Topic Title: 295x2 crossfire issue with skyim
Topic Summary: frame pacing does not work
Created On: 06/25/2014 06:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/25/2014 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

The game has frame time variance issues and the option of frame pacing in the CCC does not have any effect. The game works fine until you go to a new area, in which the game "stutters" like crazy when walking. Teleporting might be a better word, similar to lag in a multiplayer game, rather than stuttering.

 06/25/2014 06:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7845
Joined: 11/13/2009

Are you using the new RC beta drivers?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/25/2014 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

You mean the ones just released a few days ago?

 06/26/2014 10:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

He means the AMD Catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23 drivers found here:

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+7+-+64#amd-catalyst-packages

 

Please post as much system and issue feedback as possible:

 

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=160419&enterthread=y

 

Make sure your temps are good as well.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/26/2014 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Graphics Card
- Radeon R9 295x2

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- 14.4

Operating System
- Windows 8.1 x64 bit
Issue Details
- Topic Post
Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Gigabyte something. Not important.

Power Supply

- 1000 Watt EVGA plat certified something

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Samsung UHD 4k monitor with a Displayport Connection


Applications and Games

- Skyrim

CPU Details
- i7 4930k hexacore

System Memory Type & Amount
-16 GB Hyperx kingston ram

 06/26/2014 06:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Good powerful system mate.

 

Did you try the latest beta drivers ?

If that won't fix it, try disabling crossfirex in that game.

You can more than run it smoothly on one gpu anyway.

 

EDIT: i really feel the need to know about your mobo man.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/26/2014 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Yes, one card runs it somewhat smooth at 4k, but crossfire makes the game incredibly smooth... until the weird stutter thing starts. I will note this does not happen in other games. It did in Watch Dogs, but that was before crossfire support via AMD was avaliable... So I can't say whether it is still an issue for me or not. AC 4 Black Flag played great with crossfire.

 

Moboard is a Gigabyte X79-UP4 LGA 2011 socket.

 06/26/2014 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Try a fps limiter, like that on afterburner, or try forcing triple buffering, dynamic framerate limit or locking fps to screen refresh rate with RadeonPro



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/26/2014 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

I didn't know Radeonpro was still supported.

 06/27/2014 02:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

I see terrible judder in Skyrim regardless of how many GPU's are used, unless I use the framerate limiter in RadeonPro, which makes it run smoothly.

 

 06/27/2014 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

WHY would you need to Crossfire 2 295s in a 9.0 game like Skyrim...you are kidding, right??



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/27/2014 04:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

4k resolution with about 10 GB of texture mods/environmental mods. You probably could have guessed that one if you thought about it hard enough.

 06/27/2014 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: dave1029 4k resolution with about 10 GB of texture mods/environmental mods. You probably could have guessed that one if you thought about it hard enough.

 

 

Ouchhhhhhhhhhhhhh !!!

Still, one gpu with those buffed settings and mods can give what, 50-60 fps ?

Just not stutter-free i imagine.

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/27/2014 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Question cuz it's kinda confusing at this point:

We are talking about ONE R9 295x2 card, not TWO, right?  Cuz from your description & previous posts it sounds like 1 card (2 GPUs) but the last few posts make it sound like you're running 2 cards (4 GPUs).



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/27/2014 08:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Yes, one dual-gpu R9 295x2 card.

One gpu from that card should be enough for all games, but a full-modded Skyrim in 4k can better utilize the power of that dual-gpu card.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/28/2014 04:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 839
Joined: 01/05/2013

Originally posted by: dave1029 4k resolution with about 10 GB of texture mods/environmental mods. You probably could have guessed that one if you thought about it hard enough.

 

Am guessing as you progress in using computers you will find it is NOT necessary for a 9.0 game like Skyrim even with 20Gb of mods.   You'll learn...hopefully.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/28/2014 07:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64 Yes, one dual-gpu R9 295x2 card.

 

One gpu from that card should be enough for all games, but a full-modded Skyrim in 4k can better utilize the power of that dual-gpu card.

 

Asking the original poster cuz its unclear which he has based on what he had said. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/28/2014 07:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: UcouldBrong
Originally posted by: dave1029 4k resolution with about 10 GB of texture mods/environmental mods. You probably could have guessed that one if you thought about it hard enough.

 

 

 

 

Am guessing as you progress in using computers you will find it is NOT necessary for a 9.0 game like Skyrim even with 20Gb of mods.   You'll learn...hopefully.

 

 

No.

It usually depends on the game engine, not on the API used.

There are mods that have an aesthetic use, and there are mods that can drastically alter or add bits to the game code, directly affecting gpu and vram usage and performance.

Add a really high resolution and a supersampling anti-aliasing to the mix, and you quickly start to run one gpu of that card on it's limits.

 

That's when crossfirex can help.

To maintain a min 60 fps frame mark (for a refresh rate of 60hz).

Problem is, the gpu drivers won't usually be optimized for all that user modding, or even for default settings (for that card), and crossfire starts to show it's teeth.

It starts to show stuttering, or better, microstuttering.

 

That is the point when you realize a third party tool with a frame limiter or a better v-sync implementation can drastically lower/ eliminate this problem.

And that is what frame pacing is, more or less, supposed to do.

To smoothen your experience.

But that does not seem to be the case here, as previously described.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/28/2014 07:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Ubergeek

Posts: 1860
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: HoneyBadger84
Originally posted by: backFireX64 Yes, one dual-gpu R9 295x2 card.

 

 

 

One gpu from that card should be enough for all games, but a full-modded Skyrim in 4k can better utilize the power of that dual-gpu card.

 

 

 

 

Asking the original poster cuz its unclear which he has based on what he had said. 

 

 

You are right.

I just assume that the topic is about 1 R9 295x2, because of the system specs the op posted:

Graphics Card
- Radeon R9 295x2

 

Shouldn't it say x2 R9 295x2, if he/ she was talking about quadfire on 2 dual-gpu cards ?



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.12 Omega Driver

 06/28/2014 07:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64  

 

Asking the original poster cuz its unclear which he has based on what he had said. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You are right.

 

I just assume that the topic is about 1 R9 295x2, because of the system specs the op posted:

 

Graphics Card - Radeon R9 295x2

 

 

 

 

Shouldn't it say x2 R9 295x2, if he/ she was talking about quadfire on 2 dual-gpu cards ?

 

 

Who knows.  My brain hurts lol



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

Statistics
88853 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.