Topic Title: No Crossfire option, 2nd Adapter Disabled: XFX HD 7850 DD 2GB with XFX HD 7870 DD 2GB
Topic Summary: No crossfire options in CCC and second adapter showing disabled in CCC hardware information
Created On: 06/11/2014 11:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2014 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I've tried it with drivers 14.6, 14.4 and 13.2. Ive uninstalled, cleaned and reinstalled CCC and drivers more than once. I've also tried removing cards and replacing individually and with/without the Crossfire link (in both orientations).

System:

 

 

AMD AM3+ FX-8150

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 (latest drivers and bios)

Windows 8.1 (Fully updated)

850W PSU

GPU-Z shows both cards and their details, Device manager shows both adapters as enabled. CCC shows second adapter disabled.

Adapter GPU-Z Details:

XFX HD 7870 DD

XFX 7850 DD

 

And CCC/Profile Info:

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 12:00 PM by TempusFugit
 06/11/2014 12:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

Oh, i see they have different amount of shaders.

Are you sure you can even crossfire those 2 gpus ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/11/2014 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

The following image suggests it should be possible

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/11/2014 at 02:50 PM by TempusFugit
 06/11/2014 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

Thanks for the info.

I was lazy enough to check it.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/11/2014 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

Feel free to report my earlier post so as to be deleted.

That post was laaaaaazzzzzy.

 

For real this time, check these two posts:

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=475&threadid=174302&enterthread=y




http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=475&threadid=173330&enterthread=y

 

 

You will see similar cases as yours.

Make sure to report this issue to amd customer care.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/12/2014 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

I tried the 14.3 beta1 driver minutes ago, and had my second adapter disabled.

 

CCC reported maximum bus setting of x2 for both gpus !

WTF ???

 

That went with a lot of driver suites that i tested (and actually supported my os - windows 8.1 64bit)



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/12/2014 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GreenPixel
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 06/10/2014

Try this:

1: go to device manager, and uninstall both adapters (tick "Delete the driver software for this device")

2: reinstall driver.

3: post results .

 06/12/2014 10:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: GreenPixel Try this:

 

1: go to device manager, and uninstall both adapters (tick "Delete the driver software for this device")

 

2: reinstall driver.

 

3: post results .

 

 

If you are refering to my previous post or to the op, that's a good advice.

Unfortunately, i give this advice myself to other forum members in similar situations, and it will help only if windows update has interfered (by automatically download and install drivers), or there are previous drivers left in the system (user installs drivers on top of older versions or does not clean install them).

I actually recall the time when i had to remove 7 driver remnants (!) in a friend's pc through device manager.

Man, that was educating.

 

In my (and other's) situation it's either my card getting the pension, or, most likely, it's the drivers.

I have posted this to amd directly and urged people that i personally know to do so.

 

The frustration of users with newer cards is 10 times my own, though, and is understandable.

 

 

Thanks for the feedback.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/12/2014 10:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

I now use the modified AMD Catalyst 14.6 RC (14.200.1004.0 June 2) driver

It seems to be the same as before for me, crossfirex enabled and bus width of x16 - x4 respectively.

 

Do you mind trying that yourself TempusFugit ?

If you do, please post back and let us know.

 

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/12/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

Will try the above suggestions and let you know how I get on, thanks both.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

The modified AMD Catalyst 14.6 RC drivers didnt seem to solve the problem. Crossfire is still not available in CCC and the adapter was showing "Disabled".

 

I also tried the uninstall of the adapter in hardware devices and a complete driver re-install of 14.6 and no dice there.

 

I did however get the hardware information page on CCC to show the second adapter as enabled, I did this by disabling, re-enabling and then plugging my second monitor into that card.

I can get either card to show as primary/secondary and in any combination of enabled/disabled depending on how I plug my monitors into the cards and in what order I enable/disable the hardware in device manager.

The primary card becomes the card that the primary display is attached to. Setting it in CCC and unplugging/replugging into other adapter etc.

The outcome though is the same, No Crossfire option is showing in performance options of CCC.

In comparing the adapter information in CCC hardware info, I did notice that the HD 7850 is being allocated Hypermemory and the HD 7870 is not. It may or may not be relevant, but it is one thing that stands out as different.

Still no Crossfire options though...



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

Now looking into the bios differences.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

7850 Bios info

7870 Bios info

 

Nothing strikes me as being a problem there...



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

  I did notice that the HD 7850 is being allocated Hypermemory and the HD 7870 is not. It may or may not be relevant, but it is one thing that stands out as different. 

 

Not only that, but the memory size reported is all wrong as well; 9932 mb !!! Holy guacamole, batman (forgive me, i really wanted to say that)

Is that normal ?

How is the second adapter linked without crossfirex option in ccc ?

The vBIOS version of gpus is different, which is normal, but are there newer versions on official site. If you would like to take the risk of flashing gpu, ok. It is very risky and i would leave it as a final, desperate move.

 

I think it is time for amd to release seperate drivers for HD series cards,  HD series cards with GCN and R series cards.

Too many variables, different gpu architectures and system component combinations, are giving problems for many people.

 

I am sad that i am not really helpful here, but i'll keep searching for answers and post anything worth mentioning.

 

Thank you for the time and effort to post those photos and for the wonderful feedback. Keep it up.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/12/2014 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

Well I have 16GB of mainboard RAM, that much Hypermemory may not be abnormal. But I am not sure.

All help is welcome and apreciated. I've considered flashing the bios, but am holding back for now. I have backed up the existing just incase I decide to



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

These posts has some interesting information and is very similar to my problem.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answers/id-1673244/unable-activate-crossfirex-amd-vision-engine-control-center-7870.html

The above user had the same motherboard and GFX card model.

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/answers/id-2177620/issue-crossfire-worked-previously.html

 

Also I have done some interesting testing of the cards in verious monitor configurations. Posting results soon.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/12/2014 at 09:49 PM by TempusFugit
 06/12/2014 10:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

When I plug my main monitor (the one set as primary in CCC, its 23 Inch wide format) into the 7850 (in PCI_E Slot 3) the hardware info in CCC changes to reflect that the Primary adapter is now that card (shown below):

After testing, whichever card the primary display is plugged into becomes primary adapter.

The other adapter (according to CCC) becomes either (A) Disabled, when there is no monitor plugged into it, or (B) Enabled when the second monitor is plugged into that physical card.

When I plug a second monitor into the first card, the load on that card goes up and the temperature goes up. But it also does the same when I plug the second monitor into the second card...despite the second card not showing any load (I know crossfire is only for fullscreen, but this is just for testing behaviour).

The following is when one monitor is plugged into each card.

 

In the following test I measured the temperature as I plugged/removed the second monitor.

Before Point [1] the card was idling with just the one primary monitor plugged into it (HDMI, 23 inch widescreen).

At point [1] the second monitor is plugged into the first Card (7870 in PCI_E Slot1) and the temperature goes up.

At point [2] It is removed again and begins to return to the baseline.

At point [3] the second monitor (4:3 format on DVI-D) is connected to the second card (7850 in pCI_E Slot 3) while the primary monitor remained in the first card. Again the temperature rises. No response on the second cards temperature or load. Despite this, the image is fine and all was working.

During these changes in temperature, there was no additional load added, only the effect of adding the extra display.

The following was with the same configuration as previous. Initialy the primary monitor was in Card 1 and the second monitor in card 2.

This time I ran Furmark to get some load on the GPU.

At point [1] I started to load the primary display. Temps levelled out at ~75C under full load.

I then switched the primary display selection in CCC and ran the same test again. and at point [2] the load was shifted to the second card.

The idle temperatuer of the 7850 is much lower than the 7870, but its also in the lower slot and taking no load.

 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/12/2014 11:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I disabled the second adapter in device manager and remove the second monitor completley, then rebooted (leaving the second adapter disabled in devices).

Now CCC shows that the second adapter is linked but doesnt give me the option for Crossfire:

Will continue to investigate.

If I re-enable the second adapter in device manager, the second card shows as linked and gives the details in CCC hardware monitor (still no crossfire). However when I reboot, it returns to disabled in CCC.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/13/2014 at 07:02 AM by TempusFugit
 06/13/2014 07:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I think its time to return the second card to the retailer, as it is no longer fit for my intended purpose.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/13/2014 at 07:39 AM by TempusFugit
 06/13/2014 07:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1344
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: TempusFugit I think its time to return the second card to the retailer, as I is now not fit for my intended purpose.

 

 

Sad to hear that.

Did you send a, prefferably 20-page super detailed-graph enabled, report to AMD tech and driver division ?

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

Statistics
87610 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.