Topic Title: Sapphire R7 250
Topic Summary: How can i enable crossfire on this card
Created On: 05/23/2014 04:01 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2014 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MAatcc
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/23/2014

I can't find any way to enable crossfire .

Can it be done?  how?



-------------------------

MAatcc

 05/23/2014 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 319
Joined: 10/14/2011

Apparently it can. Do you have 2 cards?  Proper motherboard?

Have a look here.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=160903&enterthread=y



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 05/23/2014 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MAatcc
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/23/2014

I have 2 R7 250 cards on an Asrock 970 Extreme3 R2.0 MB with an AMD AM3+ eight core CPU and 16 GB of RAM.  The MB does support crossfire. It is in a Rosewill blackhawk case. I am using Windows XP32 bit with SP3.



-------------------------

MAatcc

 05/23/2014 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MAatcc
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/23/2014

Both R7 250 cards have 2 GB of DDR3 RAM

I'm not into gaming.  I want to use crossfire to do 3D rendering on Autocad.



-------------------------

MAatcc

 06/01/2014 05:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
N3on
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/01/2014

I've had the same problem for ages, I found a solution in passing that worked for me:

 

Do you have any other pci slot devices? If so, remove them and leave just your graphics cards and try and see if it fixes it.

 

A little info based on my hardware situation:

My motherboard has 5 PCI/E slots, graphics cards are positioned in slots PCIE2 and PCIE4 which run at 3.0 and 2.0 x16 by default, BUT if something is plugged into PCIE1, PCI3, PCI5 the PCIE4 slot drops to x2. It appears latest ATI drivers do not support x16 and x2 crossfiring.

Statistics
85323 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.