Topic Title: Bsod after 14.6 update
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/05/2014 05:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/05/2014 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ru gonna helpme
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/05/2014

i have xfire 7850 and since 14.6 update i have bsod as pc is booting up then it restarts and is normally fine (never had bsod with 14.4) my bsod error is dxgkrnl.sys+5d140.. any ideas

 06/05/2014 10:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 842
Joined: 09/11/2008

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=160903&enterthread=y



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/06/2014 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ru gonna helpme
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 06/05/2014

i reinstalled 14.4 and no bsod at all, so there is something causing a prob to crash with 14.6..any 1 else having this prob with crossfire set up??



Edited: 06/06/2014 at 02:49 PM by ru gonna helpme
 06/06/2014 06:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 842
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: ru gonna helpme i reinstalled 14.4 and no bsod at all, so there is something causing a prob to crash with 14.6..any 1 else having this prob with crossfire set up??

 

Without filling out what was asked above...did you just want people to guess?



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/07/2014 06:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

@ru gonna helpme:

 

i m gonna helpyou if u r gonna help us.

 

Just kidding mate (if you are wondering, yes, i sometimes have a bad sense of humour-ignore me).

 

Now, follow Earnhardt's advice, make sure you clean install the latest drivers (don't think it is an AHCI driver problem but check anyway) and watch for any outdated motherboard or software driver (and update as necessary).

 

Maybe your problem lies in your mobo BIOS version ?

One other guy solved a similar case by replacing his power supply (psu). Are you good with your +3v, +5v and +12v psu rail voltages ? (check bios)

Or an unstable overclock perhaps ?

 

Test for a while and see what you can find and post it. Please give as much feedback as possible.

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

Statistics
84194 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.