler, great temps and everything. Add second card, stock Batmobile cooler, it goes into the 3rd pci-e slot due to my board's layout to keep them both at x16. Been going months just fine. Now add a 3rd card, and due to my case limitations the card arrangement must be starting from CPU working away, 1 stock cooler 5870, 2nd stock cooler 5870, 5870 w/ VF3000 (since it occupies more than 2 spaces). But now for whatever reason, the VF3000 card is registering overheat (+95C), this isn't the middle card as I said, it actually has the most airflow since it's on the bottom. Only thing I could think of is maybe the exposed rear side of the card has something to do with the increased temp, but even then the GPU portion of the backplate is exposed anyway...

I've tried reapplying TIM and I'm actually running just the 5870 w/ VF3000 right now to type this and temperatures are fine like they have always been...


SOLUTION: FYI for any future troubleshooters, the problem turned out to be the way the Zalman VF3000 mounts, the thumbnuts on the back protrude just enough to allow the card above it to push down on the screws, unseating the heatsink. I was originally going to try to find some very small nuts to replace them, but opted for a much more utilitarian route of breaking off the plastic housing from the thumbnuts, just enough clearance.



Edited: 03/18/2014 at 09:44 PM by darkfall13
 03/11/2014 03:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

System specs? Could be a power issue. Whatever software you are using could be reading it wrong? Try a different one.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 03/11/2014 05:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkfall13
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/27/2012

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE
Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70
RAM: 12GB Mixed G.Skill & OCZ
PSU: ABS Tagan BZ1100

Temp reading from MSI Afterburner & GPU-Z

How could I go about determining if it's a power issue?

 03/11/2014 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkfall13
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/27/2012

Update:

So I took off the fans for the VF cooled card to get it back to double slot sized and moved it to center position, and then to top position, it actually overheats just as fast in the center as it does in the bottom, in the top it does overheat due to no fans, but it does take it some time at 100% utilization.

In addition to that I swapped around power, hooking each of the A B C pci-e power cords to each of the cards and didn't get anything out of the norm (besides the current overheat problem and still on the same card).

Last idea I have is to put a heatshield of sorts on the back of the card and see what happens.

 03/11/2014 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12453
Joined: 04/17/2008

If I were you, I would sell all 3 cards and buy a single R9 290. Less heat, noise, and performance will not be dependent upon Crossfire scaling.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/14/2014 01:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
darkfall13
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/27/2012

I found a way to find out if it's a power issue... you get shocked from the case. Barring that maybe from now on check with a volt-meter before ever touching my computer again.

Statistics
85318 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.