Topic Title: A10 overheating Problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/02/2013 01:23 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/02/2013 01:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scene
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/02/2013

I bought the A10 5800k about 2 months ago and was really happy as soon as i got it.

Soon I got problems with my Pc freezing and I started to check my temperatures with 3 programms.

1.) Core Temp 2.) SpeedFan 3.) HWMonitor

They all showed me CPU temperatures far above 70°C, 80°C. My first thought was a wrong installation of the CPU or the fan. So i removed them both, and set them with new heatsink paste on the board. Again I got extremly high temperatures.

I then updated the UEFI to 2.20 and after that, everything was okay. Even after a hour with prime95 the temps doesn't moved over the 60°C mark.

Since I had finals last month my computer was off for a few weeks. Now finally being able to play a bit, I started Battlefield 3 and soon got heavy laggs cause of my CPU throttled itself.

Dont tell me I need a new CPU fan, its either a problem with the heat sensors or with failing software.

 

Thanks for reading this text.

 

AMD A10 5800k; ASROCK fm2a75-dgs; 8Gb Sniper Ram 1866Mhz

 03/02/2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3516
Joined: 03/01/2009

Then why did you post if you don't want to be told to check into getting an aftermarket cooler.

Because if you feel its either a bad heat sensor or failing software your options are to RMA the board, and / or APU. 

Or try different temp software like Coretemp. Or AMD Overdrive. 

If they all report the same temp you can check into RMAing your board. Or getting an aftermarket cooler and checking the temps again. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/03/2013 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scene
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/02/2013

'Cause I already bought a gigantic one. (Alpenföhn Matterhorn Shamrock Edition)

Sorry, I'm from germany and don't understand the word RMA. :x

Tried it with AMD Overdrive and Coretemp. Coretemp totaly bugs around at 2°C - 7°C and AOD showed temperatures 6 or 7°C under the ones of Speedfan.

But thanks, for your help!


 03/03/2013 05:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3516
Joined: 03/01/2009

RMA basically means to either return it to where you bought it from and swap it out. Or check with the manufacturer and see about swapping it out. 

You shouldn't be getting temp swings like that. Espcially if you plan on overclocking it. Wild temperture swings is never good for overclocking.

 

RMA im Grunde bedeutet, entweder zurückgeben, wo Sie es gekauft haben aus und tauschen sie aus. Oder mit dem Hersteller zu überprüfen und sehen zu tauschen es aus.

 

Sie sollten nicht immer temperture schwingt so. Espcially wenn Sie übertakten es zu planen. Wilde temperture Schaukeln ist nie gut zum Übertakten



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: x2 XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 03/04/2013 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Are you sure the lag in BF3 was due to CPU throttling?  Prime95 often needs a lot longer than an hour to be definitive, but if your machine can survive an hour of the torture test, then it's probably not a heat problem.  A BIOS/EFI update can correct bad readings from your temperature sensors, but I doubt it will actually fix any problem with overheating if there is one.  You might have to do something about heat anyway, since 60C is still pretty toasty, but I'm curious if there isn't something else going on in there as well...



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Statistics
88973 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.