Topic Title: Alienware 18 with Dual R290X cards
Topic Summary: Both cards seen in catalyst but no option to enable 2nd card
Created On: 06/08/2014 06:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2014 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Anyone seen this before have two R290X cards in the laptop both seen in bios and in catalyst controll center but 2nd card is shown as disabled and no option to enable it anywhere 

 

tried with 4 different driver packages but still no go 

 06/08/2014 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 878
Joined: 09/11/2008

contact alienware!

 

http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/product-support/product/alienware-18/get-started



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/08/2014 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

See this:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=172812&enterthread=y

 

If you allready did that, try again clean uninstalling of catalyst drivers.

Temporarily disable internet connection.

Then disable 2nd card in device manager.

Install the latest driver suite for only the first card.

Reboot.

Temporarily disable internet connection again if re-enabled after reboot.

Enable 2nd card in device manager. Does it automatically install the same driver version as your 1st card ?

Reboot.

 

If all goes well, fine.

If not, sorry i wasted your time and definitely follow Earnhardt's advice.

 

 

EDIT:   a gaming laptop with two R290X cards ?

Wow man !

How do you cool that beast ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/09/2014 12:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 878
Joined: 09/11/2008

Most,If not all laptop manufactures have there own proprietary drivers for there  laptops.Use what Dell/Alienware have,Or use the restore disc you should have made when you got the laptop.

backfire

There mobile 290x's,"R9 M290X" I doubt they even come close to the full PC versions.

According to this article,Its between a 7850 and 7870 pc card.

http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-Radeon-R9-M290X.108643.0.html



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 06/09/2014 at 12:43 AM by Earnhardt
 06/09/2014 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Earnhardt

 

backfire

 

There mobile 290x's,"R9 M290X" I doubt they even come close to the full PC versions.

 

 

 

 

He he...

 

There was a slight hint of sarcasm in my edit, wasn't there ?

 

It would take for the whole "laptop" to be somehow custom liquid cooled and you would have to fit a psu of what size and power consumption ?

I would surely like to see some enthusiast guy built two pcb's of that monster card around a motherboard of a laptop.

Just bear with me for a moment. Imagine you take this monster laptop with you inside the car, but you really want to check your email and you have forgotten to charge it with the power generator in your garage (never in an outlet inside your house-don't want to have a mini blackout). And before you ask, no, you cannot check your email on your portable mini slim PS4 because you are having it repaired (first batch).

So, what do you do ?

You take out the car adapter, try to charge your "laptop" and ...

 

 

...........KABOOOMMMM !!!!

 

 

 

 

EDIT:    although i do not have a good sense of humour, this post was intended just for laughs. Please don't take any offence. If it is reported and deleted, ok

Thanks for reading.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/09/2014 11:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Tried that of course the support in europe had no clue on that they even sold them with these cards so 0 help to be got there 

 06/09/2014 01:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

And what did Alienware support have to say?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/09/2014 04:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

TRied backfire suggestion and catalyst controll still shows the 2nd card as disabled and no option for crossfire or enabling it :-(

 06/09/2014 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Originally posted by: stumped And what did Alienware support have to say?

 

 

not much other than to try installing drivers and update bios which i already had done their nnext suggestion is hardware issues and unfortunately they dont stock these cards yet so i am now looking at a whole unit replacement 

 06/09/2014 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Did you check device manager as well ?

Does it show the second display adapter as disabled ?

 

 

Anyway, it's probably for the best to just replace the laptop and be done with it.

Nice machine though. It comes with an ssd, 8gb ram and kick-ass core i7, right ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/09/2014 06:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

You should ask other users. That would be Alienware laptop owners. There are three support sites just for you and your laptop.

1.

2.

3.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/10/2014 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Did you check device manager as well ?

Does it show the second display adapter as disabled ?

Anyway, it's probably for the best to just replace the laptop and be done with it.

Nice machine though. It comes with an ssd, 8gb ram and kick-ass core i7, right ?

 

 

My Spec :

i7-4910MQ > Dual R290X 4GB > 16GB  Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz > 256GB SSD boot disk > 2 x1TB SATA raid > win 8.1

 

 06/10/2014 10:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: backFireX64

 

 Anyway, it's probably for the best to just replace the laptop and be done with it.

 

 

 

@stumped and @Tharghuul:

 

I should probably admit that it's not the friendliest advice i have given.

My bad.

 

Thanks, stumped, for the info you provided.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/10/2014 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Originally posted by: stumped You should ask other users. That would be Alienware laptop owners. There are three support sites just for you and your laptop.

 

1.

 

2.

 

3.

 

   

 

Tried those but seems no one has seen the Alienware 18 with Dual R290X cards yet so guess i am a front runner lol at least never got replies to any postings or queries on that config

 06/10/2014 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

There seem to be quite a few issues with crossfirex on some users (including me) with the latest drivers.

 

 

But, if it's not something software related or user error, then it's probably a hardware defect or malfunction and when it comes to laptops there is usually more pain and more exploitation of your trust towards the tech support guys.

 

If under warranty, then you can consider yourself lucky on this occasion.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/10/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: backFireX64

 

 

 

 Anyway, it's probably for the best to just replace the laptop and be done with it.

 

 

 

    to answer earlier qurstion Devicemanager sees  both AMD Radeon R9 M290X cards same as controll center but 2nd cards is running at 0 utilization  no matter and no options to enable crossfire 

 

 

 

 

@stumped and @Tharghuul:

 

 

 

I should probably admit that it's not the friendliest advice i have given.

 

My bad.

 

 

 

Thanks, stumped, for the info you provided.

 

 06/10/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

 

My Spec :

 

i7-4910MQ > Dual R290X 4GB > 16GB  Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz > 256GB SSD boot disk > 2 x1TB SATA raid > win 8.1

 

 

 

 

 

You are a god among mere mortals (or it is just me being jealous)



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/10/2014 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

Tharghuul:

 

Ok, read your answer, thanks.

Weird, right ?

 

 

If i find anyhing else useful i'll let you know.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 06/10/2014 10:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tharghuul
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 06/08/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 There seem to be quite a few issues with crossfirex on some users (including me) with the latest drivers.

 

 

 

 

 

But, if it's not something software related or user error, then it's probably a hardware defect or malfunction and when it comes to laptops there is usually more pain and more exploitation of your trust towards the tech support guys.

 

 

 

If under warranty, then you can consider yourself lucky on this occasion.

 

 

Brand new unit that never worked so i arranged to get the whole laptop replaced   since support thinks its a hardware issues but they cant get any spare parts for system yet :-) so now just waiting for my new new system to arrive 

 06/10/2014 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

 

 Brand new unit that never worked so i arranged to get the whole laptop replaced   since support thinks its a hardware issues but they cant get any spare parts for system yet :-) so now just waiting for my new new system to arrive 

 

 

 

In that case, i wish everything goes well when it arrives and enjoy gaming.

 

Friendly tip:   watch your temps under load - set the fan speed accordingly. If you feel something is off, contact support again and demand better service (sorry, really don't want to jinx it, i speak only from past personal experience).



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

Statistics
84696 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.