Topic Title: HD 6990 & HD 6870 Crossfire 2 GPU's Enabled Problem
Topic Summary: HD 6990 & HD 6870 Really supported the Crossfire 3 GPU's ?
Created On: 08/16/2014 12:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2014 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

Hi guys, I was try to cross fire about these 2 cards. GPU-Z Show the "Crossfire Enabled ( 2GPU's)" but, Everyone's know HD 6990 have 2 GPU's, HD 6870 have One GPU. Totaly is 3 GPU's. What's the important case ? GPU-Z show "Crossfire Enabled ( 2GPU's)", is that mean "2 Cards" or "Only 2 GPU's" ? This is so complicated. Anyone have idea about this ?

 

HD 6990 GPU-Z Image With "Crossfire Enabled"

HD 6990

HD 6870 GPU-Z Image With "Crossfire Enabled"

HD 6870

@backFireX64

I was see your last picture about the Compability Chart. But I cant see HD 6990 & HD 6870 not supported warning or etc. on this picture. How we can sure about this ?

 

Sincerely,

 

Zahir Murat.



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

 08/16/2014 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 362
Joined: 10/14/2011

You can only crossfire a 6990 with a card from the same series. 69xx.

Here's the chart.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 08/17/2014 08:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

The diagram clearly shows you can only Crossfire a HD 6990 with

  • Another HD 6990
  • HD 6970
  • HD 6950

You can have the HD 6850 in the same system - but only to run indepently (i.e. driver another seperate monitor).

You cannot Crossfire the HD 6990 and HD 6870 together.

It indicates "Enabled (2 GPUs)" becuase GPU-Z detect the HD 6990. The HD 6990 has two physical GPU chips on a single card. It is already in Crossfire within itself.

Here is the complete chart:

 

 



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 08/19/2014 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kokogazaa
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/19/2014

The information is very interesting. You make me understand. You helped me so much. Thanks for sharing this.

 08/24/2014 03:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
THE_CROW
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 08/15/2014

@Fishman

and

@-rascal-

 

Thanks for the information sharings. I was order second hand HD 6990 and I was trade old price ( my another HD 6870 card ). I will try again make to Crossfire again.



-------------------------

Only gamer since 1989...

Statistics
87482 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.