Topic Title: Crossfire 7950 Freeze
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/01/2014 12:21 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/01/2014 12:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello,

I have two Radeon HD 7950 3GB (MSI) in Crossfire.
Last year, when my cards are in Crossfire, I can not launch any games.
If I start a game, I crash (Freeze)! I am forced to restart the PC.
He also tries to repair Windows.

I have the right to a black screen when I tried to cut the Crossfire!

Here are the actions that I undertook:
Windows passage 7-8 and 8 = 8.1 still the same problem (with réinstalltation own!)
Installing different driver: Same problem (even 14.4...)
Flash motherboard: Same problem
Search bios update for my cards: Not found (R7950-3GD5/OC BE)

FYI, for a few months putting the driver 13.8 beta 1, it worked, but I had the good idea of past 8.1 ....

My configuration is as follows:
ASUS 990FX Sabertooh (R.1)
MSI Crossfire 7950 R7950-3GD5/OC BE
Windows 8.1 U1 64

Help! I can not stand ....

Thomas

 

 

PS : Sorry for bad Translation ...

 05/02/2014 01:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Cards are in slot 1 and slot 3?

Have you gone into Windows Power Management and set to High Performance?  Power Saver?

Have you checked ASUS EPU Control Panel to see if set to High Performance?

If SSD, is Power Level  set to High performance?

BIOS set to AHCI?

ALL system drivers updated? 

https://www.slimwareutilities.com/slimdrivers.php



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/04/2014 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello (thanks),

All his points are good.

For cons, I just realize that the display driver never installs!

I had not paid attention because it is poorly reported ... But he said that there was a warning, and looking at the logs, it says that the display driver is not installed!

It is always the driver via Windows Update Windows that installs.

I tried to deleted and uninstall it (by cutting the network) but the AMD driver refusing to install I'm stuck ...

What to do?

 05/04/2014 11:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Configure Windows Updates in Control Panel >...>...>...Settings.

Would Uninstall current Catalyst  drivers (Control Panel >...Programs and Features > AMD...), Clean with Driver Fusion...Reinstall desired Catalyst version...

OR use AMD Uninstall Utility, Driver Fusion, Reinstall.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/05/2014 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello,

I did all the steps above, and it is still impossible to me to install the driver ... I feel complete reinstall of Windows!

:'(

 05/05/2014 06:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

For info.

I:
re installed Windows 8.1: OK
installed the driver for the graphics card: OK
Launched a game with a single card: OK
Ascended the second 7950 and crossfire enabled: OK
Launched a games: BUG!!

:'(

any idea?

guaranteed return ?

 05/05/2014 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

You show 1604 as BIOS version?

You did A L L the recommended power settings?

This time you actually installed the drivers and show a driver version where before you didn't show a driver version?

What games are you repeatedly mentioning?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/06/2014 05:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello,

Yes I am in 1604.

Yes, I am without waking with Max performance (there no other parameter is taken into account?)

I directly installed the latest Catalyst for all components.
And I have also installed almost nothing left for the own system.

All games crash, but I test with Diablo 3 and Suprem Commander 2

What's going on, the games load this (I do not even pass the kinematics of games!), I have the right to a black screen (or multicolor freeze overclocking) and at the same time cards graphics that bring to ventilate strong for 1 second (as when starting the PC)
 05/06/2014 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

No information on power supply...  what is it?

No information on CPU...   what is it?

 

Let's try again:

1.  ALL Windows power settings set to High Performance?

2.  ASUS EPU Control Panel set to High Performance?

3.  In Catalyst Control Center (software), Device Manager > Display adaptor

     (Driver) OR  GPU-Z...What AMD Driver version is shown or displayed?

4.  Does the game "crash" to desktop or does it "freeze" (hangs) without

     moving?   Have you tried waiting for 20-30 seconds while game is frozen?

5.  Have you enabled Graphics Overdrive in CCC?  Checked the box in Graphics

     Overdrive then enabled CrossfireX?

6.  Installed Crossfire bridge?

7. Have you studied the BIOS in detail? Read the manual?



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/06/2014 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello,

The power supply is a Corsair AX860
The CPU is: AMD FX 8120

1. Yes, all parameter are high performance

2. No. Asus EPU is not compatible with my motherboard. It is not enabled in the BIOS, I have enabled?

3. GPU-Z: atiumdag 14.100.0.0 (Catalyst 14.4) / 64 Win8.1

4. I can not even get in the game menu, it crashes before ... and I do not touch anything, except double-click the icon of the games ...

Yes, I've already waited SEVERAL minutes, the PC is completely planted (If music runs in the background it freezes completely ... A crash in the rules of art ...)

Overdrive

5. Has been deactivated.

6. Yes

7. I am updating there as a really long time, I put my mother regularly updated map ... besides the card has not been updates for a while I ask myself some questions about this purchase ...

 05/06/2014 06:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Have you tried disabling Cool 'n Quiet?

#2.  ASUS AI Suite II NOT compatible with an ASUS product??  Have you installed it?

Reconfigure #5.  ENABLE.

#7.  Someone please clarify this answer.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/07/2014 04:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Hello, 2. No AI Suite II is not compatible with Windows 8.1, this is apparently a fairly recent problem ... :/ And AI Suite III does not necessarily installed on the cards for a AI Suite II, I continued my research of this side. 5. I just activate: No change. 7. I mean ... The motherboard was quickly replaced by R.2 release ... I can be said that it was not stable base ... Thursday afternoon, I'll test my crossfire on my cousin's PC to isolate the problem. I also opened a ticket with MSI (you never know ...)Thanks

Edited: 05/07/2014 at 07:36 AM by Thomate
 05/07/2014 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thomate
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 05/01/2014

Good and well that's the answer MSI carrier ....

I think I'll make them a little publicity ...

Dear Customer,

  According to the specifications of the graphics card, your card is not compatible win8.1, it is consistent that win8 will require remained under win8.
  You can go to our website: # http://fr.msi.com/product/vga/R79502PMD3GD5OC.html#/?div=Driver&os=Win8%2032, to have all the information on your card?.

Regards,

 05/08/2014 12:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Overclocker

Posts: 797
Joined: 01/05/2013

Huh?!  Say wwwhhhaaattt   ???



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 05/18/2014 06:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LightbeamZ
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/18/2014

I have the same issue with two HD 6850s in CF. I added the secound card a week ago and everytime I start a game in fullscreen with crossfire enabled i get a red oder black screen and the pc restarts. I already reinstalled all drivers (14.4) with using the cleaning tool, but no change. Then I thought, that maybe the PSU is not powerful enough and i tried to stress the system with Mining and Furmark CPU stress test. I even overclocked the cards by more then 100MHz each for more power consumption. Everything works fine. But starting a game results in an red/black screen with restart. The windows eventmanager shows critical error with "Kernel-Power ID 41".

I also tried to disable the CPU boost in bios because I read that the boost overclocks the PCI-E slot, but resulted in the same error.



-------------------------

FX 8350 @Stock , Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 , Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz CL9 , 2x HD 6850 Crossfire (Powercolor & XFX) with Arctic Accelero Twin Turbo Pro each @ Stock , Enermax MODU82+ 525W , Samsung DVD-RW , Samsung 830 SSD 128GB , Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB

 05/20/2014 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
LightbeamZ
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 05/18/2014

I got my problem fixed with flashing a newer version of the VBIOS to my powercolor card. Now everything works fine.



-------------------------

FX 8350 @Stock , Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 , Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600MHz CL9 , 2x HD 6850 Crossfire (Powercolor & XFX) with Arctic Accelero Twin Turbo Pro each @ Stock , Enermax MODU82+ 525W , Samsung DVD-RW , Samsung 830 SSD 128GB , Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB

Statistics
84907 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.