Topic Title: HD5970 with Catalyst 14.6 Beta and still no Crossfire
Topic Summary: HD5970 Dual GPU Crossfire disabled
Created On: 05/30/2014 09:26 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/14/2014 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 944
Joined: 08/13/2008

Try this:

 

Strip the card of the heatsink and anything else that can be taken off. 

Also remove any stickers etc... AND MAKE SURE YOU CLEAN OFF ALL THERMAL GOOP

Heat up your oven to around 200C clecius.

Stick your card in there for around 9 mins with main chip facing up. ( use and oven tray )

Take it out slowly and carefully and let cool down for 1/2 hour or so.

Put it all back together and see if it works.

 

I've revived several cards this way in the past..  Bought a dead 7970 on ebay for $20 a few weeks ago, and ended up selling it for $250..

 

Give it a got...   u got nothing to lose.

 

Cheers



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 08/14/2014 05:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1193
Joined: 11/14/2010

He he ....

 

Normally i would laugh at this and would probably attempt a little sarcasm, but i actually searched the internet a little about this and read quite a few articles claiming that it works and giving me some new insight about how electronic equipment works or might work under different situations.

Example:

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1421792

 

What i also come to understand about this technique, is that it merely prolongs the gpu life for a little while longer.

It does not seem to fix it for more than a few months (at best).

 

Are you sure neo5555 that the heating trick applies to dual-gpu cards/ pcbs as well ?

To answer you, i do have to lose a full-working x16 speed/ 2gb vram gpu (that i can keep as a back-up) if not all goes well.

Question is, is it worth it ?

 

Though, i would really love to see my wife's face when i put that card in the oven ...., she will think i am mad or something !

 

In any case, thanks a lot for the suggestion.

If i do try it, i'll make sure you will be the first to know .... he he.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 08/14/2014 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 944
Joined: 08/13/2008

Bit of sracasm never hurt anyone..  lol

The heating trick usually applies to any circuit board, but if it has a lot of plastic connectors then you need to keep on eye on things as if you heat too much they start to melt.

I have been doing this for a number of years, and all the boards i have stuck in the oven have lasted me over 12 months...  actually, none have failed again in all honesty.

Whether it is worth it or not is up to you, but i sure as hell would give it a go..  

 

Cheers



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 08/15/2014 10:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

Hi guys, I was resolved same problem on HD 6990 & HD 6870 Crossfire. I was try too many possibility. Change the card slots ( PCI-E 16x, 4x ) and yesterday it seems good. I was use the "Display Driver Uninstaller" too many times for this problem.

 

I have Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Main board. I think so this main board is really headache. First time I use the HD 6990 on first PCI-E 16X slot and second card I use the second PCI-E 16x_2 slot ( Exactly first plugged the HD 6990 on PCI-E 16x slot and installed the 14.4 stable CCC & Driver downloaded from Amd.com and second restarting opened the desktop on Windows 8.1, shutdown and plugged second card on PCI-E 16x second slot ). But not resolved this way. I was thinking about the "how to enabled Crossfire on this motherboard or these cards are ? " My Second try was successfully.

How ?

If you have Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 Main board, when you can try this way ;

1-) Only plug-in the first card ( Examle I plugged the HD 6870 on first PCI-E 16x Slot on this main board ) PCI-E 16x Slot.

2-) Download the lastest non-beta VGA driver from Amd.com ( I was downloaded on 14.4 )

3-) Use the Display Driver Uninstaller ( Windows 7 and 8.1 supported x86/x64)

4-) Hold the same card on your main board. Dont change any card or slot. Now just starting the install driver and restart the computer.

5-) Go back to the desktop and waiting 1-3 minutes ( Because first time driver installation only writing some reg keys with installing files. After Restart, windows and AMD CCC need some configuration. Example : it may can be from the program "Please look after with Control Center".)

6-) Shutdown the computer and plugged in second card second PCI-E slot on mainboard. ( I was plugged in first slot is HD 6870, second slot is HD 6990 )

7-) Open the computer and go to the BIOS Setup. Select the "Advanced BIOS Features" and change this setting => Init Display First => PEG1 ( What does PEG1 mean ? This is secong PCI-E 16x slot from main board. If you activate the Crossfire when you must selected this on BIOS settings ) and PRess F10 key accepted and restarted the computer.

8-) Plug out the Display on the first card, plug in the second card.

9-) Now go back the Desktop on Windows 8.1. Open again the GPU-Z and looking the Crossfire situation. 

My computer specs ;


12 GB DDR-3 Kingston Ram

HD 6990 + HD 6870 VGA

Thermaltake Thoughpower XT Gold 1475 Watt PSU

Amd FX 8350 - 8 core CPU

1 Sony, 1 Toshiba LCD TV ( Connected from HDMI cable )


Sincerely yours,


Zahir Murat.



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

 08/15/2014 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1193
Joined: 11/14/2010

@THE_CROW:

 

Very good and detailed first post of yours.

Thing is, it is difficult to restore the expected functionality of the internal crossfirex of a single dual-gpu card, which is the main issue of this thread, because both gpus are on the same pcb, communicating with an internal chip (PLX) that is responsible for the pcie link width speed of each gpu and also acting as a crossfirex bridge.

Drastically more difficult if issues persist across a wide range of different amd catalyst software/ drivers (that hint to hardware issues).

It's therefore quite easier to isolate potential problems with different gpu cards on different pcie slots on a motherboard.

Unless of course you start taking cooking lessons (minor sarcasm intended neo5555 ).

 

But again, good feedback mate.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 08/15/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 944
Joined: 08/13/2008

c'mon backfire...   start cooking !!   lol

You know you want to...  hehehehe..  



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 08/15/2014 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

@backFireX64

 

Thanks for the answer my post. Yeah you're right but this case have one trick ; If you have strong VGA ( Same like HD 6990 ) when you must using slave slot on PCI-E 16X_2 on this Motherboard. Another bad thing is this motherboard really headache. Because everyone knows AMD 8350 - 8 core CPU supported DDR-3 1600 Mhz Rams right ? I have 12 GB Rams work on 1600 Mhz, but this mother board using 1333 Mhz. I read the mother board user guide, it may "2000 Mhz ( with overclock )/1866/1600/1333/1066 ( These speed possible wihtout overclock, this is Gigabyte official Claims! ). But I can't use the my Kingston Rams on 1600 Mhz with this mainboard. Its work only 1333 Mhz. This is really bad. The CPU supported 1600 Mhz but mainboard not. So funny.

 

Then today I was checked the GPU-Z again, its may " Ati Crossfire Enabled ( 2GPUs)". But I have 2 card, and have 3 GPU's. Why only enabled 2 GPU's ? I think so this is not AMD problem. This is Mainboard Manufacturer problems. But I will try the some test ( Using 3D Mark or 3DMark Vantage) about the FPS and performance. I still dont know why another one GPU is Disable ? When I finished the tests and some configures, I will share on here.

 

Sincerely,

 

Zahir Murat.



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

 08/15/2014 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

I'm just Finished some tests. But have no too much diffrent FPS when I changed the main displayed card. I was plugged the display cable on HD 6870 and started the benchmarks. When finished the tests on HD 6870, I was plugged the another card ( HD 6990 ). But I was started the 3D Mark Vantage Benchmark only plugged the display cable on HD 6990. This program it may " Crossfire ON".

 

Resident Evil 5 - Fixed Benchmark FPS Value(AMD HD 6870 DX 10 1360x768 32bit Depth, Windows 8.1, AMD CCC 14.4 )

Resident Evil 5 - Variable Benchmark FPS Value(AMD HD 6870 DX 10 1360x768 32bit Depth, Windows 8.1, AMD CCC 14.4 )

 

 

Resident Evil 5 - Variable Benchmark FPS Value(AMD HD 6990 DX 10 1360x768 32bit Depth, Windows 8.1, AMD CCC 14.4 )

 

Resident Evil 5 - Fixed Benchmark FPS Value(AMD HD 6990 DX 10 1360x768 32bit Depth, Windows 8.1, AMD CCC 14.4 )

 

 

GPU-Z AMD HD 6990 Details

GPU-Z AMD HD 6870 Details

 

3D Mark Vantage Amd HD 6990 Details ( It may "Crossfire On")

3D Mark Vantage Amd HD 6870 Details ( It may "Crossfire On")

 

3D Mark Vantage CPU & General Details

 

3D Mark Vantage Amd HD 6990 & HD 6870 + CPU Scores



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

 08/15/2014 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
neo5555
Case Modder

Posts: 944
Joined: 08/13/2008

Hey Crow,

Can you post this stuff in the correct thread please ?  You're off topic...



-------------------------

Pics of my rig
i7 4770k, custom water cooling, 8Gig Corsair Dom 2133 9-11-10-27, ASrock Z87 OC Formula, SilverStone ST-1500 PSU, Creative X-Fi Platinum, Logitech Z-5500D , 2xHIS 7970 CF, Asus VW246H Monitor, Win 7 64Bit HP, Corsair 800D Case

 08/16/2014 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

@neo5555

I know this stuff correct thread is Benchmark side but, this is about the proof the "Crossfire" puzzle. Because these pictures are detailed FPS. Values are nearest same, But still have a question ; Why 2 GPU's show on the GPU-Z ? Understand me ? That case same on the @Nemroth2000 case. Only diffrent is I have 2 cards 3GPU's, Neremoth2000 have only One card 2 GPU's.

 

Sincerely,

 

Zahir Murat.



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

 08/16/2014 04:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1193
Joined: 11/14/2010

@THE_CROW:

 

I just noticed that the single gpu card you use is an HD 6870.

Are you sure it can be crossfired correctly with a dual-gpu card like HD 6990, which is two HD 6970 gpus ?

Should'nt there be a compatibility issue when you try to run this trifire set-up ?

neo5555 is right, you should probably start a new thread for this and continue talking about it there, if you don't mind.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 09/05/2014 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nemroth2000
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/30/2014

so...back again

i wrote some emails with all available informations about my system to the support-team. they have no idea.

now i have a completely new system...well...except the grafic card and windows...this will change end of the year...but the problem still exists.

i am stuck on the old drivers. they still have no clew and asked me now to update the card´s bios. i don´t know if i should.

my updated dxDiag:

 

Time of this report: 8/26/2014, 19:48:33
      
   Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140303-2144)
           Language: German (Regional Setting: German)
System Manufacturer: MSI
       System Model: MS-7816
               BIOS: BIOS Date: 02/20/14 17:25:01 Ver: 04.06.05
          Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4590 CPU @ 3.30GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.3GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8136MB RAM
          Page File: 2320MB used, 13949MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
 System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
      Display Tab 1: The file aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL).  You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer.
        Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
          Input Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D:    0/4 (retail)
DirectDraw:  0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
DirectPlay:  0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow:  0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: AMD Radeon HD 5900 Series
       Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
          Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x689C)
           DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_689C&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
     Display Memory: 729 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 1013 MB
      Shared Memory: 3811 MB
       Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
       Monitor Name: PnP-Monitor (Standard)
      Monitor Model: Viseo243D
         Monitor Id: PKB0386
        Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
        Output Type: DVI
        Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1299 (English)
     Driver Version: 14.200.1004.0
        DDI Version: 11
       Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
  Driver Attributes: Final Retail
   Driver Date/Size: 7/9/2014 17:52:14, 1330912 bytes
        WHQL Logo'd: No
    WHQL Date Stamp: None
  Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-2BDC-11CF-A176-4805BEC2C535}
          Vendor ID: 0x1002
          Device ID: 0x689C
          SubSys ID: 0x25421002
        Revision ID: 0x0000
 Driver Strong Name: oem13.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTamd64.6.1:ati2mtag_EvergreenH:14.200.1004.0ci\ven_1002&dev_689c
     Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
        Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
   Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                     {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
                     {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                     {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                     {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                     {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                     {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
                     {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
       D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
            DXVA-HD: Not Supported
       DDraw Status: Enabled
         D3D Status: Enabled
         AGP Status: Enabled

 

 10/27/2014 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gluesticky
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/17/2014

I have this problem with my 5970.  When I installed the 14.4 drivers it fixed it, and I was on 14.9 before no problem, but then I went to clean the drivers and tried installing the 14.9 beta drivers which didn't work. Tried to install the 14.9 drivers again and second GPU is showing as disabled adapter. Tried 14.4 again and still disabled adapter on second GPU.  The last driver that shows a linked adapter are the 13.9 drivers, but those are really old and have performance problems.

Statistics
87466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.