Topic Title: No Crossfire option, 2nd Adapter Disabled: XFX HD 7850 DD 2GB with XFX HD 7870 DD 2GB
Topic Summary: No crossfire options in CCC and second adapter showing disabled in CCC hardware information
Created On: 06/11/2014 11:53 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/13/2014 07:38 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1260
Joined: 11/14/2010

It is essential to let them know, and if many users do so, they will not ignore the problem. if few people report this, then either:

 

a. it has not been noticed or reported enough

 

b. this is a hardware problem for a few users, therefore will probably stay that way.

 

I really don't buy it's a hardware issue man.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/13/2014 08:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I doubt its the card. It could be a number of things, driver, firmware, bios or OS related.

I had a good working XFX HD 7850 DD and decided that I could give crossfire a go by adding a second card, when I looked at the options (considering the prices of the 7850/7870 were marginal) the 7870 seemed the best choice and would serve as a good master card. I could also have bought a single newer card but decided to go for the two.

I cant invest much more time in trying to solve it. I do know I can return it for a full refund and sell my existing card, and re-evaluate my decision to go for two cards in crossfire in favour of a single higher end card. I hadnt forseen the issues around crossfire.

I will see about raising a ticket/contacting support.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/13/2014 08:25 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1260
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: TempusFugit I doubt its the card. It could be a number of things, driver, firmware, bios or OS related.

 

I had a good working XFX HD 7850 DD and decided that I could give crossfire a go by adding a second card, when I looked at the options (considering the prices of the 7850/7870 were marginal) the 7870 seemed the best choice and would serve as a good master card. I could also have bought a single newer card but decided to go for the two.

 

I cant invest much more time in trying to solve it. I do know I can return it for a full refund and sell my existing card, and re-evaluate my decision to go for two cards in crossfire in favour of a single higher end card. I hadnt forseen the issues around crossfire.

 

I will see about raising a ticket/contacting support.

 

 

Yes, absolutely go for the best single card you can afford is essential these days.

It wasn't like that with crossfire a generation or two ago, so it makes one wonder.

And it's sure isn't about people with old incompatible rigs refusing to upgrade (or simply can't), either. You see crossfire problem with newer powerful systems as well.

And to think that, when crossfirex works, it scales a lot better, up to 90% approx. than with past hardware and software.

 

I believe the tech/ driver engineering guys will sort it out eventually, but why lose current or potential customers in that way ?

 

So, yes, raising a ticket is a good start to demand the support we deserve.

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/13/2014 11:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

Well I thought I would try a couple more things, I had a free SSD which I reformatted and installed a fresh copy of windows 8.1 to.

I booted into the newly installed OS (having set windows to Not update automatically any software or drivers) and then installed the 14.4 WHQL tested drivers.

I am still presented with one working and one disabled adapter (in ccc) and no crossfire option.

The OS install didnt fix it. I may try a bios reset next.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/13/2014 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Curious, have you tried other slots?  You're using the ones indicated in this image now right?  

https://www.asus.com/websites/global/products/Yk1gGoRISkgLawoj/SAB_990FX_R2-line-01.jpg

Try the darker brown slot.

http://cdn.overclock.net/3/3f/3f24b9b7_sabertooth-990fx-r2-overview1.jpeg If you look inside the slots, closely, you can see the black and dark brown slots are pinned for x8. I'd try different slots if you never already, maybe you'll get lucky? 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/13/2014 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

Thanks for your input. I will try that next. The manual suggests slot 1 and 3, PCI_E 16x, but I havent tried the others. I'll let you know how I get on.

Unfortunatley I cant seem to fit the cards in any other way as 2x cards. The lowest dark PCI_E slot is too close to other components and the higher one is obstructed by the first card.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.



Edited: 06/13/2014 at 12:58 PM by TempusFugit
 06/13/2014 02:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Darn, that sucks... was hoping that might magically fix your issue for the time being. :-\



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/13/2014 02:48 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1260
Joined: 11/14/2010

 

Unfortunatley I cant seem to fit the cards in any other way as 2x cards. The lowest dark PCI_E slot is too close to other components and the higher one is obstructed by the first card.

 

 

You can disassemble the cooler heatsink and fan, point a living room cooling fan into it and test for just as long as you need to.

If you have the experience, time, new thermal paste and desire to do so, then it might fit into the last pcie slot.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/15/2014 09:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I dont think its a PCIe slot issue as I have both cards in place and can put load on either card and inspect the transfer rate in GPUz or HwInfo and see that they are running at ~6GB/s. This suggests that the PCIe link is operating at its fullcapability or close to it.

Thanks for the suggestion though.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/15/2014 09:33 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1260
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: TempusFugit I dont think its a PCIe slot issue as I have both cards in place and can put load on either card and inspect the transfer rate in GPUz or HwInfo and see that they are running at ~6GB/s. This suggests that the PCIe link is operating at its fullcapability or close to it.

 

Thanks for the suggestion though.

 

 

Well, given the fact that the theoretical speed of pcie 3 x16=8 gb/s and there is usually an approx. 20% loss due to interface overhead, that would leave you with ~6.4 gb/s. So it all seems good there.

 

Info taken from here:

http://www.tested.com/tech/457440-theoretical-vs-actual-bandwidth-pci-express-and-thunderbolt/



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/23/2014 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TempusFugit
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 06/11/2014

I've seen a few more threads with simialr issues pop up since I started this, still no fix for me. I have submitted a ticket with XFX and will post back here if I get any progress.

Meanwhile, my 7850 is up for sale on ebay so if you want one, go get it! 



-------------------------

AMD FX-8150 64-Bit Cooled by Corsair H80i H20 on an ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 with 16GB DDR3 RipjawX Running Win 8.1. GFX (x2): XFX HD7870 2GB DD Black Ed, XFX HD7850 2GB DD Black Ed.

 06/25/2014 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
scribbles
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/19/2011

Not sure if this is proper etiquette, but I've encountered the same issue as TempusFugit; however I've got two 7870's that have worked in crossfire mode before...

I recently upgraded from windows 7 to 8.1, while doing so, I also moved my former primary GPU to the secondary (along with swapping PSU's); the GPU I used to have as the primary is significantly older than the one I moved to the primary, hence the move.

I also have the HyperMemory type and 9974MB of ram, but for me, it is on the primary adapter, and the secondary is displayed as Disabled (rather than linked as seen above). Microsoft System Info, however, does correctly report both cards as having 2048MB of memory.

I originally installed CCC 14.4, after noticing the problem I reinstalled, uninstalled CCC and Device manager drivers (reinstalling CCC 14.4 each time), and finally ran Guru3d's Display Driver Uninstaller (from safe mode, after uninstalling all AMD software again) and installed 14.6-rc2. None of these things helped.

Copied from CCC Hardware info:

Primary Adapter:

Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by AMD
Graphics Chipset    AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
Device ID    6818
Vendor ID    1002
Subsystem ID    3251
Subsystem Vendor ID    1682
Revision ID    00
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI Express 2.0 x16
BIOS Version    015.022.000.001
BIOS Part Number    113-787CNF84_113-AD42800-100-XF
BIOS Date    2012/07/13
Memory Size    9974 MB
Memory Type    HyperMemory
Core Clock in MHz    1000 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz    1200 MHz

Disabled Adapter:

Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by AMD
Graphics Chipset    AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
Device ID    6818
Vendor ID    1002
Subsystem ID    042F
Subsystem Vendor ID    1043
Revision ID    00
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI Express
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI Express x2
BIOS Version    015.015.000.002
BIOS Part Number    113-AD42100-100
BIOS Date    2012/02/22
Memory Size    2048 MB
Memory Type    GDDR5
Core Clock in MHz    1010 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz    1210 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s    154.9 GByte/s

 

I have 2 monitors connected to the primary adapter (1 1920x1080 120hz over display port, one 1280x1024 over DVI). I've double checked and reseated the link cable, and I'm quite certain the PSU would be a red herring.



Edited: 06/26/2014 at 12:05 AM by scribbles
 06/26/2014 10:21 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1260
Joined: 11/14/2010

scribbles:

 

Try swapping the cards on the same slots.

Is it the same ?

 

I have the same issue with older drivers, as others also have on this forum (see the other relevant threads), but i have a dual-gpu card and cannot check each gpu on each slot by itself.

1. when i have the 2nd adapter disabled, ccc reports x2 - x2 on bus setting

2. when crossfirex works, 2nd adapter is enabled and ccc shows x16 - x4, when it should show x16 - x16 instead.

 

Make sure you test each card alone as well and see if ccc properly reports x16 link width (on a pcie 2.0 x16 slot) for each card.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 08/02/2014 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tmlclone
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/02/2014

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=475&threadid=171407

There is another post talking about it.

As listed in the post, go back to 13.11 beta 8 and below driver.

Thats how i got my CF back. 6950CF

Statistics
87549 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.