Topic Title: HD 6950 flickering after some minutes in every Fullscreen game
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/22/2014 06:40 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/22/2014 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Majataka
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2014

Hey

I've been experiencing a big problem for the past months.
I've had my 6950's since late 2011 and been running the Crossfire mode on most games and it worked pretty well and improved the performance. 

In Q4 of 2012 till Q2 of 2012 I had bluescreen problems when running on Crossfire (Atimpag caused). I fixed it by doing a clean reinstall by following many steps I found on some other froums. 

Early in Q3 I reinstalled Windows 7 and had a fresh start after deleting everything from the HDD and replacing the SSD with a new one. 

In Q3 of 2013 I started to experience flickering problems in every game while having CFX enabled. 

So for the past months my other 6950 has been useless and disabled due to this problem. 

Here is a video showing you my problem, watch both clips of the video. 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9igBTnHMJhM


-I have always installed the latest beta drivers. Currently on 14.3

-I have tried running it with Frame Pacing disabled

-Never overclocked

-Disabling OverDrive didn't help

-Reinstalling didn't help

-VSync doesn't matter

-Doesn't happen in Windowed mode as it then runs on single GPU

-The flickering varies  with image spacing between 2pixels up to somewhere around 1000 pixels sideways.

-Starts to flicker after between 3-15 minutes when playing

-Disablig and enabling OR changing the screen resolution down and back up solves the problem temporary, but starts to flicker again after 3-15 minutes. 

-Replacing the bridge with a new one didn't help

-Both GPU's are dust-free/clean


So please guys, help me out with this one.  


Thanks

-Maja 



Edited: 03/22/2014 at 06:55 PM by Majataka
 03/25/2014 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Majataka
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2014

Damn, 81 views and not a single answer.

I expected more help from AMD's Community and Experts 

Sad to not have what you paid for 

 04/07/2014 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Majataka
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/22/2014

Come on guys

I've seen people with simillar problems. 340 views and no one knows a solution... I expected more backup from you guys... I guess I can just give it up and reinstall entire Windows again.

Thanks again guys 

 04/07/2014 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Read TFM for your motherboard.  Look at ALL your info in BIOS.

Swap cards in your PCI-e slots.  Does your mobo have an auxiliary power connection for CrossfireX?

ULPS?

More power in Catalyst?  Manual adjustment of fan speeds? Core clocks and memory clocks manually adjusted?

CrossfireX not required nor beneficial on many games.

You have not posted your system specs so have no idea if you updated your BIOS on your mystery motherboard.

Swap the "other" bridge that you have.

ALLTemperatures?

Case airflow configuration?

Cpu? Temps? Cooling method?

Power supply?

"Dust free and clean"?  Have you ever cleaned EVERY surface and fanblade in your PC?

Do not reinstall Windows unless your system is completely locked up!



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.



Edited: 04/07/2014 at 02:40 PM by UcouldBrong
 04/07/2014 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7487
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Majataka Damn, 81 views and not a single answer. I expected more help from AMD's Community and Experts  Sad to not have what you paid for 

Hey...about your problem. No one owes you a response. If you don't get a response, it means no one else has the issue. So...it sounds like the problem could be PICNIC. That's my bet.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 04/07/2014 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Heh...heh...heh...was going to add "Now YOU come on, Majataka!" but, got all "PC".



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

Statistics
87659 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.