Topic Title: A6-3400M Radeon HD 6520G Drivers Missing...
Topic Summary: Or forgotten?
Created On: 02/22/2013 05:37 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2013 05:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceekay
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/22/2013

It's almost like some sort of cover-up or conspiracy, like AMD doesn't want to admit to ever making this processor! All I can find is a chipset driver, and I need the APU driver, of which AMD does not have (but they have a fancy little useless tool that doesn't work on most laptops)...

Seriously, AMD... You can't just release a product and expect people not to know you released it...

Anyway, if anyone can find a driver for this APU, can I get a link or something? I've been running on a wonky barely workable generic driver just to get the ***** working half-correctly for about a year now, still desperately trying to find a damned driver that will work with this forgotten/covered up processor.

 

- *****

 02/22/2013 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6104
Joined: 11/13/2009

...and what does your laptop manufacturer have to say? Why don't you download the drivers they supply?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/22/2013 05:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceekay
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/22/2013

The one on their site doesn't work.

One would expect the manufacturer of the original part to have the driver, just in case the laptop company didn't have it or had a defective or non-working one...

 

((Also, I didn't know that putting a C next to a K is offensive; see last line of original post.)) o.O

 02/22/2013 06:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6104
Joined: 11/13/2009

Lets see...the manufacturers drivers won't work....the AMD generic drivers don't work. You have been messing with this for a year. You obviously:

1. Didn't read the sticky 'updating mobility drivers'.

2. Didn't read how to install drivers in the FAQ section and the requirements for the latest drivers.

3. Don't know what you are doing.

Take your computer to somebody like the Geek Squad and pay them to do it for you.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/22/2013 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ceekay
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 02/22/2013

1. Does not work with Toshiba laptops. Tried it already. Like I said, I've been fighting for a year now and still haven't found a compatible driver.

2. I've been working with computers since the stone age when we had to etch binary onto rock; I think I know how to install drivers.

3. See above.

Thanks for the attitude, but it didn't help solve my problem.

 02/02/2014 07:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbbl67
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/09/2010

Originally posted by: ceekay 1. Does not work with Toshiba laptops. Tried it already. Like I said, I've been fighting for a year now and still haven't found a compatible driver.

Hi, not sure if you're still looking for a solution to this problem, but I have a Toshiba laptop with this chip in it too, and I found that I've been able to install nearly the latest Catalyst drivers (13.12) by going to this website to download the Catalyst drivers from there:

http://driverscollection.com/?H=A6-3400M&By=AMD

Current drivers are supposed to be 14.1, so getting 13.12 is as pretty close to the top. When I went to the Toshiba website, the latest driver they had was from 2011!

 02/02/2014 08:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

Your problem is not with your APU or even with AMD. It lies squarely with Toshiba who have forbidden AMD to provide updated drivers for their laptops. You will probably have to find drivers that are modded in some way or try using the desktop drivers. If you don't mess with the AMD chipset drivers during a driver uninstall, the desktop version might work. Notice I said might.

That driverscollection site may be the best place to go.



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.
 02/02/2014 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbbl67
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/09/2010

Originally posted by: Dch48 Your problem is not with your APU or even with AMD. It lies squarely with Toshiba who have forbidden AMD to provide updated drivers for their laptops. You will probably have to find drivers that are modded in some way or try using the desktop drivers. If you don't mess with the AMD chipset drivers during a driver uninstall, the desktop version might work. Notice I said might.

 

That driverscollection site may be the best place to go.

 

Yes, I know that the problem lies entirely with Toshiba. Toshiba did it mainly to accomodate laptops with mixes of Intel CPUs and switchable AMD GPUs. This allows an Intel laptop to switch-off the AMD graphics when running on batteries, and run only on the integrated Intel graphics to save power. This switchability requires a slightly modified AMD driver, so the generic AMD drivers won't do.

Why Toshiba put the same restrictions on their laptops with AMD APU's which are completely AMD hardware, and don't have switchable graphics at all, is a complete blunder. I suspect Toshiba just put a blanket restriction on all of their hardware with AMD GPUs to never allow them to be updated through the AMD website, and now they aren't even updating the drivers themselves very much. And AMD's auto-detecting driver downloader acts as the gatekeeper for Toshiba, preventing updates from AMD to be ever downloaded through it. But you can manually download the Catalyst driver just fine, and it'll install just fine on the Toshibas.

 02/02/2014 10:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6104
Joined: 11/13/2009

I bought a P75 Toshiba laptop for my grandson....has no discrete graphics, just the Intel Hd4600 (very good,btw)...I can't install the latest Intel drivers as it stops the minute it sees its a Toshiba. So it doesn't matter if you have a AMD or Nvidia or Intel graphics, unless you use modded drivers, your only source for updates is Toshiba. Same with Sony. Same with Panasonic.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/02/2014 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbbl67
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/09/2010

Originally posted by: stumped I bought a P75 Toshiba laptop for my grandson....has no discrete graphics, just the Intel Hd4600 (very good,btw)...I can't install the latest Intel drivers as it stops the minute it sees its a Toshiba. So it doesn't matter if you have a AMD or Nvidia or Intel graphics, unless you use modded drivers, your only source for updates is Toshiba. Same with Sony. Same with Panasonic.

 

Hmm, looks like it's their way of ensuring return customers in a timely manner. They stop updating their own support on their laptops, and that way you will be forced to come back to them to buy a newer laptop. :~

But I usually make my laptops last at least six years between refreshes. And my current Llano laptop seems like it's doing a fine job still. Now that I know I can keep the video drivers properly updated, I don't see any reason to buy another one too soon.

 02/02/2014 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6104
Joined: 11/13/2009

Toshiba has always been like that...there are alternatives however. Google search for modded Toshiba graphics drivers.

Toshiba forum > http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/Drivers-and-Utilities/AMD-ATI-Driver-updates/td-p/240832



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 02/02/2014 at 12:02 PM by stumped
 02/02/2014 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bbbl67
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 10/09/2010

Originally posted by: stumped Toshiba has always been like that...there are alternatives however. Google search for modded Toshiba graphics drivers.

 

Toshiba forum > http://forums.toshiba.com/t5/Drivers-and-Utilities/AMD-ATI-Driver-updates/td-p/240832

 

Are these drivers considered "modded"? I think the ones I've just downloaded are simply the official AMD drivers stored by a different repository, with no modifications whatsoever.

 02/02/2014 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

Worked on a Toshiba laptop a few years ago and the issue was to get the wifi working, first I thought I was stupid or something, there were no errors, it just didn't work at all with any drivers I tried and as soon as I tried some toshiba app that manages wifi connections instead of windows, everything suddenly worked flawlessly.. its horrible how they limit their products. Oh and it had a AMD HD4200 gpu so that this post would fit in this forum



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/02/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6104
Joined: 11/13/2009

I have no idea what you downloaded, but the main function of 'modded' Mobility drivers is to bypass the 'gatekeeper' that prevents 'generic' drivers from being installed. That is one reason people use desktop drivers for their updates...no 'mobility' check. Spend some time with Google...the drivers are out there.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
81040 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.