Topic Title: Can't get my A6-3500 APU working (black screen or 640x480 resolution)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2013 06:16 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2013 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Graphics Card

AMD A6-3500 with HD6530D

 

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

8.661 - 13.8beta (tried different version, did a full driver clean if not succesful)

So far 8.8.81 & 13.8 gave me 640x480 resolution, rest gave me black screen

 

Operating System

Win7 -64bit SP1 all up to date with .NET Framework 4.5 (as suggest in other posts)

 

Issue Details

Can't get the APU working properly. Results are : black screen after "starting windows" logo or fixed 640x480 resolution (greyed out in windows and only option in CCC)

When i don't install any driver at all and windows is using its Standard VGA driver i have a resolution of 1600x1200.

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model

Asus F1A75-I Deluxe

 

Power Supply

Coolermaster 150w built-in PSU in the Cooler Master Elite 100 ( partnr. RS-150-FSGA-J3)

 

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

HP w2448hc, connect through hdmi or DVI (same results)

 

Applications and Games

Windows 7 x64

 

CPU Details

AMD A6-3500 (standard clocking)

 

Motherboard BIOS Version

0901 

 

System Memory Type & Amount

4GB - Corsair Vengeance CMZ4GX3M2A1600C9

Also tried 1 stick of RAM from my main pc : Kingston ValueRAM KVR1333D3N9K3/12G

Additional Hardware

Samsung Spinpoint HD154UI

 

Additional info :

 

Tried setup inside/outside case.

Also tested with a different PSU

Guy with kinda similar problem, but very strange solution : http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/363778-31-help-3400-llano-video-black-screen-driver-update



Edited: 08/16/2013 at 08:00 PM by rpeelen
 08/16/2013 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Tried a complete fresh windows 7 x64 install on a other harddisk.. everything ok untill i install the videocard drivers...

I'm lost....

 08/16/2013 07:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Have you followed the How-To install clean by stumped in the How To forum.

It has detail instructions and required software needed to use newer CCC.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/16/2013 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Thx for your reply,

 

Yup i cleaned everything according to his manual.

But to be sure i did a fresh install on a other clean harddisk and update .NET Framework to version 4.5 and them let Windows install all updates.

Then i installed the drivers.

 08/16/2013 11:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

I started with 12.11 and then 13.1 to 13.4 to 13.6. I now using 13.8 Beta now.

How far back to you try?



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/16/2013 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

8.8.81 -> 13.4 -> 13.8 (because i read your advice in other topics)

 08/17/2013 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Go back and try 13.1 to see if that corrects the black screen of death.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/17/2013 01:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Ok, thx.i will try when i get out of bed. (just got home from my nightshift)
 08/17/2013 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Will check back when I get up myself.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/17/2013 08:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Deleted the drivers according to the how-to.installed 13.1... Black screen again..
 08/17/2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Who is the manufacture of this system? And have you gone to there website and downloaded there drivers.

There are sometimes querky things that they do that does require users to only use those drivers.

Let me know I will PM a few other users that might have some other information.

Will check back, so sorry you are having issues. I recently had my 7850 just go black on me, but new one has been shipped.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL



Edited: 08/17/2013 at 04:14 PM by WMudrockJr
 08/17/2013 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

I put the system together myself (i am experienced)

Here is the page with the drivers for my Mobo : http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/F1A75I_DELUXE/

 

The latest drivers i can get from this page is 8.881, tried these as well.

 

Thx for your help!!

 

 08/17/2013 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

I did PM someone who has a good track record on the forum. I hope he checks this one out soon. I have no more thoughts other than the motherboard might have something to do with the issue.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/17/2013 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Ah Wonderful,

Would suck if its a hardware failure, then ill have to buy a other mobo or cpu to find out 

 

 08/17/2013 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Besides the VGA Driver V8.881 Set that is offered at ASUS have you done the BIOS updates and stuff?



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 08/17/2013 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Yup, i also tried the bios version 0401, because that version already supports my CPU. Because that didn't help i flashed back to the latest version.

 08/18/2013 03:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Got the PM and arrived. I do have a suggestion. The first thing to do is deciding if it is a hardware issue or not. It can be the APU being faulty, or the motherboard, or its BIOS etc. (It may as well be a driver issue, but it's unlikely, then every 3500-users would be complaining here.)

I suggest doing an experiment. For now, forget about trying to set up a permanent system.

Collect insallers for a few operating systems. Windows XP, Windows 7, Windows 8 and at least 3 linux distributions.

Install all of them, and try different drivers. XP and linux are the most important, as they're very different from Windows 7.

When you're in a linux install, make sure you try both open source and proprietary drivers. Tell us how it went, I hope you have some time to play around.

 

A different (but less interesting) approach, needs some good connections. Borrow another APU with the same socket from someone (friend, relative, neighbor etc.) and try it in your motherboard. See if it makes a difference. If not, but the APU works in the friend's computer, then you most likely narrowed the issue down to the mobo/BIOS.

If you have the chance, you can also try your APU in other computers.

 

On more suggestion, maybe you should start with this one. If you have those connections mentioned above, borrow another monitor/TV from someone to try. It may even be an old CRT or something. I suggest this because I'm still wondering if this black screen issue some people have is the fault of the display devices themselves. Some reported that they have it with certain monitors and not have it with others. If another monitor works, there's no point in replacing the APU.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64



Edited: 08/18/2013 at 03:40 AM by Eydee
 08/18/2013 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

Wonderful, thanks !!

I am installing a windows xp 32bit atm, not familiar with linux, so i will have to google my way through it

To bad i don't know anyone with a FM1 cpu/apu, so i thought of buying one second hand of the internet (A4-3400 for like 25 euro's).

The idea with a crt monitor doesn't work. This mobo only has DVI,HDMI and displayport. 

I will post my results

 08/18/2013 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rpeelen
Peon

Posts: 20
Joined: 08/16/2013

So i'm back. I did install windows xp 32bits. Install chipset,rebooted,install video drivers, reboot.

Now i can set my resolution to a lot of resolutions, but none of them work well.

 

What happens.  If i change my resolution, i get a zoomed in version of my screen. I can slide in all directions to get to edge of my desktop. hard to explain, but hope get the idea.

My monitor also still tells me he is receiving a 640x480 resolution.

Looks to me like a hardwareproblem... 

 08/18/2013 01:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: rpeelen The idea with a crt monitor doesn't work. This mobo only has DVI,HDMI and displayport.

You should be able to use a DVI-to-VGA adapter unless the manual says it's DVI-D only. I'd be surprised.

 

Originally posted by: rpeelen What happens.  If i change my resolution, i get a zoomed in version of my screen. I can slide in all directions to get to edge of my desktop. hard to explain, but hope get the idea.

Have you checked out scaling and overscan settings in CCC? How about pixel format settings (if you have them) and custom HDTV modes?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84264 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.