Topic Title: No scaling in games - Great scaling in benchmarks
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/18/2014 04:28 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/18/2014 04:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robgaff
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/18/2014

So this is a weird one. Hopefully it's some simple thing I'm doing wrong.

Basically, my Crossfire setup - dual 290's - is showing good scaling in both Unigine and 3dmark. But when I fire up a game - so far have tested FarCry 3, Natural Selection 2, War Thunder - I am getting 0% scaling or even a bit of negative scaling.

Some details:

-Crossfire logo (upper right) is displaying in all benchmarking software and all games - I am not running windowed/full-windowed or anything like that
-**Both cards are reporting proper utilization in GPU-Z whilst in game**
-Temps are well below throttling for both cards, for GPU and memory
-Have tried both 14.4 stable and 14.7 beta drivers
-Not a PSU issue - drawing max 600W from the wall with a 750W 80+Plat PSU - besides, Unigine draws more power than the games

-UPLS is off, using the downloaded tool


My setup:
-Dual 290's (inner card is water cooled)
-4670K
-Gryphon Z97 mobo

-750W Seasonic 80+Plat

-Win7 64bit

-144hz ASUS monitor, 1080P


I've googled about and found zero people reporting similar issues, so I'm really hoping someone can help me debug this smile.gif

Thank you!

 07/19/2014 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 886
Joined: 09/11/2008

Have you tryed this for War Thunder:

http://forum.warthunder.com/index.php?/topic/115531-enabling-sli-and-crossfire-support/

 

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/19/2014 03:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robgaff
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/18/2014

Yes.

 07/19/2014 03:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Is it just with those games?  Do those games even support/scale with Crossfire? (check reviews on them, I have no idea, don't own any of them)



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/19/2014 05:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robgaff
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/18/2014

Those are the only games that I play, and yes they have excellent scaling in benchmarks. 

Far Cry 3, in particular, is one of the most commonly used games fror Crossfire benchmarking.

 07/20/2014 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robgaff
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/18/2014

Solved: It was working the whole time. CPU limited in games, benchmarks don't max out single cores.

 07/20/2014 04:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

With dual 290s you're going to need to look for an i7 at about 4.5ghz to completely eliminate the CPU bottleneck.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/21/2014 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
robgaff
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/18/2014

So a 4790K with a 100mhz overclock?

 07/21/2014 06:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

500mhz.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85767 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.