Topic Title: R9 295x2 Audio issues in crossfire
Topic Summary: Popping, crackling and audio stutter when gaming with crossfire.
Created On: 06/19/2014 03:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/20/2014 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

About the bet, you cant bet something you dont have/own

 

Ouchhhhhhhhhh .......... yea, i'm a mere mortal, what can i say ? (he he)

 

Man..... i really do not know why amd keep ignoring hdmi ports (yes, i do)

I mean, the BEST, MOST BRUTAL card on the market and no hdmi ???

That's a crime.

Well, a DVI to HDMI cable will ditch the audio, right ? So, it all comes to the equipment used.

 

I would recommend that you get a high quality set of 5.1, 6.1 or 7.1 speakers + subwoofer, a good sound amplifier and good optic fiber cables and a high quality DVI-D Cable.

Or a good ips 4k monitor display with surround speakers, connected with that DisplayPort amd so fondly supports.

 

Either way, when you take a beast of a card like yours home, there is serious responsibility to push everything to MAX.

 

I know i would do !!!

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/21/2014 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Originally posted by: Pbizi I need HDMI, and there is no HDMI port on the card.

 

Should invest in a cable that have HDMI on one end and DVI on the other?

 

A cable with DVI on one end and HDMI on the other should work, just make SURE the DVI end has ALL the pins. It needs to look like this: 

Not like this: 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/21/2014 08:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

HoneyBadger84:

 

Nice cable ! That's what i am talking about when i say quality.

 

I was always wondering though. Do the full pin end add anything practical at all, or not ?

 

I have asked "professional" stores but didn't give me a straight or clear answer.

Is there an actual gain on video fidelity or does it depend on the equipment it is connected to ?

I use a thick gold-plated full-pin dvi-d cable myself.

 

Please post some info on this if you can.

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/21/2014 09:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Not positive but I think the extra pins are for audio etc, could be wrong though. The only time I used a cord without full pins was on a card that couldn't do audio out through DVI anyway.  Now that I've been running a 7970 and now R9 290Xs, they have straight HDMI outs so no issues with my TV that I use as a main monitor.  If I can find the old cord with the missing pins I'll test it out to see if audio output to the tv still works.



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/21/2014 10:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

Yes, this was for a 4k build.

I have all the perks you mentioned except for the 4k monitor, but its my next step. A 4k monitor connected using displayport.

For the DVI to HDMI cable, I dont wanna ditch the 7.1 surround sound.

 

-------------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst 14.6 beta1

 06/21/2014 11:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

I ditched the adaptor and bought a mini dp to hdmi cable, now I am curious to see if the problem is still there.

 

-------------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst 14.6 beta1

 06/21/2014 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

That should do for now.

I've never tested that though so i'm curious myself.

Post back with some, hopefully, good info.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/21/2014 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

What a waste of money and time. I didnt play for long before it was a stutter fest in here! Anyway, now we know its not the adaptor.

Its like in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVSR6-ElsVg

 

Then I have to exit all programs that are playing audio before everything is back to normal.

-------------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst 14.6 beta1



Edited: 06/21/2014 at 12:57 PM by Pbizi
 06/21/2014 01:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

Well, every cable that has different ends can potentially create problems, because the video/ audio signal has to be converted before it can be displayed by your tv/ monitor.

Same goes with adapters.

But it greatly depends on the amd hdmi drivers as well.

I always prefer a straight cable connection, like hdmi to hdmi, or dvi-d to dvi-d and analog speakers.

In your case, the adapter should not give you problems, but that's a possibility too. You don't have hdmi port on-card, so either:

 

1. you stick with the hdmi cable + adapter and wait for the next drivers

2. you change to a good pc monitor with a DP connection

3. you use the trusted-old dvi-d to dvi-d cable and add speakers set like i suggested before.

 

Either way, i would advice to wait for the upcoming drivers, as lots of people are having audio issues with similar cards and same drivers.

Then, you can decide and act accordingly.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/25/2014 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

The amd-catalyst-14.6-rc2-windows-june23 fixed the problem

 

---------------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2

 06/26/2014 10:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Pbizi The amd-catalyst-14.6-rc2-windows-june23 fixed the problem

 

 

 

---------------------------------------------

 

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2

 

 

Thanks for your feedback mate.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/26/2014 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

Well, the problem is not entirely gone, switching from a fullscreen game to another window brings it right back...

 

----------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2

 06/26/2014 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Pbizi Well, the problem is not entirely gone, switching from a fullscreen game to another window brings it right back...

 

 

 

----------------------------------------

 

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2

 

 

Then don't switch windows when gaming. Press quit instead !



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/26/2014 07:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: Pbizi Well, the problem is not entirely gone, switching from a fullscreen game to another window brings it right back...

 

 

 

   

 

----------------------------------------

 

 

 

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2  

 

 

 

 

 

Then don't switch windows when gaming. Press quit instead !

 

 

It might do it until next drivers

 

----------------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2

 06/29/2014 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

I was wrong, the problem is still there

Why cant AMD fix this or is it unfixable?

AMD has no clue how to do it?

 

---------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2  

 06/29/2014 02:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Pbizi I was wrong, the problem is still there

 

Why cant AMD fix this or is it unfixable?

 

AMD has no clue how to do it?

 

 

 

---------------------------------

 

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.6-rc2  

 

 

I understand your frustration, but please, send as many reports to AMD as possible.

Keep bothering them about this.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 07/01/2014 07:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

Lol, I found an older driver that solves the problem completely.

 

It came with the card and its labeled: 14.10-140327a-169965E

happy now

 

---------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.4

 07/01/2014 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: Pbizi Lol, I found an older driver that solves the problem completely.

 

 

 

It came with the card and its labeled: 14.10-140327a-169965E

 

happy now

 

 

 

---------------------------------

 

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.4

 

 

Isn't that the whql 14.4 driver ?

Like, the latest whql 14.4 official driver...............???

 

Anyway, if you solved it i'm glad.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 07/01/2014 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pbizi
Peon

Posts: 28
Joined: 06/19/2014

Thanks.

I dont think its the whql 14.4 official driver, because I tried that one and it didnt work.

But this one on the driver cd that followed the card works excelent

 

---------------------------------

Asus Sabertooth 990FX rev.2.0 (BIOS 2501), AMD FX 9590 (stock clock and voltage), Windows 8.1 64-bit, Kingston HyperX blu 32gb 1866Mhz DDR3 RAM (OC), Sapphire R9 295x2 (stock clocks), Samsung 840 Evo 500GB SSD, XFX Pro series 1250W PSU. AMD catalyst-14.4

 07/01/2014 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1351
Joined: 11/14/2010

You are correct my cyber friend.

 

It appears to be a specific build of a leaked-press driver !!!

A little googling doesn't hurt i guess.....



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

Statistics
87660 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.