Topic Title: AMD A10-7850K APU and AMD Radeon R9 290X VRAM question
Topic Summary: No dual graphics with APU and GPU?
Created On: 09/04/2014 11:06 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/04/2014 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
disi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/04/2014

I have this APU with the AMD R7 series IGPU and 2GB VRAM.

The system also has the dedicated AMD R9 290X series with 4GB VRAM.

MB is G1Sniper with the latest BIOS (I think).

If I choose auto or force for the IGPU with an analogue monitor connected, it seems the overall VRAM is reduced to 2GB for both cards?

I noticed this playing Skyrim using the performance monitor, where the 290X showed up as 2GB VRAM. Only if I disable the IGPU, the VRAM shows as 4GB but I obviously cannot use my second monitor.

Can I somehow use the two cards complete seperate, as Dual graphics would not work?

Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/q0djCO9.png

 

p.s. driver 14.7 RC3, just updated with running DDU before to remove old versions. There is no dual graphics option in my CCC.

 09/04/2014 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

Question: Why the hell are you bottlenecking the hell out of a 290X with an APU?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/04/2014 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
disi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/04/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion Question: Why the hell are you bottlenecking the hell out of a 290X with an APU?

The question is: How can I use both GPU without bottlenecking one of them. Like having two different cards, it seems the driver automatic links them.

 09/04/2014 06:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

You're not going to be bottlenecked with 2GB VRAM with that processor, you'll run out of processing power before video memory.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/04/2014 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1406
Joined: 07/13/2009

Can you provide a screenshot of your hardware information page in CCC?

 

 09/05/2014 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
disi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/04/2014

Primary Adapter: http://i.imgur.com/xbFXrvm.png

Enabled Adapter: http://i.imgur.com/eO82YU2.png

This constellation works well with i.e. information on one screen and gaming on the other. I was just wondering if this doesn't slow me down as indicated by the performance tool for Skyrim.

I did some testing with the IGPU disabled and the VRAM usage peaks go up to ~2500MB. Also GDDR5 vs DDR3, do I run on the slower speed with both enabled?

 09/05/2014 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1406
Joined: 07/13/2009

Are you saying you have monitors plugged into both the onboard graphics and the 290X?  If so, you definitely aren't using Dual Graphics, as that (like Crossfire) requires all displays to be on the primary GPU, which in your case is the onboard GPU.

I don't think you'd get any benefit from Dual Graphics, so I'd recommend plugging your primary (gaming) monitor into the 290X, and the other monitor into the onboard.  That should make fullscreen games run on the 290X, while letting you use the lower-power onboard graphics to drive the second monitor (will keep the 290X clock speed down in idle).

As for that performance monitor, I'm not sure what to make of it.  It's very unstable, and crashes after a short while when I run it.  Before doing so, it reports the VRAM usage just as Afterburner does, which is twice as large as it actually is (because of CF).  In my case at 2560x1600 with AA, it got up to 3240MB VRAM usage before the monitor crashed again.  Again, that really means 1620MB usage.

Your screenshots show usage above 2GB, which might mean several things.  It might mean you do have Dual Graphics enabled, and that the number reported is out of 4GB (2GB onboard, 2GB for restricted 290X).  It might mean only the reported VRAM capacity is incorrect, and you're actually using >2GB on the 290X (which means you have a ton of texture mods, very high AA, very high resolution, or some combination of them all).

What does MSI Afterburner report?

 

 09/06/2014 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
disi
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/04/2014

MSI afterburner shows different stats ^^ I had a youtube video running on the other screen.

GPU1 (290X) temp/usage/clock

GPU2 (APU) temp/usage/clock

MEM1 (290X) clock/usage

MEM2 (APU) clock/usage

This is pretty hard to render, I guess: http://i.imgur.com/lQdUN2C.jpg

Here beyond 2048MB memory usage on card1: http://i.imgur.com/bdGI2Sj.jpg

Statistics
85455 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.