Topic Title: Not recognising two cards?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/10/2014 03:04 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/10/2014 03:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tdh1985
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/10/2014

Hi I have two Sapphire R9 290 Tir-X cards. When I installed the second one, both are powered but not recognised in device manager and cant seem to see an option to crossfire them? (keep in mind there is no bridge adaptor for these cards)

Any help please??

I have a 

Motherbaord ASUS Model: P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3

Antec 900W Bronze PSU (http://www.digitalstar.com.au/antec-high-current-gamer-900w-continuous-atx-power-supply.html)

 07/10/2014 03:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Nerfed

Posts: 61
Joined: 04/27/2008

Neither one are recognised in device manager, or just the second card?

 

I looked up the motherboard, and in FAQ, there was this.  I dont know if this applies to you, but it may be worth looking into.


http://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1008057/



-------------------------

CPU =  i7 2600K @ 4.7Ghz Swiftech Apogee HD Waterblock
MB =   Asus Maximus Extreme-Z
Ram =  G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 2133 9-9-9-21-1T
GPU1 = Diamond 7970 @1200Mhz Koolance Waterblock
GPU2 = HIS 280X @ 1200Mhz EK Waterblock
Swiftech 4x120MM Rad - Swiftech MCP655 Pump

 07/10/2014 04:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tdh1985
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/10/2014

Thanks, I have tried that. Only one shows up in device manager

 07/10/2014 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MyMedia59
Overclocker

Posts: 638
Joined: 10/30/2009

Pretty old mobo from 2011 and last bios update 2012 - meh!

 

 



-------------------------

GA 990FXA-UD3v3
AMD FX-8320
Kingston 8GB 1600 HyperX
GPU Gigabyte R685OC-1GD
1x SSHD ST1000DX001/ 1x SATA3 WD Blue/ 1x STBV2000300
SeaSonic 650W
Win7x64

 07/12/2014 07:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tdh1985
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/10/2014

Actually I got it to work. The post from above regarding BIOS settings for the 'black' PCI-e slot, I changed it to x1 (as my mobo has the black slot as the third pcie16x slot). Both cards work now, quite well actually

 

thanks

Statistics
86468 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.