Topic Title: 295x2 crossfire issue with skyim
Topic Summary: frame pacing does not work
Created On: 06/25/2014 06:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/28/2014 08:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

......he he

 

I also think that the op would need a little extra more than the 1000w PSU to run 2 of that dual-gpu card, don't you agree ?

But i guess, a little clarification wouldn't hurt either .....



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/28/2014 08:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Maybe thats why hes having issues, WE CANNA GIVE YA MORE POWER CAPTAIN! Lol



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/28/2014 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: HoneyBadger84 Maybe thats why hes having issues, WE CANNA GIVE YA MORE POWER CAPTAIN! Lol

 

 

 

Don't confuse yourself when it's not necessary.

The topic is about frame pacing not working with the card, thus having to deal with stuttering, which shouldn't even be there in the first place, if crossfire scaled and worked well.

 

I do wonder though ........, why do people are still having crossfirex issues with Skyrim ?

And i don't mean the mods affecting stability.

I believe that the game engine is responsible for this.

 

Then again, i do not have any crossfirex issues on my own dual-gpu card with that game.

Just a slight tiny microstutter which gets unnoticed to the untrained eye.

Still weird though .....



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/28/2014 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

It is at least partly the Engine. Dunno if you had your 6990 around the time of it's release, but I had one at that time and man o man was that some seeeeerious crazy bad stuff until they got patches & driver updates out to fix it. lol I believe the engine is called Gamebryo, and it's never really scaled too great with multi-GPU setups so to speak, I think most of the scaling we now get on the sides of SLi & Crossfire are due to AMD & NVidia working their butts off to get what they can out of the drivers, the engine sure as heck isn't doing them any favors from the looks of it.



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 06/28/2014 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Agreed.

 

I had the same experience on launch with the HD6990, but not now.

That's why i am curious about it.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/29/2014 12:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

Game engine...trudat.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/29/2014 05:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

AMD & NVidia working their butts off

 

Yeaaaa, not so sure about that ..........



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/29/2014 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Yes, 1 295x2. And who cares if it's 9.0? The gpu is still rendering 2048x2048 textures @ 4k resolution. A single 290x can NOT handle that. Just can't. When the second card is used, the framerate improves drastically, but I get frame skipping and microstutter.

 06/29/2014 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: dave1029 Yes, 1 295x2. And who cares if it's 9.0? The gpu is still rendering 2048x2048 textures @ 4k resolution. A single 290x can NOT handle that. Just can't. When the second card is used, the framerate improves drastically, but I get frame skipping and microstutter.

 

 

Can you try "the witcher 2" on 4k, max settings, ubersampling enabled, crossfirex enabled/ crossfirex disabled, frame pacing on/ off ?

I would really love to see the results, especially if any microstuttering is there.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/29/2014 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Originally posted by: backFireX64
Originally posted by: dave1029 Yes, 1 295x2. And who cares if it's 9.0? The gpu is still rendering 2048x2048 textures @ 4k resolution. A single 290x can NOT handle that. Just can't. When the second card is used, the framerate improves drastically, but I get frame skipping and microstutter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can you try "the witcher 2" on 4k, max settings, ubersampling enabled, crossfirex enabled/ crossfirex disabled, frame pacing on/ off ?

 

I would really love to see the results, especially if any microstuttering is there.

 

60 fps @ 4k with both enabled and ubersampling off. The game won't even play with ubersampling on at 4k. Which is understandable. Regardless, 4k doesn't need anti-aliasing so ubersampling is poinltess. With one card it's about 30 fps but it's not a smooth 30 fps. Very unplayable despite the fps. Frame pacing on. At 4k it is very enjoyable with both cards, zero microstuttering. But. The engine has a problem with AMD crossfire. Some dialogue options are messed up and some enemies don't display their health bars. Some people have this problem, while others don't. It varies. I have the problem so I had to resort to 1440p with one card. I get 60 fps at that resolution with the one card.

 06/29/2014 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Thanks for all the feedback dave1029.

 

Yea, i was kinda expecting that ubersampling would not add anything, since the resolution is high already and downsampling is pointless...

I must say that i was expecting a little more of performance, but i know that the drivers have a long way to go and the resolution you game can be harsh most of the time.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

 06/29/2014 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Well, I should have probably pointed out that I always cap the framerate to 60. So when I say 60, that means it is maintaining that with vysnc on. Haven't checked how fast it is with vsync disabled.

 06/29/2014 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
UcouldBrong
Case Modder

Posts: 838
Joined: 01/05/2013

You have quite a bit of hardware and little knowledge...eventually...it will come to you...keep working at it.



-------------------------

 


 


Non-noob components.

 06/30/2014 06:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: dave1029 Well, I should have probably pointed out that I always cap the framerate to 60. So when I say 60, that means it is maintaining that with vysnc on. Haven't checked how fast it is with vsync disabled.

 

 

Yea, i hate tearing myself.

Maybe you will go for a higher refresh rate monitor, like 120-144 Hz, next time ?

 

 

EDIT:       dave1029, don't mind or feed the troll. It's a nasty one.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta



Edited: 06/30/2014 at 07:39 AM by backFireX64
 06/30/2014 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dave1029
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 06/25/2014

Oh that guy is just an idiot. Trying to tell me how my hardware performs. If he was right, I wouldn't be here now would I?

 

And 120-144hz 4k monitors don't really exist. And if they did, it wouldn't matter because DP can only transmit enough bandwith to get 60 fps.

 06/30/2014 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1310
Joined: 11/14/2010

Originally posted by: dave1029 Oh that guy is just an idiot. Trying to tell me how my hardware performs. If he was right, I wouldn't be here now would I?

 

 

 

And 120-144hz 4k monitors don't really exist. And if they did, it wouldn't matter because DP can only transmit enough bandwith to get 60 fps.

 

 

Well, i learned something new today mate.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (950mhz/ 1100mhz), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.11.2 beta

Statistics
87580 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.