Topic Title: Tomb Raider - 3D not working
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/06/2013 02:55 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/06/2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluenet
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/06/2013

Hi, 

Picked up Tomb Raider (2013) because of its 3D support.. but it's not working.

The setup:
2x Radeon 6800 (Crossfire, tried with enabled and disabled)
TV is a Panasonic 46inch 3D enabled, connected through HDMI, 3D movies played from this PC work.

When I enable full screen and exclusive full screen, the game launches in full screen. When I enable the 3D option, the options of full screen stay ticked, but the game actually jumps to a Windowed mode for some reason. When I move the depth and intensity sliders, I see the objects in the background move to the right or left, but there is always only 1 object; so no 3D. TV is also not seeing a 3D signal so it's not just me.

I ran the latest drivers (13.1 i think?). Just installed 13.2 beta but no improvement. Tried enabling and disabling just about every option in the game as well as in the Catalyst Control center, also tried multiple resolutions.

 

Hopefully someone can help, if I can't get it to run I want to return my copy and get it on the consoles instead for better online play.

 03/06/2013 03:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6081
Joined: 11/13/2009

I don't know if you have seen this or not, but, here is what AMD has to say...scroll down to HD3D > http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/FrequentlyAskedQuestions.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/06/2013 03:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluenet
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/06/2013

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I have seen it and this is indeed required for games without native HD3D support, but Tomb Raider has it and is compatible with HD3D. There's a press release here:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/amd-and-crystal-dynamics-collaboration-thrusts-gamers-into-one-of-the-most-realistic-pc-gaming-experience-ever-with-the-launch-of-tomb-raider-2013-03-05

You can search that article for HD3d.

As well as claims from users on forums with AMD card that it works natively.

 03/06/2013 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bluenet
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 03/06/2013

Hours of testing later I found the answer. Maybe obvious for anyone regularly running 3D, but it's not documented in the game or on the website at all unless I'm missing something.

 

It only works at 720P at 60hz or 1080p at 24hz.

In other words, if you set the options ingame to 1980x1080 @ 24hz or 1280x720 @60Hz, it works with native 3d and looks absolutely stunning.

I'm a bit bummed at 3D on the PCs. It's been out for a while now but nothing ever seems to work out of the box. When a checkbox is presented "enable 3D", you kind of expect it to work, not only if you select 2 specific resolutions and refresh rates. If that's the only thing that's supported, give a hint or something.


Frustration!

Anyway, it does look fantastic. 

 03/07/2013 06:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

1080i at 60hz is also possible if you have the right screen, the right cables.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
80930 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.